We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bliss”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

NWG55
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My four nights at Hilltop Cottage comprised the crowning touch to my 60th Birthday solo Celebratory journey to Ireland. I arrived by bicycle, greeted by Collette and her sweet dogs. I received a bonus welcome of warm dinner and wonderful conversation. The cottage was a perfect embodiment of long cherished fantasies. I could revolve slowly 360° inside or out, upstairs or down, and encounter only views to engender delight. The setting is stunning. The cottage conveys charm, history, warmth, and carefully chosen individualized touches of creativity and artistry throughout...all creating a pervasive, welcoming and quite palpable perception of "home".The bed has a down-filled duvet, and coziness is enhanced by wood stove and wonderfully soft wool blankets . And then there is Colette...gifted, gracious, genuine,generous and wise. Her presence and abundant hospitality added an unanticipated and abiding gift to an already exceptional experience. I had the opportunity to purchase home-baked bread, jam produced from her organic garden, and beautiful fresh eggs. I was persistently captivated and enchanted by home, hostess, setting and surrounding possibilities for encounters and exploration. It was both pleasure and privilege and I have every intention of returning.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Colette, cottage itself, views and setting
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Mount...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful, comfy hideaway with views to die for”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was the perfect place to stay for our first visit to the Beara Peninsula. The cottage had everything we needed and more besides, the setting above the harbour with views across the Kenmare River across to MacGillycuddy's Reeks was enough to keep you wanting to stare at it all day long, there were lots of excellent walks of different levels nearby, Colette made us feel very welcome and was on hand when needed but left us to ourselves apart from that, and the weather was beautiful! What more could you want? Wish we were still there!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views to the mountains across the water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bea P
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, peaceful and welcoming!”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Hilltop Cottage is a gorgeous place to stay, cosy and tastefully renovated interior and stunning views across the bay, even from the bedroom window whilst lying in bed! There is plenty to see and do on the Beara Peninsula, stone circles, the fantastical Derreen Gardens and wonderful walks especially to see the waterfall at Gleninchaquin Park. We had our ideal honeymoon here but what made it extra special was the hospitality and warmth of Colette and her adorable little dogs. We hope to make it back one day. Bea and Magnus

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary20021...
Winfield, Kansas
1 review
“We couldn't have asked for a more delightful experience of Ireland.”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I were very pleased with our experience on our dream vacation to Ireland. One of our retirement goals was to experience Ireland but not while hopping from city to city, repacking every two days. Hilltop Cottage is situated on beautiful Beara Pennisula which is friendly to guests but not too "tourist-y." The cottage is traditional (which we loved) but up-to-date and comfortable. Colette, the owner, made us feel so welcome and did so many little extras to make sure we were well taken care of. We were able to balance a restful sojourn with fun day trips and short hikes. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful retreat in a beautiful part of the world, you could not do better.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting.
Liked least: We liked it all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a magical place, to go to on holidays.”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I never write reviews but felt compelled.. as this was one of the most beautiful places I have stayed. It is picture perfect.. the most peaceful idyllic location, the beautiful views, the white washed cottage with log fires and of course the bath/garden with the views of the mountains and lake. The house is perfectly equipped with everything you need. I love cooking and it was so lovely that Colette would share from her garden, fresh eggs and organic herbs/salads each day. Myself, my daughter and my husband had such a lovely time and I really felt the whole holiday, was so incredibly relaxing. My only regret was having to leave and needless to say.... I can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186470Bob...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Close to heaven!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our family of 4 which includes 2 kids aged 9 and 13 travelled to Hilltop Cottage and had the most wonderful week. None of us wanted to leave, which is quite a testament to this special haven. The particular difference to this property from others we have stayed in is not only the lovely cottage and its idyllic location, but also the inspiration that Colette herself is. During our stay Colette provided eggs from her hens, organic veg from her garden and jam that she had made herself. Her way of life is what many strive for but few attain. It was a privilege to stay at this restful refuge from the mad rat race for an all too brief time. The cottage is very well maintained and equipped. The kitchen has every piece of cooking pot, pan, etc. that you could require. There is a log burner and central heating. There is a large selection of books and games, and the most special time I had was sitting outside watching the breathtaking sunset over the mountains with only the sound of birds to accompany. This place and this time will stick in my mind for a long time to come, such is the impact it had on me.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsTrish
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Views and Perfect Location”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our Landlady, Colette, met us at the church car park at half past midnight saying that we would not find the cottage in the dark - she was right! Went to bed about 1am and woke up the next morning to brilliant sunshine and the the most wonderful views of the Ring of Kerry.
The cottage is spacious and comfortable with a terrace upon which to sit and admire the view. Although there are other cottages nearby, the peace and quiet is lovely and perfect for total rest from the hubbub of normal life.

Colette is on hand, welcoming, friendly and very helpful - wherever we went, for miles around, everyone knew her and spoke kindly of her.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, peace and quiet,comfortable cottage and lovely landlady
Liked least: Only wine in local shop 7km away, for beer or spirits had to buy from a local pub or go to Kenmare 22km away!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.