We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We come back every year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Croydon
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gore
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We come back every year”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I bring a tour of people from Tauranga every year to attend & participate in the NZ Gold Guitar Awards over Queens Birthday weekend. Mathew & his team offer friendly hospitality & we enjoy the meals in the restaurant as well as the convenience of the bar meals. The rooms are clean, tidy and importantly at that time of the year warm. I really appreciate the service they offer to me as tour leader. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Sharon,
Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to you and your group coming back each year, you are so much fun.
See upi next year

Mathew Brettell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    38
    18
    10
    2
See reviews for
20
19
3
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night 10 May as we were in Gore to watch our daughterand her husband compete in a dancing comp.
First impressions were great very nice modern reception area , friendly and helpful receiption staff and a vey nice looking dinning area.Our room was in need of spruce up ,tided and dated but very clean as was the bathroom with an older style shower with plenty of hot water.My wife is very particular about clean bathrooms and was pleasantly surprised. Nice touch was our daughter / husband were also staying there they had put up a do not disturb sign on the door at the time room service was being done staff left at door fresh towels and toiletries etc.Would we stay again - Yes we would.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MikeGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi Mike global,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, it is important we get feedback from our guests and it is always nice when the feedback is positive.
I hear the festival of Dance was a great success and hope to see you again next year if not before.

All the Best

Mathew Brettell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

From the start my son and I were warmly welcomed to the hotel by those at reception. Staff were very helpful and went out of their way to ensure we were alright. This was especially true of the duty manager, Michelle. It was excellent value for money and breakfast of eggs benedict was absolutely delicious. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibbledot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Skibbledot,
Thankyou for taking the time to review the hotel I will pass your comments onto Michelle, she is an asset to the hotel.
We look forward to you staying with us in the future.

Warmest Regards

Mathew Brettell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A great place to stay, very friendly staff and great food, rooms and rates. We will certainly recommend to others. Nothing was a problem to the staff and the meal we had was excellent, a very friendly atmosphere and very quiet at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpstewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi JpStewy,
Thanks for your positive feedback, I will pass this onto the staff.
We look forward to you coming back and enjoying our Southern Hospitality.

Kind regards

Mathew Brettell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I was very impressed on entering the Heartland Hotel. It had recently been modernised and the staff were very attentive and very informative. I was given the key to our room which by comparison was very "ordinary". When we went over for our evening meal we were a little embarrassed by the length of time we were kept waiting to be shown to our table. We ordered our meal (a rack of lamb which was not a 'rack') and mine was delivered to me mostly raw. To top it off our table was decorated with a bunch of very dead flowers. We were very disappointed with our stay there and unlikely to return. It's a great shame as the initial appearance of the place is impressive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Jeanne W,
That is a shame you didn't enjoy your time at the hotel and I must apologise for any inconvenience caused.
I can assure you I will be showing the staff this review so that we can improve.
The lamb is cooked as a rack and then sliced for easier eating for our guests.
We have also now switched to candles as the flowers from our garden aren't in the best of shape.

Warm Regards

Mathew Brettell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I really enjoy staying in Heartland Gore.Very friendly ,professional staff.Great value for money.location is good,on the highway to Queenstown.Very quiet place,spotless.The most amazing people,staff were extremely helpful and very professional.Strongly recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 37Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review us and also thank you for being so nice.
We really focus on great customer serice and I know we have done our job when we recieve positive reviews from people like yourself.

All the best

Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Best hotel in town.
Very good service clean and tidy rooms. Best thing was the restaurant which was excellent. I had a great meal of bluff oysters and rib eye steak topped off with apple cider and nice service.
This was my Second stay here for business and I'll be happy to come back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank shane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi Shane 1,
Thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate your positive feedback.
All the best
Heartland Hotel Croydon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gore hotels
0.9 mi away
Riverlea Motel
Riverlea Motel
#3 of 5 in Gore
34 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
44 reviews
2.1 mi away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#4 of 5 in Gore
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Reservation B & B
1.6 mi away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Croydon

Property: Heartland Hotel Croydon
Address: 100 Waimea Street | Croydon, Gore 9776, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Croydon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heartland Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing