We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HIDDEN GEM”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Victoria Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Holmrook B&B and Inns
Bury,Lancs.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN GEM”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was our third visit and as enjoyable as the previous. Peter and Sandra are excellent hosts and nothing is too much to ensure a memorable stay. Their food is of the highest standars, as are the portions !!
We wish them well.
C&J

Room Tip: Don't have to choose - they're all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

On arrival we were warmly welcomed, and shown to our room named Beatrice. It was very clean and comfortable. The meal at night was very tasty and reasonably priced. We really enjoyed our stay here,we were very lucky with the weather and very pleasantly surprised with the beach. I would like to wish Peter and his family(even Zac) all the best for the future. Tony Dreda and Rory.

Room Tip: The room was very good overlooked railway but was not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DREDA117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had a two night stay here with the intention of walking Scafell Pike - which we did eventually, despite the heat! The hotel is extremely clean and the food excellent; however, the most enjoyable thing we found were the wonderful landlord, Peter and all his family who helped make our little holiday such a great experience. We had some great nights in the hotel and even came 3rd in the pub quiz! Thanks to everyone who made us so welcome.

Room Tip: Helpings of food are good quality but also very LARGE so beware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

a friendly local pub with good beer and great home cooked food. Best fish n chips & steak in the lakes. Comfortable rooms and just generally a nice place to stay and chew the fat with fellow travellers & locals.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We visited one Friday in May 2013 for an impromptu evening meal. We were lucky enough to get the last table so it is probably best to book as this place is very popular for meals. The food was very good quality and the puddings were large and reasonably priced.

The staff are friendly and the surroundings are fine. We have been here once before a few months previously and were very impressed. We would definitely eat here again - real chips too!!!

There is a private car park around the back which is very spacious so you should never have any problems parking. A little bit off the beaten track - you would not come across it by accident, but well worth looking for.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenlionCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthWest UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

First things first, this hotel is primarily intended for professionals and walkers/hikers etc.

So if you are expecting facilities to keep kids amused or a vibrant nightlife and local restaurants etc this is not the place for you.

I visited on our motorcycles with my father and we agreed that the rooms are very clean, very tidy and well looked after.

However the biggest bonus of the Vic is the food. Oh my lord...... the food is exceptional.

I experienced the nicest (and biggest) fish and chip dinner EVER. The bar is well stocked and food prepared fresh, the English breakfast is delicious and cooked to order.

The location of Drigg has very little nearby, if you wish to eat anywhere else then you will be driving to neighboring villages/towns. But with food as good as the Vic, we struggled to justify leaving.

Go and try it for a night or two and enjoy the peace, quiet and tranquility of the Vic.

I am looking forward to returning as soon as I have worked off the two days of indulgence!


BTW if you don't like the weather, give it ten minutes and it'll change.

Room Tip: there is only 1 family room, with a double bed and a single. The rest are double/sinlge rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Si B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Very friendly welcome, spotlessly clean large bedroom and en suite.
Mine host made the evening enjoyable with a extensive bar and menu options.
The food was excellent and wholesome, as was the cooked breakfast.
Will certainly return for a quiet unhurried break.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holmrook hotels
1.1 mi away
Carleton Green Country House B & B
1.1 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
149 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
0.0 mi away
Parkgate Farm
Parkgate Farm
#3 of 3 in Holmrook
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Irt Valley View B&B
Irt Valley View B&B
#4 of 5 in Holmrook
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Station Road | Drigg, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Holmrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is a family run country hotel with a welcoming and friendly atmosphere. The hotel features six quality en-suite bedrooms all with digital flat-panel television and tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel is named after Queen Victoria and to keep the ‘royal theme’ each of our bedrooms are named after her children, Louise, Alice, Leopold, Beatrice, Edward and Alfred. Your hosts, Sandra and Peter Smith and all their staff look forward to welcoming you and will do their utmost to make your stay at the Victoria Hotel a most pleasurable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing