We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Die Pastorie(Caledon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Erna's Place(Caledon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveller rating
258
226
102
48
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
226
102
48
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolshot springsthe black sheepquad bikingroom servicewarm waterzip liningvictorian bathsteam roomcape townrock poolsrelaxing weekendan upgradewine and dineshort driveforest adventuresspa casino
Filter
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 665 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We've visited the Caledon Spa quite a few times over the years and noticed a marked deterioration in general maintenance of the place on this occasion. The room that we were first given was billed as "meadow facing", however no meadow was visible since there was an earth embankment in front of the door which blocked out more than half of the "view". Rooms are non smoking but the room stank of tobacco smoke, presumably from the previous occupants, also there were dark stains all over the carpets, not nice!

We were quickly moved to another room, which was a big improvement. What we did notice in both rooms was a lot of wear and tear, broken tiles, stains on the bottom of the bath, faded signage and a hotel "manual" that has seen better days with torn and battered pages. Pool towels were tatty and frayed, even the room towels were pretty tired and old. Seriously, if I had towels like that I wouldn't give them to my guests but would use them to dry the dog, they are a disgrace.

The spa was really nice, but even there I noticed loads of stuff that needs fixing; tiles missing from the sides of the Victorian Spa, broken and loose railings, battered changing room doors. It was depressing, like the owners have just given up on maintaining the place and are just waiting for it to decay.

On the plus side, the bedding was really good quality, we had a fantastic nights sleep. The breakfast buffet was fantastic with a large variety from which to choose, food in the other restaurants was excellent and the setting is hard to beat.

The problems are so easy to fix; new towels, a couple of handymen for a week & a coat of paint here and there would make the world of difference.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisCorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Visited this beautiful heaven on earth property on my birthday, 31st of May. Stayed in a suit called Caledon suit. Meet and greet at the foyer by the duty manager and the warm welcome by the staff at the receptio. Oh how do i 4get a porter who saw us circling around looking foe a parking as it was a busy month end, he came with his golf card and lead us to the far end parking then drove us back to the foyer

The view, spacious room, fire place as it was a cold and raining weekend. Had dinner at the main restaurant, enjoyed a wide variety of buffet from soup, salads, roasts and those warm malva pudding for desserts

Slept like babies and joined them again for breakfast, with last night's quality of food and service standard, expectations were high and they didn't dissapoint at all

Wow the gardens, spar, wonderland games for kids if you travel with them. Real place to be as we hated to bid farewell and left on Sunday afternoon as we requested a late check out and guess what!!!!!!

We came back on Sunday the 2nd of June and stayed in the same room, checked out Monday the 3rd, can't get enough of good things nhe :-) Thumbs up to house keeping ladies as well for their good work

Room Tip: Ask for any suit facing the mountain, as they have the best view
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinnie3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We visited the Caledon Casino and Spa also known as the Thermal Resort in May 2013. It was winter and the temperature was around 15 C. The rooms are average size with a good bathroom. The hotel has a natural hot water spring swimming pool which is really hot. Also it has an open air three jacuzzis in which the water from the hot springs filters down. Though the water is hazy brown and green in colour it is clean and worth a swim. The changing area is neat n clean and has good shower facilities. The restaurant area is big and spacious and service good. The room service is neat and efficient. The hotel has big casino, gamezone, ziplines, quad bikes and many other optional activities.

Room Tip: Take the upper deck rooms
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumOra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Caledon is short drive from Cape Town so ideal for a relaxing stay literally soaking up the atmosphere of the hot pools and the associated spa facilities of steam room, sauna and cold plunge pool. The latter was my favourite. The rooms were comfortable with spacious bed and bathroom. Breakfast on the terrace was a delight. The staff were most helpful especially in arranging for some lost property to be delivered to Cape Town. I hope it not too long until I return.

Room Tip: The valley rooms are south facing and do not get any sunshine. All ground floor rooms have a seating area with two loungers.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Good experience. Warm baths very enjoyable. Service and security can improve .
A person do not feel save to go to the warm baths after dark.The hotel needs more recreation activities for the whole family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews