We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet place an easy drive from Joburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet place an easy drive from Joburg”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Qwantani is a lovely place with your standard timeshare facilities. The chalets are neat and clean and are services daily. All chalets have great views and are situated on the slope of the hill. The have a camp cot for babies - it is older and smallish but does the job nicely and has a proper mattress (probably not suitable for bigger children). The reception staff were very friendly. The adventure golf is great and there are organised activities that you can join every day. The squash courts are fine but not sports club standard. It's our 3rd time there and we still love it. There are more facilities than our last time there many years ago. The swimming pool looks great but it was too cold to swim. Two trampolines and a jungle gym help with kids energy levels ad there are board games and puzzles available. The onsite shop is well stocked.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroBomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QwantaniManagement, General Manager at Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Good Day CaroBomb,
Thank you for the Visit and your In Depth review of our lovely property. I am pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your stay on Qwantani. We look forward to hosting you in the near Future.
Happy Holidays...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    48
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
80
16
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

From the drive into Qwantani you are greeted with out of this world views of the surrounding mountain ranges. We stayed at Qwantani for 3 days and really enjoyed every bit of it. The units are spacious, clean and well maintained and the restaurant food was great.The true beauty of this resort lies in the Sterkfontein Dam which is breathtaking! The resort offers a panorama walk which allows for great photography of the area and you are guaranteed to see Eland on this walk.
Gerhard, Natasja and their team have done a great job with this resort. Thank you for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirtualAccommodation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QwantaniManagement, Manager at Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. That for the nice photos and 360's. Hope to see you soon.
QwantaniManagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a week of filled with fun and laughter, and just sitting it out waiting for the fish to bite. Eventually after two days of waiting they bit. The Sterkfontein dam is apparantly the second largest fresh water dam in Africa and what a beautiful site and lovely ferry ride. I agree with Mark L...the worst road leading to the dam - about 20kms. perhaps that's one reason to keep you on the resort :). The accomodation was brilliant and the service really excellent. One of the few resorts that provide you tea, coffee, and HOT CHOCOLATE gratis. Then you can meet the manager and other residents on a saturday for coffee and scones - gratis and to share stories. What a lovely idea. This getaway is for relaxation. The onsite spa is a must. i emjoyed my massage and facial and the ladies can really pamper! The evening fires is a must - just feel spoiled.

Room Tip: Springbok cottage near to reception, shop, pools, restaurant and dam. All Units vry well spaced and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salosony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QwantaniManagement, Manager at Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We are happy that we could make your stay memorable and relaxing. Hope to see you soon. QwantaniManagement...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We had a week of tennis, horse riding, hiking through some of the most beautiful mountains, boat rides. Spa treatments were great very professional. The accommodation is a little 80's maybe 90 'a but very comfortable and warm. My only bug is that 40min drive down the worst road in the world, had to take it easy even in a 4x4.

Maybe a word of warning, planned events booked at reception start on African time, so don't rush.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QwantaniManagement, Manager at Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Mark L, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon. We have done somewhat of the road. Hope we could be halfway in the next month or two. See you soon, QwantaniManagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Qwantani berg and bush is situated on the most beautiful Sterkfontein dam, surrounded with magnificent views, lots for the children to do and an exquisite place to relax. Children have had great fun. The first day we spent on the dam with our canoe, and the children took their lilos from home which was a great idea. April /May is a magnificent time as the mornings are fresh, and the evenings cool but the most beautiful sunny, warm days, the hotel staff organize gatherings in the evenings if you want to socialize. We so enjoyed having dinner as a family at our little house. The accommodation is very nice, crisp white sheets with thick fluffy blankets on all the beds. The decoder is lovely. Most mornings we were visited by a horse or an ostrich. We are sad to be going home today, and would love to return again soon.

Room Tip: Select a room with a view of the dam
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QwantaniManagement, Manager at Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Michelle J, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Qwantani Resort. Hope to see you soon. Happy travels... QwantaniManagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodepoort, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We've returned time and time again to this fantastic resort. The chalets are well kept and maintained. There are horses and ostriches that roam freely. The hikes are so panoramic and wonderful. The water in the Sterkfontein Dam is clear and blue. The activities they provide range from kids to adult. Horse riding etc... Farm animals.

The only thing is that I would recommend using a 4x4 or a car with high road clearance to get to the place as you travel for 21kms on a very badly maintained road from the main road. It has plenty of potholes and is only wide enough for one car.

Other than that, the place is stunning and very scenic

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QwantaniManagement, Manager at Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Allan S, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Qwantani Resort. Hope to see you soon.
Regards and happy travels... QwantaniManagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

The setting overlooking the reservoir and sandstone formations on the fringe of the geological formation known as the Clarens a Formation is breathtaking. The road leading to the Resort certainly needs some serious maintenance.

The amenities at the resort cater for all ages and cannot be faulted but the chalets are a bit tied and need refurbishment. A fantastic boma is opened at least twice a week for spectacular barbecues, a super swimming pool, minin golf, walks and tennis courts are available to residents.

As a fly fisherman I was blown away by what the dam has to offer by way of Flyfishing and I would recommend this location to anyone, world wide who would wish to sight fish to an amazing species of indigenous fish. Access to a boat is Essential to fully enjoy what this location has to offer during the warm water summer months. The water in the reservoir is crystal clear. The indigenous Yellow Fish are feisty and offer a fight second to none. Fishing dry fly's such as ants, beetles etc are the order of the day and if you are a first time visitor would consider a fishing guide essential. Enjoy!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QwantaniManagement, Manager at Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Ronald D, Hope to see you again in the Summer. Fishing had really been good this year. Fly fishing in Sterkfontein is really becoming the prime site fishing destination in Africa. We have done some work work since the beginning of the year and I am sure that guests are enjoying all the uplifting changes. See you soon... QwantaniManagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
11.9 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
230 reviews
10.9 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
459 reviews
24.4 mi away
Mount Everest Game Farm
Mount Everest Game Farm
#3 of 9 in Harrismith
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Midlands Saddle & Trout Resort
1.1 mi away
Wild Horses Lodge
Wild Horses Lodge
#1 of 9 in Harrismith
149 reviews
24.1 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 31 in Clarens
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort

Property: Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
Address: P.O Box 980, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Harrismith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Sterkfontein Dam, 43km from Harrismith, Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort has 53 luxury self-catering chalets. Onsite conferencing and wedding facilities are available and many clients return time and time again to make use of this superb venue. The Martial Eagle Restaurant provides home-style meals, banqueting, sumptuous buffets and regular specials. There is a daily entertainment programme to amuse the whole family as well as fishing, horse-riding, barge cruises, adventure golf and a swimming pool. Qwantani is perfect for those looking to relax amidst breathtaking scenery, isolated from the hustle and bustle of suburbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing