We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This Cottage Completely Charmed Us!”
other travellers have booked this property
Old pub cottage.illegal pub dating back to 1860s
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old pub cottage.illegal pub dating back to 1860s
Front door of cottage 4 poster bed in cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Old pub cottage.illegal pub dating back to 1860s
Front door of cottage
4 poster bed in cottage
Dining area in cottage
Local cafe with bike hire ..2 klms from cottage
Allihies copper mines and beach
The harbour from cashelkeelty stone circle walk
Garnish island. Day trip from cottage
Our sign. Stop when you see this sign
Seals on the rocks on way to garnish island
Stone circle at cashelkeelty. 2 klms from cottage
Molly gallivants cottage and traditional farm
Nearest restaurant to cottage
Nearest pub doing food
Glenmore lake from Healy pass scenic drive. 4 klms from cottage
Fully fitted kitchen in cottage
Cloonee lakes and kenmare bay. 7 klms from cottage
Knockatee mountain from under canteen bridge. 4 klms from cottage
Glentrasna valley. Nearby easy walk from cottage
Knockatee mountain from canteen bridge on way to Glenmore lake
Islands in Glenmore lake. 4 klms from cottage.
The bay outside Helens bar. Kilmackilogue. 4 klms away
Gleninchaquin waterfall park. 12 klms from cottage
Cloonee lakes.on your way to the waterfall park.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
kerry1015
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This Cottage Completely Charmed Us!”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If you've seen the pictures of The Old Pub Cottage, then I can tell you that the reality is even better than the lovely photos! This beautiful and charming abode is perched on a small hill off a quiet country rode on the Beara Peninsula, a region of Ireland which we soon discovered is one of the most wildly scenic parts of the country and is still relatively undiscovered by tourists.
We were warmly greeted at the cottage by our hosts Eileen and Robert who had already laid a blazing fire for us and made a pot of tea. There were fresh flowers in the windowsill and a basket of treats to last for our stay. Because the evening was chilly, they even made sure the bed warmer was on. What a welcome!
This lovely couple are gracious hosts who helped us plan our day trips for the five days we spent at the cottage. Yes, we did the Ring of Kerry but I can tell you that the smaller and more scenic Ring of Beara, on which the cottage is located, is worth taking at least a few days to explore.
We drove over spectacular Healy Pass, explored small farm and fishing villages, rode the cable car over the Atlantic to Dursey Island and visited Garinish Island, a beautiful paradise with spectacular gardens. Much of our time was spent gazing at green valleys and ancient, rocky slopes and watching lambs in the fields. The Beara Peninsula is also home to many ancient stone cairns and circles. These are magical, haunting places and not to be missed.
Back to the cottage: it was spotlessly clean and had every convenience we could need, including a washer and dryer. It reminded us of a cottage our of the shire in Lord of the Rings. So cute and well cared for.
The cottage is about 20 minutes from the gorgeous little town of Kenmare and is perfect for visiting Killarney (about an hour away). Muckross House and Killarney National Park are worth a visit. The lake is lovely and you can rent rwoboats to explore.
Because restaurants are about half an hour away from the cottage, we stocked up on local breads, jams and cheeses for breakfasts then ate our dinners in Kenmare and some of the cute roadside pubs (a nice, nearby pub with good food and good Guinness is called The Sailor's Bar, I think).
Anyway, our great thanks to Eileen and Robert for being such warm hosts. We will never forget our visit and we hope to return one day. We would give this place 10 stars if we could. — Kerry and Chris from Vancouver Island

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charming atmopshere of the cottage and the location and hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantgetan...
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chris's persepective”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a wonderful little hideaway. If you ever want to get away from it all, this is the place to go. A simple 23k drive away south from Kenmare on the ring of Beara. Great value for the $, wonderful hosts with lots of humour and concern to make sure you have a good time. The cottage is cute, clean, heritage rustic in a way, but has wireless, electric heat and a fireplace, washer and dryer etc. I could easily imagine building a place like this to live in here in BC. As far as the area goes the Beara Peninsula wins hands down compare to the Ring of Kerry. We spent a week and saw no other tourists and spent time out in valleys at stone rings with no one for miles. There is so much to se on this peninsula you could spend years here. I would not hesitate to recommend this as a wonderful getaway from it all place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts were super helpful and friendly
Liked least: Couldn't walk to a pub.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RYChang
1 review
“A quaint, relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My boyfriend and I heard about this place from a mutual friend who had stayed there over te summer, and they were absolutely right about this place! Albeit the Feb month was a little bit chilly, the O'Shea's did a fantastic job in ensuring that we had all that we needed to stay warm and cozy. We had plenty of wood to feed te fireplace, the heater was on, and they even equipped the bed with an electric blanket! They gave us wonderful directions for what to do and where to eat in the area. Even though we were only able to stay for 2/3 nights we had booked, we would highly recommend anyone to pay a visit to this lovely hidden gem! If you love the old school feel and the countryside, this is a place you MUST stay at! - Ruby & Dylan (feb 2015)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A
Oakville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect place to relax, away from it all!”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The owners, Eileen & Robert are the most delightful couple you could hope to meet and so helpful and obliging. Robert spent two years renovating the original 'pub' & expanded the upstairs to give full headroom. A lot of t.l.c went into this & you feel it the moment you walk in. We were there 10 days & could have stayed much longer.
Do visit Kenmare on Wed - market day. If you want to buy a sheep that's the spot.
Take time to explore the Beara Peninsula it is wild & rugged .
In Lauragh try the soup at Pedals & Boots cafe and be sure to eat at Josie's, delicious food & fab view, Drive a bit further & try the mussels & salmon at Pier House Kilmackilogue harbour.
We adore sea food and Castletown is one of the largest fishing ports in Europe - but no fresh fish store! However, the supermarket sells fresh fish & it is fresh.
Whatever you need to know ask Eileen she is a delight.
PS do remember to feed the little robin bird & his wife.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners & the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayernbus...
Unterhaching, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wowwwww!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed there 3 days and was totally stoked from this very lovely cottage.
We were heartly recieved from Eilleen and Richard - the fire place burned, they made us an tea, on the bed was a nice suprise - thanks a lot for this!
We feel good from the first till the last minute in this house.
Now, we hope we will come back to this nice place in Lauragh - maybe next year...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all things
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaeldI...
Whitechapel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surpassed all expectations”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is a great place to stay. The cottage is equipped with everything you would need. The owners are incredibly helpful and are on hand as they run the shop nearby. We stayed for a week and would happily have added another week on. Plenty to do and see. A quiet spot ideally situated for exploring this wonderful part of Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656David
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“We still feel the glow from the cosy cottage with its wood burning stove and warmth of the Irish people!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We enjoyed the tranquility of the Old Pub Cottage with its views of the mountains. As it was the beginning of April the ewes with their lambs and warm weather was a welcome surprise. Eileen and Robert provided us with exceptional hospitality. On our arrival a pot of hot tea, flower displays, and even a box of chocolates was waiting for us (on the four poster bed).
Eileen kindly recommended many places of local interest. One of these was Dromquinna Stables from where we trekked into the mountains and through the sea, on our 35th wedding anniversary.
Attention to detail has certainly been paid to all of the amenities that we could wish for in the cottage. We were able to walk to the local shop and a trip in the car to Kenmare, gave us the provisions to self-cater, although we did eat at several pubs and restaurants in the area during our stay.
We still feel the glow from the cosy cottage with its wood burning stove and warmth of the Irish people!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing