We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caledon secret”
Review of Athenian Villa

Athenian Villa
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athenian Villa
Ranked #5 of 11 Caledon B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Caledon secret”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Best kept secret. Never judge a book by its cover. Carol Ford is a magnificent hostess who is solely responsible for the renovation and decor ideas for the guest house. She has established an oasis that is a feast for the eyes, with much passion and dedication. Secure parking. Excellent room facilities. Very clean. 5 % star treatment. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
17
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I have stayed at Athenian Villa about 5 times, Athenian Villa is perfectly situated and close to all amenities. I really like staying here because of the overall value, beautiful swimming pool, veranda and large balcony which let you experience this in true Athenian style, Mykonos inspired rooms are spacious with an on suite bathroom. Breakfasts are the best and prepared by friendly staff and a morning chat with Carol about must do sightseeing for the day. Caledon Hotel & Spa is just a 5 minute drive away should you choose to relax at the warm baths or some pampering at the Spa, the latter being the main reason I visit Caledon on a regular basis. I can highly recommend Athenian Villa, one of the best kept secrets in Caledon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We booked in at the Athenian Villa and since the moment we walked in, it felt like a diffrent country. We enjoyed every moment there. We spent half the time in the little swimming pool enjoying some ice cold white wine. The room are really cosy and gives one a very relax feeling. Breakfast was amazing and the people there made us feel so at home. I can highly recommend them and will be back myself. Wim Braak

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

What a lovely place to stay. From the moment we got there we were greeted with great hospitality. The rooms are cosy and clean. The fireplace and lounge area is perfect to sit down with a nice book and relax. Breakfast was really tasty and nicely presented. For a cosy romantic place to stay i would recommend Athenian Villa anytime.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Celeste K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caledon
0.9 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
14.6 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
17.0 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Little Lotta Cottage
Little Lotta Cottage
#1 of 4 in Caledon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
13.3 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
14.6 mi away
Blue Gum Country Estate
Blue Gum Country Estate
#10 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenian Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenian Villa

Property: Athenian Villa
Address: Good Hope Building | Donkin Street, Caledon 7230, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Caledon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Caledon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Athenian Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Overberg town of Caledon, a one hour drive from Cape Town, is the beautiful Athenian Villa Bed 'n Breakfast. The building is the historic Good Hope Building, dating from 1929 and the theme is drawn from the Greek Isles. Owners Peter and Carol welcome you in true Greek style. Set in a side lane, off the main road, one can lose sight of the little town of Caledon, and imagine oneself in Mykonos or Santorini, the setting is so authentic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Athenian Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing