We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in the Overberg”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caledon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rouxwil Country House
Ranked #1 of 11 Caledon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 December 2010

If you only have time, to visit one place in the Overberg, then make sure it is Rouxwil Country House. O Neland Thys are the most wonderful hosts and warmly invite you into their home.
The rooms are huge,with wonderful patios, looking out onto the fields (baby springbok are very cute!). There is a small swimming pool to cool off in after a warm summer's day.
O Nel took us on a trip around the farm. We saw Thys harvesting the wheat crop and fields full of blue cranes.
Then there is the food - only one word to describe this "excellent". We had the highlight of Thys's braii one night. I will always remember the bread cooked in the fire with butter, chhese and jam.....Breakfasts were also a wonderful feast.
This is a working farm, so you get to see the real life of a South African farmer, and meet the wonderful dogs. Their 2 collies (Spike and Jock) took us on a wonderful walk around the farm. Glad they knew where they were going!
Rouxwil is an excellent spot to either just chill out or it makes an excellent base for touring. Hermanus is around 40 minutes away, Francshhoek the same. Even closer is one of the newer wine areas, Elgin. Fantastic wines here and very friendly estates and beautiful in November and December when the roses are out.
All in all great spot to recharge the batteries with friendly hosts and excellent food. Make sure you visit!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2010

It was love at first sight. What a wonderful place on earth! We had such a great time and enjoyed every single minute at this beautiful and exceptionel farm.
O'Nel and Thys are the perfect hosts, very warm and friendly. O'Nel is an excellent chief, we enjoyed our fantastic boobotie and the real south-african braai. We loved the farm tour during harvesting time.
We will come back...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We put down our deposit R400 (US$70) and booked Rouxwil Country House two and a half weeks in advance of our March 27, 2010 stay. When we arrived at the beautiful little farm, it wasn't clear where to enter to check-in. We patiently waited while a woman talked on her cell phone, quite angrily for about 5-10 minutes, and didn't even cast us a wave or glance. Once she was off the phone, she addressed us to complain about someone cancelling their reservation and sort of led us to the house. Another couple(South African) arrived in their car, and the owner proceeded to check them in and show them to their room in front of us. (Was it something I said?) She then apologized for having us wait, and told us to follow her in our car to our room. She proceeded to drive us to ANOTHER FARM, about 15 minutes away! She had subcontracted us out to a neighboring farm with no service, no food, no phone, no bottled water, no hair dryer, no iron and brown tap water! Since we were leaving in 2 hours for a wedding, we had no choice. If you have visied Caledon.. there is very little in the way of hotels here. When we asked if there was any food or where to get water for the children to drink, she directedmy husband to drive 30 minutes away to a store. She then requested the remaining R400 in cash!! In the United States, a hotel cannot subcontract your business out to another venue without your consent. And we were sent to stay at a neighbor's, not even another hotel or B&B. Clearly, this Owner is not in the business of running a reputable, courteous nor quality establishment. How can we recomend this farm? We can't.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank epimediums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROUXWIL, Owner at Rouxwil Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2010

As you can see in this review, sadly these guests did not stay at Rouxwil Country House - so how could they have experienced us? Then critisized our award winning establishment in the way they did. [Just won the AA Award for the Best Farm Accommodation in SA 2010]. This booking was done by their good friend, the bride, which wedding they have attended in our area. The bride was desperate trying to get accommodation for all her guests, and the bride asked me to help her find accommodation, and she did the allocation of her wedding guests. To make it easier, I have merely facilitated all the bookings, and maybe therefore the misunderstanding that they were going to stay at Rouxwil Country House! The bride asked me to book this couple with two young children into the neighbouring self-catering Cottage, which I did. [and is only 2km away] All the guests arrived at the same time, coming from the same location, and I had to book in the guests staying with us first. It was therefore not subcontracting at all, only trying to help the bride getting her guests' accommodation. It is so sad that they are criticizing us, and they did not have their facts right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

If there is one place that you do not want to miss in Western Cape, it has to be Rouxwil Country House. Thys and O'Nel are the perfect hosts. We stayed 4 nights and we had everything from a romantic dinner for two in the farmkitchen to a animated south-african braai in the courtyard with all the other guests. The food is fantastic and as well very well presented. Our room was very spacious, very well equipped and stylishly decorated. Love the outside shower! Just wait to wake up in the morning and see the zebra, eland and springbok in the field gazing back to you. Oh, and Gideon the eland loves apples...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j2sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

In 26 days of traveling, this was the best accommodation of our trip and we agree with previous comments. However what has not been fully highlighted is what a welcoming and delightful pair Thys and O'Nel are. They transform a very upmarket B&B into a truely exceptional one. Their advertising of "arrive as guests and leave as friends" was, for us, spot on. Whilst they are both excellent company we would add that O'Nel is a fabulous cook. Whatever you do, book in for dinners!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PennyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We last visited Rouxwil in 2007 and returned last week - it is quite amazing that something as perfect as Rouxwil could just get better! Two new rooms have been added, both of which are up to the standard of previous accommodation and, once again, the food was phenomenal. O'nel and Thys are the quintessential hosts. Any stay here cannot be bettered anywhere in the country.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GREEN15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Rouxwil Farm is a fabulous place to stay! Thijs and O'Nell are a very warm, friendly and charming couple. They spoiled us with their attention, kindness, excellent food and wines. O'Nell is really a great chef in her kitchen! The 4 (new) rooms are amazing: elegant and comfortable and very large. We even had an outdoor shower, next to a twin indoor shower ánd a bath. The view is spectacular from your room, the pool and the farm. It is very nice to witness the farm life and Thijs is very willing to tell you all about it and to show things. Although the farm is situated 'in the middle of nowhere', you are in no time at places like Fransshoek, Greyton, Caledon and even Hermanus. Staying there for 4 nights, made our holiday and we'll certainly go back in another season.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FransRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caledon
20.1 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
598 reviews
10.3 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
10.3 mi away
Swartberg Guest House
Swartberg Guest House
#2 of 11 in Caledon
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Athenian Villa
Athenian Villa
#6 of 11 in Caledon
52 reviews
10.1 mi away
Little Lotta Cottage
Little Lotta Cottage
#1 of 5 in Caledon
13 reviews
9.6 mi away
No photo provided
Die Pastorie
#2 of 5 in Caledon
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouxwil Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouxwil Country House

Address: Near turn, Caledon 7230, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Caledon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Caledon
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouxwil Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing