We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A shed with a few objets d'art scattered about” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louvre-Lens

Louvre-Lens
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Lens
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A shed with a few objets d'art scattered about”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The museum is badly signposted, with no parking anywhere very near. Once you somehow locate the official parking (well hidden) you then walk to the museum. Entrance building is a large well-lit glass box structure with glass circular rooms inside (shop, reception etc). Tickets were free (nice) and then off to see the exhibits. This consisted of one quite large hall about 2-3 artifacts wide and 10-15 long. When we visited almost all visitors were groups - mostly school kids, some pensioners. The idea doesn't work and you are left gawping at a rag bag collection of stuff too mediocre to display at the Louvre in Paris, with no idea of context, similar works, schools of painters etc. worse, carpets are placed next to paintings, ceramics by statues - a mishmash of pieces with no coherency.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Huw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    491
    161
    50
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Excellent collection, very well presented”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our second visit to the Louvre-Lens and will not be the last. The exhibits are laid out chronologically and are very easy to navigate. The collection is stronger on early periods - BC, Roman/Greek and Medieval - than it is on later dates. The building itself is very well designed and shows off the art works to their best effect. The collection is changed periodically so there is always a good reason to return.
The cafe provided a simple, tasty lunch at a sensible price. The gardens were showing signs of damage from a very wet winter but should recover if there is a period of good weather.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RLP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful use of an afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We took the train to Lens, 16.50Euro and from there we caught the free shuttle bus to the Museum. Wow- what a sight totally new age. The Cafe was rather expensive but everything we had there was REALLY TASTY. The actual exhibits themselves were fantastic and the english audio guide made it an interesting and informative experience. It was rather busy and you often found yourself surrounded by people on tours crowding round a particular exhibit. Take a day trip from Lille to Lens and see a less touristed Louvres. Also saw my first Rembrandt painting which was kind of a big deal for me- but other artifacts/pieces made it an interesting trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank coubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enlightening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I must agree with what most people said about this amazing museum: a week of several hours per day to visit and would not be enough to say that you've seen it all! I am so pleased that I managed to visit only a small part of it and see some of the most important masterpieces of the world! Spirituality enlightening-this is how I feel about the place!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
191 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great museum in the North of France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

A great, modern museum that is not too daunting for a single visit. There is a stunning collection of works from the Louvre Paris which are on loan and also an important exhibition plus smaller exhibitions.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Louvre-Lens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing