We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills and not crowded beach holiday”
Review of MTDC

MTDC
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bordi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MTDC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This small cozy place tucked away in Bordi, a corner of coastal North Maharashtra towards Gujarat, has a different charm. Drive from Mumbai is a comfortable 3 hours max. Turn left after about 2 kms from Charoti toll-naka towards Dahanu. After Dahanu, continue on the road parallel to the seashore and you’ll be here after another 16 kms of pleasant drive.
This place is small (has only 7 fibre glass tents, all air-conditioned) yet full with the warmth of the staff who stay within the complex and manage the entire show efficiently. Kudos to Shri Rajendraji, the MTDC Manager who was very helpful, pro-active, cooperative and always smiling.
This place is supposedly to undergo renovation and apart from the tents, post renovation there shall be rooms also. The current building which originally had guest rooms is in shambles hence only the tents are available for booking.
Booking is online (for this and for all other MTDC resorts) and the rates for MTDC are cheap. I must mention here that MTDC has the best locations.

This place in Bordi is bang on the beach and the sea is not even 25 metres away. However the beach is flat and during low tide the sea water levels recede to a good 1.5 kms beyond the shoreline. Advantage during high tide is that the sea is safe and waves are not wild though the water is not clear and the sand is blackish. Also for people from Mumbai, the big surprise is that there is no crowd and the serenity and calmness is welcome.

The rooms are neat, can accommodate 2 adults and 2 kids, have an attached bathroom and a split AC unit. All rooms face the beach and during high tide, one can hear the rolling of the waves even during the day.
The restaurant (veg. and non-veg.) is average and one shouldn’t expect anything available in a city restaurant. It has a limited menu though the stuff available has a home-made taste and appeal. Breakfast generally consists of upma, poha and sheera, apart from the usual toast butter and hot beverages. Lunch and dinner are as per order. There are Chinese items also though we didn’t try.
For the vegetarians, there are two options. There is Chikooland restaurant at Hotel Anandvan across the road, which has got a Gujarati thali option (pre-book to avoid disappointment) and also an ala-carte vegetarian eating joint (they serve Jain meals also). The other is Shiv Bhelpuri stall which serves good bhel-puri and other related snack items and standard vegetarian Chinese fare (Manchow soup, veg. fried rice, veg. noodles and Veg. Manchurian). On a cold winter night, the hot and spicy Chinese stuff tasted like bliss.

Sight seeing is limited. There’s the endless beach, a small dam (Asawali dam, about 8 kms drive), acres and acres of chikoo farms, a Jain temple and a Warli village (local tribal village where one can see their houses, understand more of their culture and ways of living). Some items of these tribal produce are also available for sale. One can also buy chikoos directly from the farms or Dahanu market at throwaway prices.

Overall, go to this place for a peacful and a quiet holiday where one can spend quality time with family, read a book or just laze around. Children can have a good time since the beachside is available without any crowds. They can run, build sand castles or even play in the sea water since its safe and the waves are mild

Room Tip: Try to get the tents which are closer to the beach
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PraksMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
There are newer reviews for MTDC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

Bordi is around 4 hrs from Mumbai by road. Bordi beach is a very calm quite place and one can go there to just relax and spend the laziest time of your life...
The property is no frills basic accommodation and cheap as well. You need to book online.

The beach is looong and the water is far from the beach.. The place is best to be visited by evening.. enjoy the sunset and have quite moments or chat up and have lengthy conversations on the beach..

It gets really dark after sunset so you may just want to relax in the beach facing garden of MTDC. But beware of mosquitoes!

Room Tip: You can select a cottage but prepare for some mosquitoes.
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Tinuworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Bordi is a beautiful sleepy town with lovely beach,MTDC is an economical hotel with average facilities.The restaurant is bad and food is below average so eating outside is a good option.It has good sea facing fibre glass tent houses and a secluded beach

Room Tip: Stay in sea facin g fibre glass tents
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank JijoThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My stay at this property in the Summer of 2009 was so comfortable and cherishing, that I returned two years later this June only to be thoroughly disappointed! This property of MTDC, which was one of their best kept ones in the State, appeared to have not had any maintenance done in recent years. The building with regular rooms was closed down, apparently for reconstruction in the future!

The roof of one of the tents was long destroyed and left as such. In my tent, the wooden floor panels looked worn out, the wall paints were peeling off , the cupboard was smelly, the bed musty and the bed sheets old. There were ants and other insects crawling all over the room and the bed. The air conditioning worked at its lowest potential, leave aside the unannounced power cuts.

I must say that the toilets were clean, though parts of the Western Closet were coming off. The garden that was well tended earlier, looked worn out.

The food was deplorable! There was no seafood available, though they appeared on the menu. Essentially they served greasy, smelly Chinese, the worst I have ever had. Room service came after 4 calls and 2 hours!!!! Apparently, the contractor has outstayed his tender and the management has little control over it.

The manager was friendly and attributed the sad state of affairs of the property to it going for re-building in the next couple of years! He said that the arrangements would be perfect if I were to return after 2 years!! Unfortunately, his friendliness and PR alone can not run this place for long.

Thanks to mother nature the view from the room remained as breath taking as ever. The tents do afford direct view of the sea that gives the impression that the waves would roll into your bed any time! This property has the advantage of being most into the sea. A stroll by the beach in the settling sun and cool breeze is therapeutic. The sea in Bordi is muddy, but not dirty! During the low tide, the sea pulls out for kilometers, so one needs to time their time on the beach if intending a swim! I could pick a handful of nice sea shells from the beach for children.

Bordi is one of my favorite drive-aways when Mumbai begins to get on me, or when I need a bit of solitude for my writing! I will soon do a separate post on things to do in and around Bordi. But I do not recommend MTDC Bordi until they get their act together.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kaleidoskop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We booked the tent/hut for a night.
The receptionist was an old man but hospitable. We told him that we would be checking in at 11pm and it wasn't an issue.
We went there to celebrate my friends birthday for a night so he helped us in small arrangements at that time of the night. Whatever we required, he got it for us without any hesitation.
The tents are very comfortable. The front of the tent is a full length fibre glass with a view of the surrounding tents/garden/beach. It is neat and clean and allows 3 people to stay in one room. The toilets are also very clean.
It is close to Gholvad station which is about a 5-10 minute drive. We went to have early morning tea at the station since the breakfast was available only after 7am.
It is a drive away from Mumbai - around 2-3 hrs or also by train (Gholvad station) which will also take you approximately the same time.
The beach is average. Not very clean.
We had no problems what soever during our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank atishay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

An amazing place for a short TRIP nearby to MUMBAI. It would take you around 3 HRS to drive Via Dahanu and around 2 HRS if you Board a train with MTDC bordi being just 15 minutes walkable distance from the nearest rail station GHOLVAD.
One can stay in the Sea view rooms or the Fibre glass tent , with my preference being the tent if you are a small family. The tent offers you a picture window to the sea and beach ahead along with an outdoor dining area and verandah. The rooms are well kept and furnished.
One can visit nearby villages for seeing chickoo plantations as well as quick visit to few houses where one can re visit the art and culture of WARLI ART and even buy them for souvenirs.
The food here is really amazing if you are one who prefer fresh sea food as well as authentic Maharashtrian food and all of this priced reasonably good, like a half kilo chicken handi would cost you under INR 150.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hibernatingcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The MTDC resort in Bordi is right on the beach.. but the beach itself is not great. It's just an average beach. But the resort itself is beautiful especially the garden is outstanding and so well maintained. It is worth staying in this place just for the garden. You could sit in the garden all day and read and relax.

The rooms are large and spotless. Very well kept rooms. The standard rooms are pretty good but the tents which open out to the beach and the garden are outstanding.

The restaurant is a disappointment. The taste and the options both were disappointing. There are other vegetarian restaurants near the resort, but the nearest bar is about 2kms from the resort called "Crazy Crabs".

The manager at the hotel was exceptionally good and friendly.

I would definitely go back to Bordi and stay in MTDC again. Especially considering the fact that it is easily accessible by train from Mumbai makes it an inviting weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank andrew_netlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bordi
3.1 mi away
Hotel Sagar Kinara, Malvan
0.0 mi away
Anand Resort
Anand Resort
#4 of 5 in Bordi
26 reviews
4.2 mi away
Maachli Homestay
Maachli Homestay
#1 of 7 in Kudal
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Coastal Galaxy Wooden Homes Devbag
Show Prices

Been to MTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC

Address: Beach Road, Bordi, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Palghar District > Bordi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Bordi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing