We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best Kept Secret in Ireland”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior of old pub cottage illegal pub dating back to  the 1860s
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of old pub cottage illegal pub dating back to  the 1860s
Bedroom of Old Pub Cottage .4 poster.cosy and romantic Sitting Room in Old Pub Cottage. Free logs for fire provided during your stay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Exterior of old pub cottage illegal pub dating back to  the 1860s
Bedroom of Old Pub Cottage .4 poster.cosy and romantic
Sitting Room in Old Pub Cottage. Free logs for fire provided during your stay
Kitchen of Old Pub Cottage
Flower bed and lamp in front of cottage
Glenmore Lake local beauty spot 5klms away
Knockatee Country Walk near cottage 1klm away
Glenmore Valley walk 6klms
Looking into Rabachs Glen, 1 km from cottage
The valley in front of the cottage
river sheen on the caha pass. day trip from cottage
Seals on the Rocks near Garnish Island
View from the top of Knockatee Mountain 3km from cottage
Lighthouse at tip of Mizen Head. Day trip from cottage (spectacular walking area)
reflection of knockatee mountain in kilmackilogue harbour
molly gallivans cottage and traditional farm  visitor centre day trip from cottage
Local waterfall at The Pocket, Glenmore, 10klm from cottage
Coom Bridge on Healy Pass Road 4klm from cottage
Looking towards Bantry Bay from the Priest's leap road
The light house in Bere island ( fantastic walk)
Garnish island off Glengarriff.
Our sign. Stop when you see this
Cashelkeelty stone circle. 4 klms from cottage
Nearest restaurant. 4 klms from cottage
Local bar serving food on the pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Sue E
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best Kept Secret in Ireland”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the cottage as a base to explore the Beara Peninsula. We had no idea just how beautiful a place it was to stay and how wonderful our hosts were.
The cottage was so comfortable, with every facility,including wifi. A beautiful fire awaited us on arrival and it just got better and better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly hosts and cosy cottage atmosphere.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony r
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Cottage Stay Ever”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in several cottages around Ireland...the Old Pub Cottage rates as the best. The warm welcome with tea and bikkies ready, the enormous amount of local invaluable information based on other tourists' experiences, precise directions for walks and trips, local eateries and pubs. Eileen is a one-woman tourist information centre!!
The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard, everything works, excellent wifi, and clean beyond reproach, with plenty of logs for an evening fire. The area is beautiful beyond words, and everyone is happy to chat and have the crack.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mountains/People
Liked least: What's not to like?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penny h
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful and most comfortable introduction to the Ring of Beara.”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived in Rosslare by ferry on the 5th July and after staying in Wexford overnight we travelled down to Lauraugh on the 6th. We had a great ride down on our motorbike and the Weather was fab the whole week.! Eileen was there to greet us with a fresh pot of tea and a roaring fire in the grate. Eileen was the perfect hostess with a lovely welcome hamper and a box of After Eights that we found later gift wrapped on our bed ! She gave us lots of interesting information on the area and the cottage was fantastic with some of the most stunning views I have ever seen ! The night sky (you have to wait till 12am for darkness ) was truly amazing and we also did the Healy pass and many other attractions during the day. I would recommend this little piece of paradise to anyone and we are certainly hoping to get back there next year. Thankyou Eileen and Richard for sharing this beautiful place with us . Penny & Joe Derbyshire UK. X

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the cottage
Liked least: no pub within walking distance !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B
Mohill, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Where to start! From the moment we arrived to a freshly brewed pot of tea and a roaring log fire we felt at home. Eillen and her husband Robert are what can only be descibed as "the salt of the earth" Genuine, warm and lovely people who are obviously very proud of the area they live in. Nothing was too much trouble. Advice on where to visit, shop and eat was very useful and appreciated. The Fish factory is a must for lovers of fresh fish ( can't believe the cheap prices ). The Market in Kenmare on Wednesday is essential for all 'foodies ' the choice and variety of fresh deli, bread and cakes , mouth watering !!
The ferry trip to Garinish Island Garden is well worth a visit just to see the seals basking on the rocks. The gardens are beautiful and great value at just 4 Euro.
The Cottage has everything needed for a relaxing break, a well fitted kitchen, cosy living room with open fire and enough books and CD'S to keep you entertained for months. The views from the cottage can only be descibed as STUNNING!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning Landscape
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pclarke23...
Cavan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I have just returned from a lovely week staying at the old pub cottage. It was so beautiful. The cottage has everything you need for a very comfortable stay. The owners are so helpful and made us very welcome. The cottage is situated on the Ring of Beara in county Kerry and the views are amazing. My friend is visiting from Australia and she will be taking home lovely memories of our stay in the Old Pub Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The whold package
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leenert H
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2018 for a stay in January 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2018
Hello Leenert. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and that your mum was happy also. We hope you are both keeping very well and happy. Best wishes always. Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelfPrak...
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2018
Hello Field. Thank you so much for your lovely review on trip advisor. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay in old pub cottage here in the beara peninsula. Best wishes always Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing