We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for that Special Occasion when in Gore” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thomas Green

The Thomas Green
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Gore
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just opened in December 2011
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for that Special Occasion when in Gore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Excellent decor and food is very well presented. Its great to see such a quality restaurant in GORE and the food is of a consistently a high standard. Its our fourth meal there and we will be back. As good as any restaurants in the big smoke !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    58
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Swanky Establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

After just been to Italy and out to dinner in a few establishments in Wellington for my husband work I was very impressed and surprised to find this trendy restaurant in Gore which by far surpassed the fore mentioned . Visiting Gore with adult family members we were treated to a large fire on a very cold day. The entrees were generous in size and for $15 was a cheap alternative to a main. I loved my entrée of lamb filo parcel. The deserts were classy and delicious . All up there was great service , atmosphere and the building was modern and funky. I would feel like a princess just to be taken there for a cocktail. Lots of party groups there celebrating birthdays on the night we went.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic experience all round, would recommend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Adult meals were fantastic and the kids meals were also quality. Would love to come back again and again.
Thanks for the meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MTDorloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balclutha
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Balclutha group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely meal, couldn't fault it and the service was great. Décor is of a very high standard. Desserts were to die for and the mains of a very high standard. Small details like having an egg timer to gauge how long to let your pot of tea draw for - lovely touch

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Swanky Genteel Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Wow class has arrived in Gore. Last visit the food, service was great but food did take awhile to deliver to our large group. New management do seem to have better idea of direction. Venue is a delight and very impressive quality. Mrs Gray has done an awesome job with décor. Value is on the higher end but now Gore has better segregation of client markets. Would for sure recommend. Fourth time visiting and now just needs to show consistency and word of mouth will ramp up again positively.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlenlethnotFarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thomas Green also viewed

Gore, Southland Region
Gore, Southland Region
 

Been to The Thomas Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing