We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coylton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park
Reviewed 13 June 2010

myself and my partner and our three children stayed at sundrum castle holiday park this june and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.caravan very clean and everything worked as it should.swimming pool kept immaculate and park very clean only went to clubhouse once but seemed excellent .lots to see and do all within 50 mile radius and wonderful scenery.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anicholls62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2010

We Stayed at sundrum castle (park dean) for 4 nites & had a great time. Went with out 2 kids who are 7 & 4. We have previously stayed at the Haven in ayr & had a bad experiance.
However sundrum castle was excellent. We stayed in a new 2010 caravan which was immaculate & had eveything we needed. The swimming pool is great & the opening times r very gud, my son loved the slide! The shop is well stocked though is a bit expensive for some things. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the tam o shanter bar Food & Service was great. Entertainment was good for the kids though not so much on for the adults, 1 night had a singer on & she was great. They also showed sky sports in there which was great for the boys!! The park & outdoor sports pitch were a big hit with the kids & well maintained. Reception staff were very helpful too. Overall it was a great short break at a great price. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissWCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Just returned from a weeks holiday here. Our Bellisle caravan was brand new and spacious enough although I kinda expected there would be 2 toilets.
The park facilities I used were very good.
The whole place felt well run, the staff were very helpful and polite and I felt secure enough during my time there to allow my children to have a bit of a roam by themselves.
Nearby Heads of Ayr Farm was a really good family day out.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gingerscot9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

This was our 3rd year not in a row we have stayed a Sundrum, we missed a year and were pleasantly surprised by the refurb, my kids are 10 & 3 and they had stacks to keep them entertained especially when you had been out & about all day & just want to relax in the evening, the soft play area was great for the little one as we could sit under patio heaters & watch her play & my older boy made friends & was able to amuse him self on the sports court or on the amusements, you sometimes have to wait for the pool but at least its clean, we hired a Roxburghe a I loved the space & the central heating was great in the evening, if you get the weather this is a great family holiday & cheaper than Spain!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mummyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed here the first week of July. Check in was incredibly easy, even though we arrived after hours. We booked a 3BR Seafield to house 3 adults and 2 kids. The bedrooms are small but the living area was very large. Our caravan was clean and everything was in working order. All of the other caravans in the area also seemed to be in good shape (from the outside). I know this may be obvious for Europeans but Americans need to know to bring their own towels and cleaning materials. Bed sheets and pillow cases are provided.
The resort was great. We were here 5 minutes before my girls were out playing with the neighbors. Kids everywhere. It was great for them to have so many children close by. Large space between caravans made it easy to play.
The common areas of the resort were also nice. The pool area was large and well equipped. The store was well stocked, the playground was excellent. The on-site laundry was convenient but sometimes crowded. We did not eat in the full service restaurant but the take away shop was very good and had extended hours. The on-site entertainment is designed around the kids. There is a small walled soccer / tennis / basketball court. The only negative was the miniature golf which is expensive and the holes were always covered with mulch from the playground making it impossible to play.
Another drawback was the location. We found the park was not convenient to Ayr, about 15 minute drive back to town including the long slow drive off of the main road. There was a smaller closer town to the East, Coylton, but most touristy things (Culzean Castle, the beach, Burns house, golf) were a long way the other direction. But if golf and driving the beautiful countryside were our biggest problems, obviously we had a great time.
With so few places in Great Britian that house 5 people, we found Sundrum to be an excellent value as well.
Definitely a place we would come back to.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesff00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My partner and I, along with our 3 children, aged 6, 3 and 16 months, recently spent a week at Sundrum Castle Holiday Park near Ayr. This is a brief account of our experiences...

The location is good - near to Ayr and local attractions. To get there you go about 3 miles east of Ayr, then exit the main road and go along a long tree-lined road to reach the site, which is surrounded by trees.

We booked a "Seafield" caravan, which is somewhere in the middle of the range on offer: 3-bedroom, 35'x10'. I've seen very bad reviews from people who've been to caravan parks and had to live in filthy, stinking caravans, but I was somewhat reassured when I saw it described as "new '08", "no pets" and "no smoking". I have to say there was no need to worry - the caravan was very clean and in excellent condition, both inside and out (all of the caravans we saw on the site were in great condition, externally at least). We did have one minor problem - a leaking pipe coming form the basin in the toilet, but this was fixed by the on-site handyman within 20 minutes of us reporting it. There is plenty of room between the caravans, with some areas of open grass easily big enough to play football or other sports on. Our neighbours were very friendly too.

We went to the restaurant on our first evening for a family meal. The service was very good, but I'd have to say although it was OK, I would only give 3/5 for value (and after that decided we'd mostly eat elsewhere because of the cost). There is however, an outdoor play area next to the bar/restaurant that the kids loved. It was quite busy, but all the kids got on really well and had a great time, while we were able to keep an eye on them whilst relaxing with a drink at the tabled area outside. There is a chip shop / takeaway on site too, but we never tried it.

The next day we went to the swimming pool. On first getting in the pool, I'd have to say I thought the water was a little on the cool side, OK for us adults, but could've been a bit warmer for the kids. The main pool is 1.2m deep, which was an awkward depth for our 6 year old, as he is still learning to swim. The only alternative was the small jacuzzi style pool for the infants, which was too small for him (although it was fine for the other two). There is a flume, which is a plus point - the two elder kids loved it.

Apart from the play area and the pool, there is an outdoor astroturf football pitch/basketball court, which I stupidly joined a game of football (mainly with young fit kids) on - great fun, but not a good idea when you haven't played for years!

There is an amusements area, with the usual slot machines and video games, pool tables, and a nice little mini ten-pin bowling game, which the kids loved, costing £2 per game.

There is also an entertainments room, but although we got a leaflet which had lots of events for kids and adults on it, we were out visiting the local attractions during the days, when the kids events were on, and at night we couldn't attend the entertainment because the kids were in bed - so I can't comment on the entertainment.

There is a laundry with 2 washing machines and 2 driers, which was handy as we were staying for a week. There machines cost £3.50 - £4.50 for a wash (they have different sized drums) and the driers cost £1 for 15 minutes, so it cost us about £10 for our 2 loads of washing.

The shop is handy for essentials, but if you're staying for more than a few days you'd be better off going to Ayr for your shopping, as it's only about 4 miles away and has a dencent sized Tesco. We found Ayr very good for shopping: clean, nice shops and a friendly atmosphere.

If you're taking young kids, I can recommend some local attractions: Heads of Ayr Farm Park (only a few miles away) is great for a family day out (it cost us £30 for the family), but go early to make sure you can get around everything. Same with Loudoun Castle Theme Park - we paid £42 for the family (we were lucky because under 4's are free!), but then all the rides are free (except for the go-karts which are £3-4), so we spent the whole day there, from when it opened at 11 until it closed at 5. Also, Pirate Pete's down at Ayr beach is great for young kids (this one cost about £9 for us for a 2 hour session), with a baby and toddler area too. Just outside Pirate Pete's is a big open free play park with lots for the kids - big slides, small slides swings, roundabouts etc. And if you're lucky enough with the weather, there's the beach too!

OK, I think that covers most of it. To sum up, I'd definitely recommend this holiday park, based on:

* Very nice, clean caravans
* Really friendly staff
* Good location for local attractions
* Great for kids

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank graysnoust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraLO77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coylton
3.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
4.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
698 reviews
4.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
15.4 mi away
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park

Address: By Ayr | Ayrshire, Coylton KA6 5JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Coylton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Coylton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous beaches, fun and fresh Ayr...You've got it all at this glorious country holiday park. Set in a quiet spot near the beautiful Ayrshire coast, it's the perfect base for exploring the region's many attractionsFrom the golden sands at the seaside resort of Ayr to the ancient Scottish castles which pepper the countryside. And, of course, a visit to Robbie Burns' museum is a must. Add to that the fun indoor pool on park, lively kids' clubs and peaceful nature trails, and there's something for everyone at Sundrum Castle.* Set in glorious rolling countryside * Only four miles from Ayr's sandy beaches * Great for exploring the Ayrshire coastline * Indoor swimming pool complex with flume * Fun for the kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundrum Castle Holiday Park Hotel Coylton
Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park Coylton, Ayrshire, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing