We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B and Fly Fishing Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Gore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful B & B and Fly Fishing Experience”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Being salt water fishermen from Queensland, we chose Gore to experience Fly Fishing. When we arrived, Diane welcomed us and gave us all the info we needed for our stay and our fishing trip the next day. The B & B was spotless and there is a separate TV / lounge room for guests to sit back and enjoy some TV / reading / fishing stories. We had never fly fished, so Barry took us and gave us all the tools and instruction on how it is done. He was a wealth of knowledge and very patient and we had a great day. We would highly recommend this B & B and fly fishing experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks Ros, It was great having you both to stay and I know Barry enjoyed guiding you on your first fly fishing experience. Really appreciate your review. We strive to make our B&B a great place for fishermen to stay with a guide onsite. Lots of "stories" told in the guest lounge over a few drinks during the fishing season! We enjoy it as much as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
82
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
khancoban
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our second trip to this marvellous location. We stayed for another 2 weeks, mainly fishing, with Diane and Barry. I run out of superlatives when describing our stay here. It was my 70th Birthday when we were there and Diane put on a great party for myself and my wife, with other guests joining in. Thanks a million Di. Meanwhile fishing with Barry as a guide is a wonderful experience. His local knowledge helped catch fish where we wouldn't be able to. The homestead is set in beautiful surroundings and Diane and Barry made us feel we were part of the family. Breakfast is a smorgasbord of cereals, muesli and fresh fruit as well as a cooked brekky if you wish, followed by as much toast and local spreads as you can eat. My wading boots are still there for our next trip since it is too much of a hassle bringing them back to Oz. Diane and Barry are two of the loveliest people we have ever met and nothing is too much of a problem for them. Looking forward to our next trip. We cannot recommend this place highly enough. Stuart & Vicki.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Stuart and Vicki it was an absolute pleasure. As soon as we heard you wanted to spend your "special birthday" back in Gore we decided the birthday would be our treat and we enjoyed hosting the evening and sharing it with you. We hope you make it back for another fishing trip as we would welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inyokern, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Gore was recommended for fishing by a winery owner we had visited near Christchurch, I checked out TripAdvisor as I always do, this one was rated #1, and we agree totally for a B&B and for guided fly fishing. I usually don't rate it if it already represents the way we felt, but my husband wanted me to add these words: "Barry provided exceptional instruction and was very attentive throughout the day of fly fishing for me. He stood beside me the entire day spotting fish, changing line when required and generally providing good support and tips. The day was not one of the best weather wise (wind, sleet, rain), but the fishing was steady and yielded some fine results. He is clearly one of the best from my perspective." In my case, I needed a day off to re-arrange the rest of our vacation "holiday" online, and had the access I needed as well as help using their phone for local calls. It was a very pleasant and comfortable stay with a very nice couple (and nice Aussie visitors) with beautiful views out their windows all around, and lots of help with tips on our travels as needed. We hope they will come visit us in California to try fishing for Golden Trout (small but gorgeous) in our Sierra Nevada mountains!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Alice it was so nice to have you and Bob to stay. I was so impressed with your travel plans....you did it so well. Barry had a great day with Bob on the water. Sorry the weather wasn't kind!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alken, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at Wentworth Heights B&B in Gore for 1 night in February and it was just lovely. I have stayed there several times over the years (5 times since 2005) but it was a first for my girlfriend. We were allowed to drop off our luggage in the morning on the day of arrival which saved us from carrying it with us on a day trip to the Catlins (National Park). Diane & Barry made us feel so welcome it felt like coming home. We had a nice chat with a glass of wine and a beer in the evening and got to meet the other guests who were also very nice people.
The house and the rooms are just fantastic, everything so clean and comfortable. There is free unlimited broadband WiFi which works fine, also for Skype calls.
The next morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfast all together. Lots of fresh fruits and juices, cereal, freshly made coffee, tea, toast etc. Wentworth Heights B&B is a perfect place to stay for those who are into fishing, just a 5 minute drive from the famous Mataura river and many more fishing options close by. Barry is an experienced fishing guide who has lots of local knowledge and info and who can provide visiting anglers with everything they need from maps, licenses, fishing tackle, waders, homemade flies etc.
On top of that Wentworth Heights is a good home base for a visit to the Catlins National Park and it is even possible to make daytrips to Fiordland and Queenstown. It must be said, this is by far the best place we have stayed in New Zealand. Thanks Diane & Barry, we are already looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB-MUAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks so much Bert for your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to have you return to stay and this time was even more special as we got to meet your lovely girlfriend. You know the rivers around here as well as we do and it is great to always see you fish so well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We just loved our night at Wentworth Heights. Diane and Barrie are the most lovely welcoming couple. Barry, a passionate fisherman, does guided days and people come from all over the world just for this. They have many repeats and we can see why. Everything is done perfectly.
The rooms are comfortable and the view from the sitting room is wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Diana thank you so much. It was fantastic having you and your friends to stay with us and we enjoyed your company. It is always great for us to " see New Zealand through the eyes of a visitor" and it makes us appreciate what a beautiful country we live in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed with Barry and Diane on a recent business trip when attending the Southern Field Days at Waimumu. They were fantastic hosts - warm welcoming and friendly - great company.
The house was immaculate,very comfortable and in a beautiful setting. Diane's breakfasts were delicious and the perfect start to a long working day. Coming home was a treat and it was a real pleasure to chat with Barry and Diane at the end of the day.
I thoroughly recommend Wentworth Heights - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks Dave. We hope to see you back in 2 years time. You were a great team to have to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbury
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at Wentworth Heights on a personal recommendation and found it every bit as good as we were told. The views are stunning, the room was comfortable, everything was immaculate and the food was first class.

Barry and Diane are wonderful hosts and their attention to detail shames quality hotels we have stayed at - for example, when we went to bed there was a jug of water with a couple of slices of lemon in it waiting on the bedside table, a refinement we haven't enjoyed anywhere else.

Was anything wrong with our stay? Only the fact that it wasn't nearly long enough!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks so much Nicola. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we all enjoyed your company. We hope the rest of your trip went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gore hotels
1.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
2.8 mi away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
The Reservation B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.6 mi away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#4 of 5 in Gore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riverlea Motel
Riverlea Motel
#3 of 5 in Gore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast
Address: 86A Wentworth Street | Southland, Gore, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wentworth Heights luxury Bed & Breakfast / Homestay accommodation located in Gore, Southland, New Zealand, is only 2 minutes drive from the Mataura River - offering some of the best dry fly wild brown trout fishing in the world.Our excellent location makes Wentworth Heights Bed & Breakfast an ideal stopover between Dunedin & Te Anau. Queenstown, Fiordland, Invercargill and the beautiful unspoilt Catlins are all within a 1-2 hour drive. Our B & B / Homestay, featuring spectacular views of surrounding farmland, Hokonui Hills, Mataura River and Gore township, is situated on a 12 acre farmlet, with a few cattle, sheep and pet lambs in springtime - as mentioned in 'Rough Guide'. Diane and Barry welcome you to enjoy genuine Southern hospitality, or to make your stay as private as you wish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing