We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we needed!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Gore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and valued. We received some light refreshments on arrival and also had a helpful, relaxed and interesting chat about the area around Gore, and New Zealand life more generally. The en-suite bedroom was furnished to a very high standard and included a plentiful supply of tea, coffee and cookies! Breakfast was extremely yummy and included some delicious home-made preserves and some light muffins to die for!

The wifi worked well. The house was immaculate. The hospitality was outstanding, and included the opportunity to use a downstairs room to watch DVDs etc. Diane and Barry even arranged a spectacular sunset to enhance our photo album!

If you are in the Gore area, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Ken and Mandy, thankyou so much for your kind posting. Glad you enjoyed the sunset!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

Diane and Barry run an excellent B&B. Only 5 minutes drive from Gore town centre it is still quiet and peaceful. Rooms are spacious and each guest has their own bathroom. There is also a separate guest lounge although Diane and Barry treated us more as friends than paying guests. We were in Gore for the fishing, but Diane had lots of suggestions for things to see and do. We are looking forward to going back next trout season.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Thanks Penny and Ken. We really enjoyed having you to stay.....very pleased we met at Creel Lodge last year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

this little bit of paradise is made possible by the owners putting a lot of effort into making you very comfortable . rooms and breakfast and lounges all great. barry is also a superb guide providing all the fishing gear and knows and helps you catch (and release) brown trout, you wont be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binkPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Thanks Bink...our pleasure to have you to stay and fish with us. Very pleased that you had a good time and look forward to your return visit next month. Fishing is great just now!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Having travelled all over England, Scotland, and Australia I can honestly say this is the best. Diane & Barry are the perfect hosts and the accommodation and surrounds are just great. Breakfast is almost too much, though we didn't complain. Barry's knowledge of the rivers made our trip most memorable, while Diane was always ready to book restaurants for us. My wife is fairly new to dry fly fishing but Barry made sure she hooked into some great brown trout. We stayed for two weeks in December 2012 and have already re-booked for two weeks in March 2014 for my 70th birthday. Barry also ties the most beautiful size 16s & 18s flies which my failing eyesight can no longer do. Can't wait to get back. Stuart & Vicki Mckinnon, Khancoban,NSW.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Stuart and Vicki...we should be the ones saying thankyou! Flowers and a card on my birthday...bottle of port....you were wonderful guests to have stay with us and we are already looking forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Barry and Diane are wonderful hosts and they made us and the rest of the wedding party feel very comfortable and welcome in their home. The breakfasts were excellent and the beds very comfortable. The beautiful garden setting was an excellent site for pre-wedding photos and has given us some lovely memories. Thanks so much for being so accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thanks Rhonda. It was such a pleasure for us to have your family wedding group stay with us. One of our highlights so far!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Diane and Barry are such excellent hosts, incredibly accommodating to personal requirements (very much appreciated). They treat each guest as if they are family. By the time we left (we stayed two nights), we had an invitation to call in and see them whenever we are back in the area. Very comfortable rooms and separate living area for guests was very welcome. Breakfasts were divine (I don't remember when I ate that much at breakfast!) and I came away with a wonderful recipe for her home made muesli! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrysalis6nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thanks Chris...hope you are enjoying the muesli recipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Barry and Diane are great hosts and their B&B was an excellent choice for our stay while in Gore. The B&B is very conveniently located near town yet still quiet and peaceful. The breakfasts are excellent, as are the accommodations. Their warm hospitality extended well into the evening, and it was obvious they thoroughly enjoyed attending to their guests. No sooner had we left the South Island than we started our list of what we would do on our next visit, and we will be sure to include staying again with Barry and Diane. (Allan and Terry, California)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

It was great to have you stay with us Allan and Terry....will always remember our music nights with Cammo on guitar and Terry's beautiful singing voice. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gore hotels
1.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
2.6 mi away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#5 of 5 in Gore
23 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Reservation B & B
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Motels
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
44 reviews
1.1 mi away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 86A Wentworth Street | Southland, Gore, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gore
Price Range: £61 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wentworth Heights luxury Bed & Breakfast / Homestay accommodation located in Gore, Southland, New Zealand, is only 2 minutes drive from the Mataura River - offering some of the best dry fly wild brown trout fishing in the world.Our excellent location makes Wentworth Heights Bed & Breakfast an ideal stopover between Dunedin & Te Anau. Queenstown, Fiordland, Invercargill and the beautiful unspoilt Catlins are all within a 1-2 hour drive. Our B & B / Homestay, featuring spectacular views of surrounding farmland, Hokonui Hills, Mataura River and Gore township, is situated on a 12 acre farmlet, with a few cattle, sheep and pet lambs in springtime - as mentioned in 'Rough Guide'. Diane and Barry welcome you to enjoy genuine Southern hospitality, or to make your stay as private as you wish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing