We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant stop along the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Gore B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Pleasant stop along the way”
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Gore one night between a visit to the Otago Peninsula and an overnight cruise in Doubtful Sound.  This allowed us to split the driving into two chunks of 2 hours rather than a four hour stretch on the morning of our cruise.  The one down side was that we chose to take an early tour of the Albatross colony in order to get to Gore early enough for dinner.  As a result, there was not much wind at that time and the Albatross were not flying.  Regardless, we arrived around 6:30pm and our hosts made us feel very welcome in their very nice modern home.  We had a little time before dinner, so our hosts recommended a walk about the Dolamore Park, which was a pleasant walk as we were all alone on the trail.   Late at night, we enjoyed a glass of wine outside as we watched the moonless southern sky, beautiful without the city lights.  The next morning, breakfast was good and plentiful.  I don't expect Gore gets much tourist destination traffic, but this was a nice stop along the way.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank le_nomade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
35
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JAPAN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We have visited Hokonui B&B for a part of our honeymoon. It was rather homestay than B&B, with very lovely host, modern and clean building with nice interior decorated by Shona and beautiful scenary from the living room. The time we have spent with Brian and Shona was unforgettable. We have chosen right place for our honeymoon! We got a brown trout and Shona cooked it for us for the breakfast and all four enjoyed together. It was really nice time. We definitely would like to visit them again.

Room Tip: We stayed Hokonui King room. All of the rooms including this room are really clean and modern. Def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugimine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schleswig, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Although we only stayed for one night we had lovely chats with Shona and Brian. We loved this hospitality most !!! Shona accompanied us for a little round of golf and Brian taught the family to play snooker in the evening. The whole family was sad to leave the next day, because everything was so perfect- the rooms, the view, and the HOSTS !!! Thought about prolonging our stay, but the driving from Gore to Christchurch would be too long for us. We will always remember Shona and Brian because we bought a snooker table after our holiday! And next time when we will come back we are better skilled to play !!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and have wonderful views !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schlueties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We've been lucky enough to stay in some great places, but none has ever prompted me to write an accommodation review before now.
We stumbled across Hokonui through the power of the internet on our way down from Queenstown at the end of March, booking a 2-night stay to rest up and re-pack on our travels. My husband, myself and our son had the wonderful room upstairs and, like many other reviewers, felt really adopted by Brian and Shona. We played snooker with the neighbours, admired the wine collection and wondered how we were going to try and get the bed back to the UK after very possibly the best sleep we'd had - EVER!
The hospitality, welcome and wealth of local knowledge made the stay all too short and we would recommended it to anyone. Hokonui means high point and it really was the high point in B&Bs. I don't know when we'll be back in New Zealand, but if we are; we'll be heading to Brian and Shona's.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings-on-Hudson, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We absolutely loved staying with Brian and Shona in their beautiful home just outside of Gore on the South Island. They were both so friendly and interesting it made us wish we could have spent more time with them. The accommodations are superb and the surrounding views are gorgeous. They even taught us how to play snooker! I look forward to sharing another glass of wine and many more stories with them in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights on a recent fishing trip in April and absolutely loved every second of it. Shona and Brian are fantastic hosts that will make sure your stay is thoroughly enjoyable. Brian even took me to a few of his favorite fishing hole and tried spotting fish for me. The weather was perfect and I was able to take in the stunning scenery in the morning and at night, was treated to fog filling up the valley beneath us like a pool of cloud. Definitely worth every penny. Will be back again. And oh yes, the breakfast and the dinner was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutzfactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

What a wonderful location, quiet and peaceful, and with stunning views this B&B is ticks all the boxes! Shona and Brian warmly welcome you into their home. Each room takes full advantage of the scenery, and has all the amenities for a homestay. Breakfast is taken with the other guests in the open-plan lounge, dining room kitchen area – and what a choice there is! Good home-cooked food from local produce.
Although no TV in the bedroom you are welcomed to watch with them in the lounge, Wifi is also available. Both Shona and Brian are minds of information about local places of interest, routes to take and what to see. Their recommendations for restaurants were spot on, but please bear in mind that there is not much to do in Gore on a Sunday evening!!!!
A great stay in a beautiful area, lovely hosts and a highly recommended homestay !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gore hotels
1.6 mi away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
1.6 mi away
The Reservation B & B
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#4 of 5 in Gore
23 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverlea Motel
Riverlea Motel
#3 of 5 in Gore
34 reviews
2.1 mi away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hokonui Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hokonui Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
Address: 258 Reaby Road | RD 4, Gore 9774, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hokonui Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing