We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We only wish we could have stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Gore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay with Brian and Shona. Their home is beautiful and we really got a feel for life in New Zealand. They were so very helpful with all our inquiries about the area and the country. Shona is a great cook! You must ask her to cook you dinner if you stay there. We felt like family in there home. We only wish we could have stayed longer. I hope we can visit again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dzoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2010

Brian & Shona McLennan have built a home that could be featured by any top magazine in the world. It is spectacular! It is spacious with several separate apartments within the home for guests. It is 5 STAR in every way!
We included dinner with our stay and Shona served us a magnificient evening meal. The homecooked breakfast featured many choices.
Gore seems to be a "secret" as we discovered the town, its amenities, and Hokonui Homestay to be beyond our expectations. We highly recommend this B&B to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvader1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

The Hokonui Bed & Breakfast is a large modern home with privacy and very warm and friendly hosts Shona and Brian. The location is amazing as the property is on the edge of town with views across the valley. Our hosts went out of their way of help us enjoy every minute we spent in Gore. Brian spent hours taking us fly fishing as well as showing us his sheep dogs working. They also have horses so it was fun feeding them too. Shona made sure that by the time we ate breakfast, we would not be hungry for lunch! with lots of options to suit our dietary needs. They served us wine from their well stocked cellar and seem to really enjoy spending time with guests. We felt like family...

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonNL31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShonaGore, Owner at Hokonui Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gore hotels
1.6 mi away
The Reservation B & B
1.6 mi away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
2.7 mi away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#4 of 5 in Gore
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Esplanade Motels
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
47 reviews
2.1 mi away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
2.2 mi away
Riverlea Motel
Riverlea Motel
#3 of 5 in Gore
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hokonui Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hokonui Bed and Breakfast

Address: 258 Reaby Road | Rd 4, Gore 9774, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gore
Price Range: £62 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hokonui Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing