We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location,great value for money, great people”
other travellers have booked this property
Ellie's Cottage, Cummers, Lauragh on the Beara Peninsula
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ellie's Cottage, Cummers, Lauragh on the Beara Peninsula
Canopy Bed in Ellie's Cottage. cosy and romantic. Knockatee Country Walk near cottage 1klm away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Ellie's Cottage, Cummers, Lauragh on the Beara Peninsula
Canopy Bed in Ellie's Cottage. cosy and romantic.
Knockatee Country Walk near cottage 1klm away
A hidden spot in Derreen Gardens 1klm away
One of the many mountains in Beara close to cottage
Looking at the island in the lake at Glenmore 4klms from cottage
Looking into Rabachs Glen, 1 km from cottage
Seals on the Rocks near Garnish Island
View from the top of Knockatee Mountain 3km from cottage
knockatee mountain reflected in the water in kilmackilogue harbour
molly gallivans cottage and traditional farm visitor centre day trip from cottage
river sheen on the caha pass day trip from cottage
The light house in Bere island ( fantastic walk)
A Frequent Visitor!
Garnish island off Glengarriff.
Healy Pass Road on the Cork Side, near to Cottage
Kilmackilogue harbour. 4 klms from cottage
Our nearest restaurant. 4 klms away
Local bar serving food on the pier
Local cafe and bike hire. 2 klms from cottage
Cashelkeelty stone circle. 4 klms from cottage
Sitting room in cottage.
Lots of books to read in front of the fire.
Wetroom with shower.toilet and handbasin in cottage.
Kitchen in cottage.
Our sign. You have arrived here.
Colones lakes and kenmare bay. 7 klms from cottage
Knockatee mountain from under canteen bridge. 3 klms from cottage
Local walking park and waterfalls
Nearby harbour with knockatee mountain in the background.
Uragh stone circle with gleninchaquin in the background12 klms from cottage.
Islands in Glenmore lake.4 klms from cottage
The harbour from knockatee mountain walk.3 klms away.
Knockatee mountain from canteen bridge on way to Glenmore lake. 3 klms away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
johnrhain...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location,great value for money, great people”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Have just returned from a super weeks holiday staying at Ellies Cottage. It's the perfect location for exploring the Beara Peninsula, which is stunning and not crowded, as is the neighbouring Ring of Kerry. The cottage is cosy and very well equipped and the welcome by Eileen and Robert is amazing. They do everything they can to ensure you have a great holiday. The cottage is excellent value for money and we would certainly recommend a stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendliness and everyone we met
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2016
Hello John and Nina. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here in the ring of beara. Thank you for your great review of your holiday. We hope your very own piece of beara travelled back with you and that you will enjoy it long after the holiday is over. Best wishes. Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel J
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Ellie’s cottage for one week at the end of April. Eileen is very welcoming and friendly. She had the open fire going in the kitchen, she made us a pot of tea and gave us a gift of some chocolates and a welcome card. The cottage is in a good location and is well equipped with washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, central heating and most items you would need to make full use of the kitchen.

So, what’s not to like? A number of things actually and I hardly recognise the accommodation we stayed in from the other reviews which don’t mention the downsides. They are unfortunately, what encouraged us to book.

The first impression as you are shown around is that the decor and furniture is very dated and apart from a lick of recent paint, the place hasn’t been updated in a long time. I would also argue it’s not really a cottage, which romanticises it. It is actually just a two storey house in need of modernising. It is pretty clean but everything is quite tired looking. The washing machine, tumble dryer and central heating controls are all in a lean-to shed at the back of the house. So if you want to use any of these things it’s a trip outside.

We had great weather while we there but the place was always cold and although unlimited firewood is provided for the fires, the oil for the central heating is charged extra, based on what you’ve used. We paid €10 for electricity and €40 for oil for 7 days (seemed a lot as this would make it €2,600 for a year). The free logs are useful for heating the kitchen where there is an open fire and the lounge where there is a wood burning stove. However that doesn’t help the bedroom or bathroom which stayed resolutely chilly despite us having the heating on for 2 hours in the morning and 5 hours in the evening. Both rooms need new radiators as both had enormous cold spots – the one in the bathroom only heated up at either end. Fortunately, although only an over-the-bath type connected to the taps, the shower was nice and hot with reasonable pressure. Just chilly when you got out. There is double glazing in all the rooms except the bathroom which probably didn’t help and in fact the glass in the bathroom window was cracked as, strangely, was the glass in the doors of the sideboard in the lounge. This didn’t help the slight air of dilapidation. There was an electric blanket on the bed which did help take the chill off before getting in but you have to remember when you use this or the tumble dryer that you are paying extra for the electricity.

We were only staying on the ground floor and there is a bit of a view of the mountains out of the back lounge window, although this is partially obstructed by some shrubs/trees and the view is really dominated by the large industrial storage unit beyond the back garden. Another reviewer mentions the stunning landscaping and gardens around the ‘cottage’. I don’t understand where they were looking as there is just a small concrete area at the back next to the washing machine shed, with a low concrete block wall and at the front, apart from the feature Yucca, there are some conifers and gnomes. The evenings weren’t warm enough to sit out when we there so this did not bother us.

I have uploaded some photos which give an idea of the rooms not shown in the official description. The bedroom is actually quite a dark room and nothing like as bright as it looks in the official photo.

We wouldn’t stay at Ellie’s cottage again. Although not really expensive, even when you add in the extra costs, it was just too run down and cold. The Beara Peninsula however is stunning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The inefficient heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Lovely. Absolutely beautiful and stunning are some of the words written in my guestbook by these holidaymakers describing their time here. We asked them was their holiday alright on the morning of their departure and they said yes thank you. I read all their other reviews and I feel they were happy nowhere. Thank you .eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy1912
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, great cottage”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I can't speak highly enough about this cottage and location.
Our hosts Eileen and Robert greeted us on arrival with the fire going, a pot of tea with chocolates, showed us through the cottage, and also highlighted the places of interest in County Kerry and County Cork.
Even though it is spring in Ireland at the moment we needed a fire most days and Robert provided unlimited firewood which was great.
I would recommend this cottage to all, we will be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abcdefgro...
1 review
“Warm reception”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed here for two weeks and had a lovely time. Eileen and Robert are very warm and hospitable and make a big effort to make it as comfortable as possible. The cottage is spacious and bright and cosy and the locale is magnificent. Beara is really worth a visit and this is a great option.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people and the place both
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan F
Hico, WV
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful Little Cottage”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Ellie's Cottage for 5 nights and I didn't want to leave! The cottage has two wood stoves, big windows in the living room with beautiful views, and a full kitchen. We had packed light, and also found the washer and dryer very helpful! The landscaping and gardens around the cottage are stunning.

Ellie and Robert are just genuinely kindhearted people who can offer a lot of helpful insight into things to see and do on the Beara Peninsula.

In the 5 days we were there, we visited the Cashelkeelty Stone Circle, the Healy Pass, went horseback riding in Blackwater, strolled through Kenmare a couple times, drove most of the 3 Rings of Beara, and spent time at Killarney National Park. Ellie's cottage was the perfect place to cook a meal, relax by the fire at night, sip tea and watch sheep in the morning, and wake up well rested and ready to go. If I could do anything differently - I would have just stayed longer!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolanta Z
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful first time in Ireland.”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First time in Ireland and such a wonderful experience. We spent three days in this lovely place, but really wanted to stay much longer. First surprise - very warm welcome from Eileen and Robert, cup of tea, biscuits, a log fire...it felt great! They also provided us with lots of useful information about the area, as well as leaving many brochures and books of Beara peninsula. The location of a cottage is perfect, allows you to walk or drive to many beautiful places, even when the weather is not perfect. The cottage is well equipped, spacious, sunny and comfortable. Thank you Eileen and thank you Robert. You made our stay difficult to forget, so we hope to came back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna n
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“summers holiday cottage”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We arrived on Friday 10th July to a lovely log fire tea and chocolates The owner Eileen and her husband Robert made us very welcome The cottage is in a very tranquil area with breathtakingl surrounding We were able to take our dog with us which was a bonus We would definitely recommend the cottage to anyone .Donna Jacky and Buttons the dog .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peacefulness and the scenry
Liked least: nothing everything was fantastic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing