We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Le dauphin bleu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ankify Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambanja
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ankify Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ambanja
Gland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Le dauphin bleu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

During our tour in northern Madagascar, we were able to stay at Ankify Lodge. This place is very nice and the view on to the bay is a dream. Dolphins were swimming near the shore. Management is very helpful and price/quality is best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duetsch A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    32
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
29
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Founex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were only for a night and we loved the place!
Warm welcome big room in bungelaw with huge bathroom, very clean and cosy. The nicest was the vieuw on the balcony...and out of our enormous bed, the deepblue see!
Our meal at night was nice, and the service very good! We had a hard time to leave this nice place in the morning by boat to Hellville and to Nosy Be!

Room Tip: Take a day more to enjoy the nice garden and quiet place!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilFounex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnievale, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

The view of the room is good but the service and rest is poor I think this place food and excursion at this place is the most expensive I pay in madacascar and it was not good You can not sleep at night because it hot and they put the electricity off at 23:00 then there is no fan.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

This hotel isn't situated in Ambanja but in Ankify which is a half an hour taxi ride away from Ambanja. The rooms are bunglows which are spacious and clean with an en suite shower and toilet and balcony which over looks the sea and Nosy Komba. The double beds are massive with mosquito nets. The hotel has a very nice restaurant which is on an open terrence over looking the sea. The food is limited but very nice. The food is also quite expensive (on malagasy standards) and breakfast isn't included in the price of the room which is also expensive. The hotel owns its own beach and can offer a jet boat service for you to Nosy Be or Nosy Komba.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcoboussier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2008

A small hotel with only a few bungalows, with a small beach. It is located in an isolated area which ensures a real quiet holiday if that's what you're up to. The staff is very, very friendly and the restaurant is excellent.

The bungalows are very clean, spacious and with very original toilettes. Can you imagine, opening the doors in the morning and having the see less than 20m away from you?

I would say this is the ideal place to stay if you simply want to relax, read a nice book and spend some time enjoying a see view. Ah! Of course you can swim for a while as well.

Moreover, it's 1h away by boat from Nosy Be. But that may be a good thing for you, it wasn't certaintly for me. I hated Nosy Be.

  • Liked — It's ideal for relaxed holiday: staff, location, rooms...
  • Disliked — No electricity after 22h; no mobile phone connection.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgaivao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambanja
21.4 mi away
Le Grand Bleu
Le Grand Bleu
#5 of 32 in Nosy Be
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
15.0 mi away
Manga Soa Lodge
Manga Soa Lodge
#12 of 32 in Nosy Be
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
18.6 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#10 of 32 in Nosy Be
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#11 of 32 in Nosy Be
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
16.1 mi away
Nosy Be Hotel
Nosy Be Hotel
#18 of 32 in Nosy Be
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
14.1 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Madirokely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ankify Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankify Lodge

Property: Ankify Lodge
Address: Doany, Ankify | BP 33, Ambanja 203, Madagascar (Formerly Hotel Dauphin Bleu)
Region: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Ambanja
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ambanja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel situated opposite Nosy Be, in the village of Doany, part of the borough of Ankify. Surrounded by a lush and well kept forest, the Ankify Lodge bungalows overlook a crystal clear sea immediately bordered by a colorful coral reef.Each of our bungalows comes with its own sea facing terrace, they are spread out in a tropical garden. Recently renovated to help you fully enjoy this unique site, they all come equipped shower and private toilets.The restaurant renews everyday its menu for lunch and dinner. The menu selections will vary according to the fresh local village and regional resources (fish, crustaceans, zebu, fruits and vegetables etc.) We endeavour to cater to our clients' culinary preferences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ankify Lodge Madagascar/Ambanja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing