We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More consistency would be great”
Review of Amadudu Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amadudu Guesthouse
Ranked #17 of 20 Harrismith B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The owners try really hard to make the experience nice. At least the first night. Since I said I wanted to surprise my partner, they organised a welcome with bubbly, chocolate and roses (they only mentioned the rather high price two days later). After that the stay had been marked by the sound of trucks passing on the N3, a cold omelette for breakfast, ants and cockroaches in our room. Not a place I would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paseka_CPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

We slept over to shorten our trip back to Gauteng from the coast. The service wasn't very good at all. A cleaning lady was the only person on duty when we arrived. She had to phone the owner (at work) because she didn't know about our reservation. The room we got was not what we booked - on their website they advertise it like a family suite, but it is really a single open plan space containing a kitchen, double / queen bed, and a very uncomfortable sleeper couch. They don't have credit card facilities, so I arranged to make an EFT payment once we got back in Gauteng.

To be fair, I'm not sure if you're going to get better accommodation in Harrismith, but I will not stay there again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Desiree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This was a very strange experience! We arrived at a house with a 'For Sale' sign outside, in an 'ok' suburb, and no one answered the gate bell. We only had the booking agent phone number, but it was after 5pm, so no luck there! Luckily we had phone access to the internet where we got a local contact number. When we called, we were bemused by the person's reaction - no apology or hurry - just that he'd be there soon. When he came, we found we were the only people around... it was eerie and weird. We had the converted garage - the self-catering big room others speak of. The house itself was locked up, so we couldn't make use of the lounge area. The room was certainly adequate with touches of nice decor but lacking some basics. The next morning we actually had a really nice breakfast - the owner, who was very pleasant, had arrived with supplies to cook for us. It was definitely creepy staying in a deserted place! To sum up, we won't be back, and I'd be cautious about booking a place with a 'For Sale' sign and no resident manager. As for Harrismith itself - we asked about restaurants, and resignedly ate dinner at an N3 highway 1-Stop where they had an Ocean Basket. Apparently, this is as good as it gets in this town, judging by the number of locals there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

It is difficult to believe the other reviewers stayed at the same guest house. Perhaps our mistake was in selecting the self-catering apartment, which was the same price as the guest house rooms. As another reviewer suggested, the owners do not live on-site and apart from attending to let us in on the Saturday afternoon and process the payment of the balance, we never saw them or any other staff until we left on Monday morning, when we gave the maid the keys. The self-catering apartment is a converted garage/maid's room with a combined 'kitchen/bedroom' and a 'dressing room' with sofa, old wardrobe and dressing table, also containing a minuscule shower 'room' and separate loo. There was a large crack over the entrance door through which you could see daylight (see photo) and a matching one over the window on the opposite wall. The booking included breakfast, which was provided on a diy basis. Plenty of food and although unexpected, the arrangement suited us as we wanted to get out early on both days. However, the pans provided were old and dirty, so we resorted to making scrambled eggs in the wok (a new experience!).The safe was tiny and the door to the apartment could have been opened with a screwdrive. The only place in SA where we did not feel completely safe.

All in all the place looks neglected and we noticed that it is for sale, so it seems the owners have lost interest.

Harrismith itself is a one-horse town with many potholes in the main and suburban streets. Having said that it is surrounded by glorious scenery in the Royal Natal NP if you can stand the hair-raising drive along the R74 (roadworks abandoned, potholes and every man for himself)!

Room Tip: Don't choose the apartment!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 247beejay19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

It seems the house is just for guests (the owner don't leave there) and it needs some maintenance work. What it's important to know is that the rooms are clean and the breakfast is good. In my opinion the price is high if compared to what is offered.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mper60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We chose Harrismith as our first stop after landing at Jo-Berg. It is driveable distance to some amazing scenery - Giant's Castle, Golden Gate, Mont Aux Sources, etc.

This guest house is lovely. It is in a quiet and safe location off of the N3. Our room was big, clean and well decorated. The bathroom (clean and large) had a huge bath-tub which was delightful after a long journey.

The food in the area, should you want dinner, is a grouping of chain restaurants which was very busy but served it's purpose - about a 10 minute drive from the guest house.

Breakfast was AMAZING!! the fresh fruit / muesli yogurt was delicious and then followed by huge muffins and an absolutely fantastic hot plate of eggs, local sausage, bacon... and a creamy mushroom creation. Enough to keep anyone going for weeks!!

The proprietors (Val and his wife) were friendly and very accomodating - although they don't stay at the property but are there pretty much all the time.

A little gem if you have the opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank ComChick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Decent rooms – spacious and clean - Family atmosphere - A good choice in an area with only limited options in overnight accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crechat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrismith hotels
17.0 mi away
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
17.9 mi away
Wild Horses Lodge
Wild Horses Lodge
#1 of 9 in Harrismith
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverview Country Inn
Riverview Country Inn
#8 of 20 in Harrismith
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Mount Everest Game Farm
Mount Everest Game Farm
#3 of 9 in Harrismith
157 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Harrismith
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amadudu Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadudu Guesthouse

Address: 1 Bosbok Avenue | P O Box 934, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Harrismith
Price Range: £38 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amadudu Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room 1: This is a 2 room unit with kitchen, bedroom with double bed and separate room that serves as a dressing room and second bedroom with sleeper couch. There is a private front entrance, carport in front of room and rear entrance to garden and braai area. Room 2: This room features a double bed, dedicated private bathroom (which means that your bathroom is not en-suite, but you do not share it with anybody else but yourself). We offer luxurious bathrobes in this room. Room 3: This room has a lovely view of Platberg mountain, a queen size bed and open en-suite bathroom with romantic Victorian bath. No shower. Room 4: An open plan room with kitchen, dining nook for enjoying meals, comfortable sleeper couch for families and queen size bed. There is a shower in the en-suite bathroom and a private entrance from private carport parking and rear entrance to garden and braai area. Room 5: A very spacious room with extra length, king size bed, lots of cupboard space and private entrance to garden. The en-suite bathroom is equipped with a shower. Room 6: Honeymoon Room: Our most luxurious and romantic room, this room is our honeymoon nest.It is very spacious and has a queen size bed, flat screen television and romantic bathroom. The bathroom boasts a jet bath and multi nozzle shower. There is a double adjoining door to room 7 for families or groups. Room 7: Beautifully decorated and it has private entrance, with adjoining door to room 6. The bathroom has a shower. Our property is fully walled and entrance is provided by electric gates. We have safe carport parking inside the walls and a laser activated alarm system to keep your wheels safe. Braai facilities are available in our garden as well as tranquil spaces to breathe our clean mountain air. Our self-catering units are equipped with microwave, 2 plate stove and oven, cooking and eating utensils and larger refrigerator, comfortable sleeper couches for families or groups, as well as private entrance to rooms, carport parking in front of rooms and rear exit to braai facilities and back garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amadudu Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing