We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No service ”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Howl At The Moon

Howl At The Moon
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Gore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No service ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Too busy, told to find our selves a table then no one bothered to serve us. Looked at us but just kept walking pass. Ended up leaving after sitting there for 20mins without having our orders taken or being acknowledge. Do not recommend going there!

Helpful?
3 Thank Shangmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    51
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pork ribs!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Went to the moon for a family meal. 3 of us got the pork ribs. Which were very good, nicely grilled and with a tasty BBQ sauce. Kumara wedges on the side were a nice change too. Good service and a friendly atmosphere. Child friendly too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanfromDNNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great value, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My restaurant of choice in Gore, rare to get a bad experience, great service, well cooked and presented food. Bread and spreads great, but garlic flat bread a bit greasy.

Must check out are the soups, especially the mushroom is fantastic.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have had many meals at Howl at the Moon and I like their food. Only once out of perhaps 80 times have I not been happy and it was only because it had peanuts in the Thai Beef Salad and peanuts don't agree with me.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S0uthernSeni0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inyokern, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, Great Value for "Light" Main Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Had delicious large salmon portion with very tasty sauce on noodles, yum! Ambiance was nice, seems to cater to younger crowd mostly but we as seniors felt very much at home in this upscale bar with dining including large TV screen entertainment while waiting for dinner to be served

Helpful?
Thank alicerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howl At The Moon also viewed

Gore, Southland Region
Gore, Southland Region
 

Been to Howl At The Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing