We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wedding at La Magioca”
Review of La Magioca

La Magioca
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Negrar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Magioca
Ranked #15 of 27 Negrar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I got married at La Magioca last September and since I'm Italian, from Verona, but living in a foreign country, the owner had a big role in the whole organization.
I could only visited twice Mrs Marisa, we basically talked over the phone.
Well, it was the best day ever.
Mrs Marisa took care of everything and more, her team was so discreet and well-organised that nobody realized when and how other areas of the party were re-arranged or prepared for what went next.
Everything was perfect, honestly that day was far beyond my expectations.
The place is amazing, well-kept and furnished at his best.
The food was excellent and the rooms were heaven. No point saying that the house is very clean and tidy. From last autumn there's also a large swimming pool and a stunning winter garden.
It is definitely one of the most beautiful experience of my life.
The place really worth a visit. Especially for a romantic escape.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiaracapuzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for La Magioca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2008

We stayed at La Magioca for one night during our honeymoon trip. We had selected various hotels throughout Italy for our trip, this was the final one. It did not disappoint.

In a nutshell, La Magioca is a hidden-away, quiet little jewel of a hotel (with only seven rooms) above the hills of Verona. It feels special and luxurious. We stayed in the Mosaic room, which was excellent. I have no doubt the other rooms they have are of the same standard.

The concierge and staff went out of their way to make us feel very comfortable and welcome. For example, our breakfast in the outside garden was prepared exclusively for us. In the evening they reserved a table in close-by beautiful restaurant overlooking Verona for us. It would have been impossible to find this restaurant due to its location. This hint alone created one of the most magical evenings we have had in Italy.

There are many touches like this. The hotel is in the middle of a beautiful and large garden. A perfect setting, really. Of course it is expensive, but you get a very special stay in return. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greatgatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

There is no doubt that this converted farmhouse is truly magical - even when it pours with rain!

Fabulous location, however as stated previously 15 mins (25 euros taxi) out of Verona and only a couple of restaurants closeby. Particular mention to Villa Reniz at the bottom of the hill over the mainroad- food was delicious and very cheap.

Room was fab- Greta- decor very tastefully done- breakfast freshly cooked, staff very helpful.

Grounds lovley - but unfortunately we couldnt appreciate due to the constant downpours.

Would definately return but only with transport.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedding50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

La Magioca was a great place to stay and the staff was great! Our hostess, in Italian only, managed to communicate warmly and make us feel at home. Breakfasts were filling and excellent. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Great chocolates were available in the lounge. In fact, there was always something to munch on somewhere, and their choice of Prosecco was terrific. But for a couple of issues (one specific to us), we would give La Magioca an excellent.

The specific issue was fragrances - there were cachets and fragrant items in several places in our room. Some folks won't care, but it is an issue for my allergy-prone spouse. Our bath had no shower curtain. There is a hand shower hose that's hung on the wall, but don't try to take a shower standing up - you'll get the whole bathroom wet. There are occasional events (especially weddings) that might be disruptive to a guest.

There is one fantastic restaurant just out the gate and another OK one across the road. The hotel is out in the country in the Valpolicella wine region. Verona itself is a bit of a poke and the roads are confusing, but we managed to use La Magioca as a base for exploring lakes Garda and Como, the Dolomites (Trento, Bolzano & Cortina), Bergamo, Vicenza and of course Verona.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank winetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

A lovely relaxing place to unwind and have a lovely bubbly jacuzzi bath accompanied by a dip in the hot tub and a delicious runny barn egg served in the morning. Would definately return.

Stayed: August 2006
Thank jobiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

We had an excellent stay in La Magioca for 5 nights at the begging of September. We had a civil wedding ceremony in Verona on the Saturday morning followed by an afternoon anglican blessing in the 13th century chapel on the grounds of La Magioca. The staff at La Magioca went well out of their way to be of help (even ironed the mens suits before the big day) and they made our stay wonderful. Most of our wedding day was spent enjoing the beautiful grounds of La Magioca with a buffet lunch and a traditional italian candlelight evening meal on the terrace. The rooms are fantastic, everything we could have wished for (especailly "Greta"), and it was lovely waking up to the smell of homemade plum cake and croissants being baked in the mornings. Our wedding was arranged by Gloria Franco of [--] and with the help of people at La Magioca, she made our day one that we will never forget.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2006

My wife and I have just spent 4 wonderful days at the La Magioca. Our bedroom was lovely, as the rest of the house and the staff were friendly and helpful. We also had breakfast on the patio in the lovely grounds.
The La Magioca is in a quiet position and there is a nice restaurant just outside the gates, closed monday, and two more ten miutes walk down the hill.
La Magioca is ideal for exploring the Valpolicella wine region although we would recommend a car as the town of Negrar is 25 minutes walk and taxi's have to come from Verona.
We will certainly return.

MM. & BM. Greenwich, England

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pinotage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negrar
1.8 mi away
Villa Giona
Villa Giona
#2 of 6 in San Pietro in Cariano
84 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Quar
Hotel Villa Del Quar
#1 of 2 in Pedemonte
121 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Quaranta Tommasi Wine Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Diamante
Hotel Diamante
#1 of 4 in Negrar
111 reviews
2.6 mi away
Montericco Bed&Breakfast
Montericco Bed&Breakfast
#23 of 27 in Negrar
7 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Gesi
Villa Gesi
#10 of 27 in Negrar
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Magioca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Magioca

Address: Via Moron 3, 37024, Negrar, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Negrar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Negrar
Price Range: £150 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
La Magioca Negrar, Province Of Verona, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing