We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rural Idyll” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hokonui Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Gore B&B and Inns
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Rural Idyll”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Only booked for one night including an evening meal.
This was probably one of the best B&B's we have stayed at.
Fantastic views over open country. Fantastic hosts with a wealth of Knowledge to help you with your holiday.
We chose to have an evening meal as part of our stay, and enjoyed a wonderful evenings hospitality with Brian and Shona.
Food and room were excellent. If you happen to have any farming connections Brian as a retired farmer is an excellent contact.
No hesitation in recommending Hokonui as a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeNorthumberlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

Ten minutes drive from Gore in beautiful Southland is the Hokonui B&B. It is easy to find and well worth the visit. We were greeted on the way in by the sheep with their newly born lambs - now that's a touch of New Zealand, and were met at the door by Shona and Brian. Their welcome was very warm and their home is a treat. The B&B is situated on the north facing side of a hill with a view to behold of the Hokonui Hills and the surrounding plains. This is rural New Zealand at its best. This B&B is very quiet and our room was very spacious with a great bed with a lounge area. The breakfast was a mix of locally produced fruit and cooked fare and was excellent. We had breakfast with Shona and Brian and we all had a pleasant chat about the good things in life. They were interested in us. We stayed two nights and enjoyed every bit of it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye12NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

Lovely Hosts who made us feel at home and welcome.

Amazing views out over farm land

yes this is a great choice one night was not long enough!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Double Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

We booked with Shona and Brian for only one night and wish we could have stayed longer to get to know them better. So friendly and accommodating that we longed to spend more time at their beautiful home. The house is spectacular with beautiful views across the South Island countryside. Our room was spacious, well furnished and very comfortable. Shona's breakfast was a masterpiece and more than fortified us to continue our travel. Again, had we known of the beauty of the area, the interesting aspects of nearby Gore and the welcome that awaited us, we would have spent more time at this lovely place!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teds300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay with Brian and Shona. Their home is beautiful and we really got a feel for life in New Zealand. They were so very helpful with all our inquiries about the area and the country. Shona is a great cook! You must ask her to cook you dinner if you stay there. We felt like family in there home. We only wish we could have stayed longer. I hope we can visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dzoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

Brian & Shona McLennan have built a home that could be featured by any top magazine in the world. It is spectacular! It is spacious with several separate apartments within the home for guests. It is 5 STAR in every way!
We included dinner with our stay and Shona served us a magnificient evening meal. The homecooked breakfast featured many choices.
Gore seems to be a "secret" as we discovered the town, its amenities, and Hokonui Homestay to be beyond our expectations. We highly recommend this B&B to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dvader1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

The Hokonui Bed & Breakfast is a large modern home with privacy and very warm and friendly hosts Shona and Brian. The location is amazing as the property is on the edge of town with views across the valley. Our hosts went out of their way of help us enjoy every minute we spent in Gore. Brian spent hours taking us fly fishing as well as showing us his sheep dogs working. They also have horses so it was fun feeding them too. Shona made sure that by the time we ate breakfast, we would not be hungry for lunch! with lots of options to suit our dietary needs. They served us wine from their well stocked cellar and seem to really enjoy spending time with guests. We felt like family...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gore hotels
1.6 mi away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
1.6 mi away
The Reservation B & B
2.8 mi away
Esplanade Motels
Esplanade Motels
#1 of 5 in Gore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#4 of 5 in Gore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverlea Motel
Riverlea Motel
#3 of 5 in Gore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hokonui Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hokonui Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
Address: 258 Reaby Road | RD 4, Gore 9774, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hokonui Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing