We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Farmhouse Comfort and Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caledon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rouxwil Country House
Ranked #1 of 11 Caledon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Farmhouse Comfort and Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Rouxwil Country House, owned by hospitable, relaxed yet competent hosts, O'Nel and Thys Roux, is situated between Villiersdorp and Caledon, a great stopover between Cape Town and the Cape Winelands, and the Garden Route. A peaceful working farm within easy reach of the pictureque village of Greyton, the Bot River wine estates such as Beaumont and Gabrielskloof, Every time we return, we discover the hugely comfortable and thoughtfully equipped bedrooms and bathrooms, all kept spotless and in perfect working order. Generous delicious breakfasts and dinners, a pool and scenic walks and drives, make this a worthwhile venue for more than just one night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    0
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
80
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Rouxwil Country House during our 3-week South African holiday this month and we thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

We'd strongly support all the positive reviews of the farm on Tripadvisor - this really is one of the top 2 or 3 B&Bs we've ever stayed in. This opinion has been endorsed by Thys and O'nel winning for the second consecutive year the 'Country House' section of the AA Travel Guides American Express Accommodation Awards in Durban in 2011 (O'nel returned from receiving the award during our stay!). Thoroughly well deserved in our opinion.

Thys and O'nel are charming and engaging company with encyclopaedic local knowledge and great commitment to giving their guests a top-quality stay. We particularly enjoyed the farm tour given by Thys, who explained how his seed-planting machines were working while driving us alongside them across the field in a 4x4, and we also learned rather more than we expected about the modern technology of sheep breeding!

The rooms are spacious and extremely well decorated and equipped, and the views across the rolling grasslands are stupendous; the farm is very peaceful at night. We recommend both breakfasts and dinners, and they have a good selection of very reasonably priced wines (especially we recommend the nearby Robertson Valley products).

Rouxwil is well situated for pleasant 30-40' drives to both Hermanus and Franshhoek, so this fitted perfectly with our intended itinerary between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth.

There are no TVs in the rooms, which we rather approved of (there is one in the guest sitting room), and there's no wifi internet. We did have good mobile phone reception, however.

Do go - we guarantee you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drmarkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

We will certainly be back for our third visit as soon as we can, we love it here. Thys and O'Nel are wonderful hosts and the farm has the most wonderful rooms with everything you could possibly ask for at a B & B. We stayed for 4 nights, including Valentines Day, and O'Nel made the evening very special with a superb dinner. The river trip was great fun, and very different from our trip round the farm the previous year, we will definitely be back and hope that we will be able to get a booking, because with all the praise this B & B is getting, it may well be difficult to book. M & A

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaddy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Just returned from our 3rd stay at Rouxwil and each stay, if possible, just gets better and better.What makes it so special is the welcome, care and friendliness given by O'Nel and Thys. It is a very special place - they gave us a magical last evening in SA by taking all the guests down the river for a bbq on their pontoon - we were surrounded by the noises of an african night with all the stars and the moon reflecting on the river - what a wonderful memory to go home with and it makes us long to return again

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchpoodle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

We have been staying here for a few years now, and think of Thys & O'nel as friends. They are a charming couple and will do everything possible to make your stay a happy one. The rooms a very spacious with A/C , double showers and washbasins. Also an outside shower.Breakfast and dinner are taken at the farmhouse, and all the food is delicious. The position is quite remote with superb views , so it is nice not to have to drive for dinner.
This is a working farm, and we find it very interesting to talk with Thys about his crops and sheep etc. He will also do a farm tour and sundowners on the nearby river. An absolute delight.
This is the ideal place to relax and recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliciaShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Everything was first class and Thys and O"nel were charming hosts. They looked after the four of us so well and we would recommend this lovely little piece of heaven to anyone looking for tranquility and friendship. A great experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaMac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

If you are looking for a few days of total relaxation and comfort, enjoy exellent food and good company then I would not hesitate to recommend Rouxwil. O'Nel and Thys are everything good hosts should be. The accommodation is spacious and spotlessly clean. My wife and I have just returned from our second visit. We will definately return!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herring_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caledon
10.2 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
20.1 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
19.9 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Athenian Villa
Athenian Villa
#5 of 11 in Caledon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
23.7 mi away
Blue Gum Country Estate
Blue Gum Country Estate
#12 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
21.6 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouxwil Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouxwil Country House

Property: Rouxwil Country House
Address: Near turn, Caledon 7230, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Caledon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Caledon
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing