We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Lovely Country Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Valley View Cottage with elevated, panoramic views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valley View Cottage with elevated, panoramic views.
view from patio at front of cottage Comfy Seating in Valley View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Valley View Cottage with elevated, panoramic views.
view from patio at front of cottage
Comfy Seating in Valley View Cottage
Kitchen of the Cottage
One of the neighbours!
Glenmore Lake near cottage 4 kms
Bridge over the local river, 1 km from cottage
Looking into Rabachs Glen, 1 km from cottage
The valley in front of the cottage
Seals on the Rocks near Garnish Island
View from the top of Knockatee Mountain 3km from cottage
Lighthouse at tip of Mizen Head. Day trip from cottage (spectacular walking area)
knockatee mountain reflected in the water of kilmackilogue harbour
molly gallivans cottage and traditional farm visitor centre day trio from cottage
river sheen on the caha pass day trip from cottage
Looking towards Bantry Bay from the Priest's leap road
The light house in Bere island ( fantastic walk)
Garnish island off Glengarriff.
Our sign. Stop when you see this
Blacksmith stove for comfort and cosy feel
Single bedroom in valley view cottage
4 poster bed in the cottage
Clones lakes and kenmare bay. 7 klms from cottage
Knockatee mountain from under canteen bridge. 4 klms from cottage
Local waterfall park with scenic walks.
Cashelkeelty stone circle. 4 klms from cottage
Uragh stone circle with gleninchaquin in the background
Cloonee lakes . 10 klms from cottage
Bridge at the end of glentrasna valleyeasy walk from cottage
Glentrasna valley. Nearby easy walk from cottage
The harbour from knockatee mountain walk
Knockatee mountain walk. .4 klms away
The islands in Glenmore lake. 5 klms away
Gleninchaquin waterfall park. 12 klms from cottage
Plenty parking at cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
APDMEL
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Lovely Country Cottage”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I recently stayed at this lovely country cottage while visiting the Beara Peninsula. Situated near the tiny village of Lauragh it was perfect as a base for our Ring of Beara touring. Eileen and Robert were very helpful in providing local information and their welcoming gesture of tea and biscuits beside a warming fire made us feel at home immediately upon arrival at the tidy cottage. The views from the cottage were striking, from the lush green valley below to the field next door where grazing sheep frequently caught my gaze, we were totally relaxed in our quiet country retreat. Hiking in the area was spectacular and the Sunday evening seafood supper we had at Teddy O’Sullivan’s was not only delicious but provided two Canadians with a wonderful opportunity to spend time in a quaint country pub, filled to the rafters with local families and friends enjoying themselves immensely. Our time in the Peninsula was most memorable and we thank Eileen and Robert for providing us with a delightful place to stay during our visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HikenNoAc...
Pontault Combault, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, stunning area”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at the cottage by a rainy afternoon. The owner Eileen welcomed us with a cup of tea. A fire in the fireplace was warming the cottage. First time we had such a nice arrival at à rented cottage ! The place is beautiful the cottage very well equiped and very nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area thé quiteness
Liked least: Nothing coming in mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place of beauty and charm”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing stay both my girlfriend and I had in Valley View cottage. A truly inspiring place, with owners every bit as incredible as the place itself. Anybody who is fortunate enough to stay there is every bit as privileged as both my girlfriend and I were. We both could not recommend staying in Eileen & Roberts highly enough. The place to stay on any visit to the Kingdom of Kerry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners are every bit as wonderful as the scenery
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malgorzat...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like a Fairy Tale”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time in the cottage and area. The cottage was very comfortable and cosy. The area was very peaceful and quiet. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. We had a perfect time in a perfect place. Thanks a lot to Eileen and Robert and we hope to come back with the rest of our family next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort in a place of paradise”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We're home a few days now and I'm still lonely for the mountains around Lauragh. We had a fantastic time,with all our comfort needs met in the cottage, two very gracious and helpful hosts are Robert and Eileen. Beautiful clear frosty days for lots of exploring,we had huge appetites and made a huge fire each evening when we returned to the cottage. It was the stress free,fresh air and exercise giving break I badly needed. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the scenery is stunning
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie G
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Cottage!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Valley View Cottage was so comfortable and perfect in pretty much every way! We were greeted by Eileen with a pot of tea and a fire blazing in the grate, and she was full of advice about what to do during our stay, both rainy and sunny options. The cottage is ideally situated, it's remote enough that you get to appreciate the full beauty of the Beara Peninsula, but it's only a 20 minute drive to Kenmare, and only about 5 minutes from Lauragh. We spent plenty of evening's just relaxing at the front of the cottage with a home cooked dinner, overlooking the stunning views, but I would also whole-heartedly recommend Josie's restaurant in Lauragh - it was the best food I have ever had, and the service was also excellent. The only regret that I have about the cottage is that we didn't stay longer! I would definitely go back, and would recommend it to anybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and how welcome we felt
Liked least: Apart from Eileen's shop, there isn't much in walking distance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bassil201...
Saint-Etienne, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcome, cottage, care for guest comfort impossible to beat”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful quiet settting with easy access by car to main towns.
For walkers a paradise - no need to take the car everyday;

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing