We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Wild Horses Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wild Horses Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Had an awesome 3 days at Wild Horses and could not have asked for a better way to kick start our tour! The views were breath taking, the staff were lovely and the activities which they offer are outstanding! The food was also gorgeous, the chef was so nice & welcomed personal requests! The rooms and the scenery were fabulous, we did not want to leave! The Ireland team will definitely be planning another visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe186430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

Great stay, the "recipe" seems to be to have the guests form part of the hospitality team, in no way uncomfortably so. The food was incredible, surprises every time. Loved the lodge in its own right but the location takes it to another level. The owners visited while we were there, the standards, the constant improvements, the customer focus clearly matter to them and are well delivered through Thelma, their chef, all their support staff

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Superbly located, wonderful wildlife, astonishingly good food, lovely staff... the sort of place you almost don't want to tell people about as it is so very, very special. It is the perfect place for people who love the outdoors: walking, riding, sailing, boat trips. Cannot think of even the tiniest hint of criticism or adverse comment.

Room Tip: The four guest rooms are in an attached annexe. Two have astounding views over the lake primarily, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oddspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The lodge has a wonderful setting looking over the Sterkfontein Dam and the hills beyond. The lodge was designed by the owner and is quirky and unique. There are plenty of outdoor areas to enjoy but be prepared for steps. Our room was rather cluttered but very comfortable especially the huge bed. The en-suite bathroom nicely designed with fluffy towels. Food is exceptional. The chef is newly appointed and menus are innovative and delicious. There is a lovely bar and plenty of choice with good South African wines. Wifi is free and reception good for such a remote lodge. Directions are easy to follow but the journey to the lodge means gravel roads (good) and a narrow 11 kms. of paved road full of potholes.
There is plenty to do at the lodge. The owner will take you out in his boat on to the dam and take you riding on his own horses. Hiking is also possible and you could uses the lodge as a base for exploring other villages or even Lesotho. The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. There are four rooms and the lodge is a mini luxury hotel.

Room Tip: I think all four rooms have views of the dam but make sure when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicelincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is quite possibly the best place to stay in South Africa!
We spent three amazing days at Wild Horses and could have easily made it three weeks!!
Our hosts were fantastic and the staff were absolutely brilliant
We weren't the average guests being in a group of eight, but the staff went above and beyond to make our stay perfect for us
We have highly recommended to all our other team members who tour South Africa to book in at Wild Horses, and I look forward to staying there again soon

Room Tip: The view from the Zebra room is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOKelly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We had a wonderful three days at Wild Horses, which was too short.The nature reserve is amazing. We did very nice hikes.
The food, wine and atmosphere at Wild Horses were perfect.
We will certainly come again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We have just spent five wonderful days at Wild Horses. The natural beauty of Wild Horses coupled with the excellent hospitality made our stay really memorable. Our hosts and all their staff went out of their way to provide the most excellent food and comfortable and relaxing environment. Our first approach along the 16 approx. km unmade road had us wondering whether we had made a good decision to come here, the answer was most emphatically a resounding YES!

Room Tip: View across lake was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charleskydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
9.7 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
25.3 mi away
Mount Everest Game Farm
Mount Everest Game Farm
#3 of 9 in Harrismith
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
324 reviews
22.7 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#2 of 33 in Clarens
234 reviews
10.3 mi away
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Phuthaditjhaba
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Horses Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Horses Lodge

Address: Sterkfontein Dam, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Harrismith
Price Range: £193 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wild Horses Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Eastern Free State's pristine Sterkfontein Nature Reserve at the foothills of the Drakensberg Escarpment, Wild Horses Lodge is the perfect location for an African breakaway. With its panoramic views of the majestic Platberg Mountain and the vast Sterkfontein Dam, the Lodge is a masterpiece of architectural design in local sandstone and offers luxury accommodation, exquisite cuisine and a variety of activities centred around the dam and the abundant wildlife of the reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Wild Horses Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing