We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Tired Travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose
Ranked #4 of 20 Harrismith B&B and Inns
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Ideal for Tired Travellers”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel is about 16 kms outside Harrismith heading towards Durban. It's clean, functional and safe with very competent management. The downside is that you need to check in andthen go out again to eat at the motorway services (although they will also 'room service' you from the same services.) Mugg and Bean closes at 18h00 so you are stuck with the usual fish 'n' chips,; KFC options that are available at most services.

The manager is incredibly helpful - he recommended a local pub which had the benefit of being on the Swinburne slip road off the N3 (so no more motorway driving) and offered good food.

The bathroom door in my bedroom was slightly bizarre - it was a full sized door that only slid back far enough to open half the width of the total door space. I had to turn sideways to enter the bathroom. I'm not quite sure whether it was the stop at the end of the track or too large a door being fitted but it was a little strange.

Rooms are are beautifully quiet despite the motorway being outside.

Room Tip: Montrose food services after 1800 are decidedly limited. If you are arriving after that time, either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PookeyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We do our best to offer a convienient and safe location for weary travellers to stop and relax. We try to offer the best advice to travellers when it comes to meal requirements while still being able to offer the service. I am gratified that you found our service to your liking and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    19
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
20
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kroonstad
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Driving at night between the Highveld and the Kwazulu Natal coast can be tiring, the solution is to stop +- halfway and sleep at the Montrose Protea hotel. The Montrose provides a clean room, nice shower - nothing more, nothing less. The advantage of sleeping over is that you have a refreshed, early start next morning with ample time to explore the Midlands Meander.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooihoogte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our property . I am happy to hear that your stay with us gave you the time to explore our beautiful area unrushed and relaxed. Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I want to thank the manager for his professionalism and attention to detail. He went out of his way to accommodate us and our baby on very short notice. Everything was done to make us, and especially our baby feel comfortable. On our return trip from te Coast he could still remember our names and prepared a room with all the comforts for baby in advance. Really a brilliant hotel with brilliant manager and staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review here. We are always happy to be of service. Traveling with a child can be quite taxing so anything we can do to assist we will. Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel to break up the trip between Johannesburg and Durban. For what it is, the hotel offers comfortable accommodation but the proximity to the national freeway is both a blessing and a curse as you are able to resume your trip quickly but on the flip side, thoughtless truckers tend to blow their hooters when passing so forget about a lazy, slow start to the day. As for service, James is worth mentioning for his can-do attitude.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KemmyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We travel regularly between KZN and Gauteng.
We have a four yr old daughter and driving to JHB is sometimes just a bit too much especially when there is a lot of traffic and roadworks.

On a few occasions we decided now to stay over here at Protea Hotel Montrose. Something more like a Motel than a Hotel. Rooms are Medium to Large and reasonably quiet. Not a large contingent of staff, but most importantly, the staff in all departments are well trained, helpful and are always ready to assist. All in all, very good value for money.

The ONLY downside of the hotel - no restaurant or room service! (SOMETHING TO CONSIDER)
The House of Coffees made way for the New Mugg & Bean and there are also Other restaurants / Take always close by.

Also try the "Village Pub" about 3km away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BiggyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welkom, Freestate
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The Hotel offered an ideal overnight stop over when we were travelling from Welkom to the KZN South Coast town of Margate. The facilities are modern, clean and comfortable. The Hotel itself has no dining facilities but there is a wide choice of restaurants and coffee-shops at the adjoining service station. Most restaurants offer a delivery service to the hotel so a light meal was easily arranged with the friendly receptionist and quickly delivered to our room at no extra charge. On-line bookings are recommended and are considerably cheaper than walk-in reservations. A most enjoyable overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
I would like to thank you for the lovely, positive review of our property. I am truly gratified that you found us to be friendly and comfortable. We hpope that the rest of your trip was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Protea Montrose is not actually located in Harrismith but just near Swinburne further south on the N4. The hotel is clean, but has no dining faciilities itself, relying on the Steers, Mugg & Bean, and Shell garage at the adjoining services. there is also a lovely little coffee house which we almost missed out on as it looks so unassuming, yet here they serve better food than the fast food varieties available at the service station. There is a bar, and the log fire was going which made a quiet Sunday evening all the more relaxing.
The service is good, it is just a shame that this hotel doesn't have more to offer with its location and dining options.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivechickLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. With regards to showers, I would like to point out that the majority of our rooms are equipped with showers, and only 4 of our rooms have baths. Dependant on the requirements of the GUEST or the occupancy of the hotel, we will generally place people into the rooms with showers as a norm.
The house of Coffee's does offer a wonderfully varied menu and they work hard to ensure that all products are fresh. As do all of the outlets operating on the property.
I trust that the remainder of your trip was enjoyable and uneventful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
0.6 mi away
De Oude Huize Yard
De Oude Huize Yard
#1 of 20 in Harrismith
242 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sir Harry's Lodge
Sir Harry's Lodge
#13 of 20 in Harrismith
4 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mount Everest Game Farm
Mount Everest Game Farm
#3 of 9 in Harrismith
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
16.7 mi away
Green Lantern Inn
Green Lantern Inn
#2 of 5 in Van Reenen
98 reviews
16.0 mi away
Oaklands Country Manor
Oaklands Country Manor
#1 of 5 in Van Reenen
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose
Address: N 3 Swinburne | Private Bag X3017, Harrismith 9880, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Harrismith Montrose)
Region: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Harrismith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose - Rest. Explore. Enjoy. Ideally located halfway between Johannesburg and Durban, Protea Hotel Montrose offers GUESTS a brand new accommodation choice in the Free State. For years the adjacent Montrose Complex has served as the perfect midway stop to meet, fill up, eat, shop, explore and to rest as well. Make yourself comfortable, all rooms are elegantly furnished, carpeted and en-suite, with air-conditioning and satellite TV. Facilities include a bar, lounge and WI-FI internet access, with room service meals from a variety of restaurants and fast-food outlets in the village. A 24-hour convenience store and petrol station will ensure your trip continues safely. Various leisure activities are available in the area. Indulge in open air hobbies like birding, biking, 4x4, hiking and rock climbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing