We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Surpassed all expectations”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Pub Cottage

Exterior of old pub cottage illegal pub dating back to  the 1860s
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of old pub cottage illegal pub dating back to  the 1860s
Bedroom of Old Pub Cottage .4 poster.cosy and romantic Sitting Room in Old Pub Cottage. Free logs for fire provided during your stay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Exterior of old pub cottage illegal pub dating back to  the 1860s
Bedroom of Old Pub Cottage .4 poster.cosy and romantic
Sitting Room in Old Pub Cottage. Free logs for fire provided during your stay
Kitchen of Old Pub Cottage
Flower bed and lamp in front of cottage
Glenmore Lake local beauty spot 5klms away
Knockatee Country Walk near cottage 1klm away
Glenmore Valley walk 6klms
Looking into Rabachs Glen, 1 km from cottage
The valley in front of the cottage
river sheen on the caha pass. day trip from cottage
Seals on the Rocks near Garnish Island
View from the top of Knockatee Mountain 3km from cottage
Lighthouse at tip of Mizen Head. Day trip from cottage (spectacular walking area)
reflection of knockatee mountain in kilmackilogue harbour
molly gallivans cottage and traditional farm  visitor centre day trip from cottage
Local waterfall at The Pocket, Glenmore, 10klm from cottage
Coom Bridge on Healy Pass Road 4klm from cottage
Unusual rock formation on the Eyeries Loop walking route
Looking towards Bantry Bay from the Priest's leap road
The light house in Bere island ( fantastic walk)
Garnish island off Glengarriff.
Our sign. Stop when you see this
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MD1600
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surpassed all expectations”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is a great place to stay. The cottage is equipped with everything you would need. The owners are incredibly helpful and are on hand as they run the shop nearby. We stayed for a week and would happily have added another week on. Plenty to do and see. A quiet spot ideally situated for exploring this wonderful part of Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656David
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“We still feel the glow from the cosy cottage with its wood burning stove and warmth of the Irish people!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We enjoyed the tranquility of the Old Pub Cottage with its views of the mountains. As it was the beginning of April the ewes with their lambs and warm weather was a welcome surprise. Eileen and Robert provided us with exceptional hospitality. On our arrival a pot of hot tea, flower displays, and even a box of chocolates was waiting for us (on the four poster bed).
Eileen kindly recommended many places of local interest. One of these was Dromquinna Stables from where we trekked into the mountains and through the sea, on our 35th wedding anniversary.
Attention to detail has certainly been paid to all of the amenities that we could wish for in the cottage. We were able to walk to the local shop and a trip in the car to Kenmare, gave us the provisions to self-cater, although we did eat at several pubs and restaurants in the area during our stay.
We still feel the glow from the cosy cottage with its wood burning stove and warmth of the Irish people!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaByrn...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We loved our stay in Old Pub Cottage, Lauragh, Co. Kerry. We went to get away from it all and relax in the cottage. The cottage has everything you would need and we felt so at home. We had a warm welcome from Eileen & Robert and a pot of tea waiting for us! We found it difficult to find a place that was dog-friendly and our wee Jack Russell, Rufus, loved the cottage and the scenic walks around Kenmare and the Ring of Beara. Kenmare is one of the nicest villages we have ever visited and enjoyed many lunches in Jam - which bake the nicest choc cookies ever!!

Old Pub Cottage was excellent value for money and we will definitely be back :)

Fiona & Dan

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage, scenery, owners
Liked least: electricity bill was high
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tony B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a greeting. Fire blazing,tea made in the pot, hamper of fruit and biscuits.Beds beautifully made and decorated along with welcome card and gift. I have stayed in many 5* Hotels that would benefit from lessons from Eileen!! Encyclopedic knowledge of the area, sights and places to eat.
Fabulous area, I have been to the Ring of Kerry previously ( easily reachable from cottage) but Beare rivals it for sure.
Lovely stay, well worth a visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being treated as a friend
Liked least: Nothing at all to dislike!!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue E
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best Kept Secret in Ireland”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the cottage as a base to explore the Beara Peninsula. We had no idea just how beautiful a place it was to stay and how wonderful our hosts were.
The cottage was so comfortable, with every facility,including wifi. A beautiful fire awaited us on arrival and it just got better and better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly hosts and cosy cottage atmosphere.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony r
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Cottage Stay Ever”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in several cottages around Ireland...the Old Pub Cottage rates as the best. The warm welcome with tea and bikkies ready, the enormous amount of local invaluable information based on other tourists' experiences, precise directions for walks and trips, local eateries and pubs. Eileen is a one-woman tourist information centre!!
The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard, everything works, excellent wifi, and clean beyond reproach, with plenty of logs for an evening fire. The area is beautiful beyond words, and everyone is happy to chat and have the crack.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mountains/People
Liked least: What's not to like?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$42
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing