We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location shame about building work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Splendid Camargue
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Le Grau-du-Roi
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location shame about building work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Myself and my wife booked this for our honeymoon and were very impressed on arrival. The hotel was as it said it was, a 3 star.
The staff were very friendly and spoke english which was certainly a help initially. The rooms although basic were comfortable and with air con. The view for the first couple of days was excellent. However on the third day builders arrived and started diggings the beach up and moving sand from one area to another. This started at 730 in the morning which was a shock...

The hotel is also undergoing renovation in that they are extending it so there are builders on site drilling etc. It looks like they may be there for some time so it maybe worth enquiring with the hotel. It would have been nice for them to let us know before we arrived.

The buffet breakfast is 11 euros and is about average price wise and it is all you can eat and very fresh.

The local area is fantastic with lots of bars and restaurants and try some on the quayside for extremely fresh fish and shellfish.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the beach once the work on the beach has been completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    154
    47
    21
    8
See reviews for
88
200
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We booked out of season for the cheaper rooms but changed to sea-view rooms (sunset over the beach!) when we arrived. The hotel entrance was clean, filled with tourist guides and local artisans products. Stafff were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke French, English, German, Dutch and Spanish, giving excellent tips about horse-riding and restaurants in the area.
The rooms were large, the decor rather dated. However the beds were good and everything was spotlessly clean. . Breakfast was excellent in a room creatively filled with artifical plants- corny, but shiny and clean.

The down-side was parking, about 400 metres away, and very full even in the low season.
The discovery was the restaurant in the hotel...new, excellent service with delightful cuisine. Absolutely the best in the village!

Room Tip: If possible select beach view rooms on the upper floors. The lower floors might be very noisy in sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellessbonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Not easy to find a good hotel in Grau du Roi in high season as most of the town consists of French owned/let apartments. Splendid Hotel is virtually on the beach. We have stayed twice and got rooms at the last minute.The rooms above the delivery are a bit noisy early in the morning on delivery day , but we turned over and went back to sleep. The hotel is very clean, well presented and there is air conditioning in each room. The sea view rooms with balcony are fabulous. The welcome is very friendly and the new manager helpful and concerned for the welfare of his guests. Breakfast is served in the rooms in the pretty, light filled breakfast room with a good selection of eggs, ham, cheese, fruit, toast, bread as well as fresh French breakfast croissants, baguette and a local sweet cake. Self service as much as you can eat. Grau du Roi is a French seaside town and this hotel feels a bit more up market than some of the others.

Room Tip: Room 110 has a strange buzzing noise from time to time - might be from the restaurant below the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Our room had a great view of the Mediterranean Sea, the bed was very comfortable. This hotel is very dated and it really needs some upgrading. The lobby is not inviting, its full of dead fauna and flora. The Staff are friendly and helpful. Our bathroom needed a safety mat for the bath tub, and no electrical outlet could be found anywhere in the bathroom. It would be nice if the room had coffee/tea kettle and a small frig would be nice too. I would return here with lower expectations. 90euro per night.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_A_GuyLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

On the plus side: overlooking the sea, friendly and helpful staff, fair sized rooms, good breakfast room

On the negative side: no parking at the hotel - you have to drive some few hundred yards away, poor bathrooms, pricey for what you get.

I suspect that the sea view rooms are a better bet if you are staying several nights here. The landside rooms are o.k. but with a very dark and not well ventilated bathroom. It's a good location but tricky when you arrive, no parking and with no stopping places to unload. Strange smell in the corridor at one point . More than adequate but slightly pricey for this standard. The hotel restaurant looks good but we did not try it beause it did not offer a vegeterian option.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomSleaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

This place does the job - clean rooms, good location and a great breakfast. There's good seafood and a humane bullfight around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaughnesy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R'dam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

We've been to this hotel in the lovely village of Le Grau du Roi, France.

The hotel is located at the boulevard, just pass the street and you're on the beach! Our room had seaside view, but I understand that not all rooms have this. In our case the room didn't have airconditioning but hotel management told us that this would be installed before next season. We didn't have such hot days (it was only april/may) but I can understand that this could be quite nice in summer.

Breakfast was excellent, personnel were very friendly and always helpful to give you some ideas about how to spend a day. For example visits to the nearby village of Aigues Mortes.

Conclusion, this was a very relaxing stay for a couple of days and we're certainly thinking of coming back to this very nice hotel.

  • Liked — Location, friendly personnel
  • Disliked — Parking space
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Boeie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Grau-du-Roi hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Bains de Camargue
Hotel Les Bains de Camargue
#7 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.4 mi away
ResidHotel Le Mayflower
ResidHotel Le Mayflower
#11 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.6 mi away
L'Oustau Camarguen
L'Oustau Camarguen
#1 of 4 in Port Camargue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quai d'Azur
Hotel Quai d'Azur
#9 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Maray
Hotel Le Maray
#4 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Spinaker Hotel Lodge & Spa
Le Spinaker Hotel Lodge & Spa
#5 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Camargue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Camargue

Property: Hotel Splendid Camargue
Address: 21 boulevard du Marechal Juin | Rive Gauche, 30240, Le Grau-du-Roi, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Le Grau-du-Roi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Le Grau-du-Roi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid Camargue 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Camargue at the border of the Mediterranean in its picturesque Le Grau du Roi and the largest marina in Europe Port Camargue You will find the Splendid Hotel Camargue. Ideally located on the beach while staying in the city center. All the sea view rooms have a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Splendid Camargue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing