We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous - Thank you :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carleton Green Country House B & B
Ranked #3 of 5 Holmrook B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous - Thank you :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

What an absolute gem of a B&B this is. Greeted by Alison and made to feel so welcome. Shown the guests sitting room with free Sloe Gin - Yes totally free!. There was cake waiting for us in the room on the tea tray and we were made to feel like friends rather than guests. Alison even offered to book us somewhere to eat in the evening as it did get quite busy with it only being a small, sleepy village.

The rooms are amazing. King sized beds with brilliant views from the windows of the Lake District. In fact the B&B was so nice, we didn't want to go outside!

Alan and Alison go out of their way to help you, the breakfasts are brilliant and the building is gorgeous. A grade II listed building - outstanding.

We will certainly be booking again - thank you so much for a fantastic short break.

Room Tip: The 4 poster rooms look out over the hills - great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaza1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan K, Owner at Carleton Green Country House B & B, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Many thanks for your super comments, very glad you enjoyed the gin and cake! warmest regards Alan and Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    4
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We selected this hotel because we were going to the Lake District in high season and wanted to avoid the large crowds. Well, this is the place to do that. Holmrook is a sleepy little town with one only pub owned by Latvians. The food in that pub is strange, but we also had the best trout that we've eaten in all of Britain! However, don't let Alan tell you that the pub is 500 feet from the hotel. It's a mile away, but a fine little walk. This hotel is a great base for visiting the western lake district, and there's a nuclear reactor just miles away! They have rooms with private baths and shared baths; the latter is cheaper, and if we'd known that the hotel was never at capacity, we would have opted for the latter as well. One day we did not get our room cleaned, and that was surprising for a hotel of this caliber, but otherwise our stay there was great, as were the homemade breakfasts made to order by Allison. And the local beer is to die for!

Room Tip: Ask first if there will be other guests at the hotel, and if not, go ahead and get the room without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We initially came to stay at Carleton Green whilst planning for our wedding at nearby Muncaster Castle. We enjoyed our first stay so much that we decided to book the property for the bridal party to stay in for the wedding. The discovery of such a relaxing, stylish but still homely B&B meant that it was the natural choice also for all of our subsequent planning visits. On all our trips, Alan and Alison were extremely welcoming and friendly and, in our specific circumstances, played an important (and much valued) part in helping to organise our big day.

All the rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed. A particular treat are the cakes which Alison provides on the tea trays (which also came with vintage tea cups which we rather liked). The breakfast is served in the sunny dining room and brings with it a fabulous choice of cereals, yogurts, fruit and toast etc. together with cooked breakfast options. The 'Full English' is not to be missed - my husband still raves about it (particularly the potato cakes).

The B&B is situated in a peaceful location which is, nevertheless, handy for a number of location attractions, including Muncaster Castle, the Ravenglass and Eskdale railway, the pretty village of Ravenglass and a number of beaches - not to mention, of course, nearby Wasdale with Britain's deepest lake and favourite view. Alan and Alison are knowledgeable guides to the many attractions that the local area has to offer (including ideas for walks to suit any ability) and are always willing to provide tips to guests for days out, the best local eateries and watering holes etc.

We would unhesitatingly recommend a stay at Carleton Green (we know that our guests are all extremely keen to return in the near future). The label 'B&B' does not really do justice to the property or guests' experience - both are really more akin to the feel of a small boutique hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

This is the most outstanding B & B we have visited. From the moment of arrival Alan and Allison made all feel so welcome. The tranquility and ambience of Carleton Green pervades the house. The rooms are beautiful and so comfortable. Their willingness to make everything right for their guests was impressive. The 'exceptional' evening meal for our large family and their friends before a wedding day was perfect, despite considerable problems with our timing due to wedding organizational problems. They dealt with a large diverse requirement from their guests with such charm and efficiency, although it must have tried their patience since we ranged from 11 months to 65 years of age.

The food was delicious, their hospitality wonderful and their good humour a joy. This was an extraordinary house run by an even more extraordinary family.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchbosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

An excellent base for those exploring the western lake district, very welcoming hosts an excellent room and a great breakfast. The home baked cake in the room was a delicious surprise and added to the overall pleasure of our 2 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsaywWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Totally agree with all the reviews. we literally just came back after staying 3 nights at Carleton Green and everything was simply amazing. the house is beautiful and Alan and Allison really re-did it to the highest standard. The rooms are really luxurious so if you are afraid of old smelly B&Bs like me this is definitively great choice. It is a while away from Windermere so if you are after noisy touristic stuff just prepare yourself for a bit of a drive but of course still completely doable. We had only limited time and the weather of course wasn't great so we did the Ravenglass steam rail and a nice waterfall walk from there one day, and secend day w did Scafell Pike as it is an easy drive from the B&B and then not so easy climb;) We left early on the 3rd day as it was raining. We will definitively come back and would strongly recomend this B&B to everybody. Alan and Allison are wonderful hosts, they are there when you need them, and you have your privacy when you need it. On the first day we came back early soaked wet and they suggested they will start the fire and made tea, coffee and lots of amazing home made cakes. they really managed to change my mind about B&Bs. thank you Guys:)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level Contributor
226 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We spent two days here, having booked it based on reviews we'd read. Our room was lovely and the bed lovely and comfy with fab soft pillows, we really loved the luxury. lovely roll top bath, which is just what i need after a day walking in the 'wet' lakes! I missed a shower in the mornings though and although I know its summer, as the towels were beauifully big and so soft, it would have been nice to have the heated towel rail on....to match the luxurious surroundings in the room. Nearly had to ask for the heating on too....well, it is the Lakes!

Lovely stay, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helvellyn2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
0.9 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.9 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carleton Green Country House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carleton Green Country House B & B

Property: Carleton Green Country House B & B
Address: Carleton, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1YX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Holmrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1749, this elegant, Grade II Listed Georgian house is situated in the Lake District village of Holmrook, less than 10 miles from Eskdale and Wasdale valleys. It offers period features, mature gardens and elegant rooms with views over Muncaster Fell. Rooms at Carleton Green also come with a flat-screen TV and luxury Egyptian linens. The bathrooms have fluffy bathrobes and towels, and all rooms feature tea/coffee with homemade cakes or biscuits. Breakfast is served each morning in the airy dining room. Food is homemade and sourced locally, and made from high-quality Fairtrade products. Situated only minutes from the Irish Sea and the Western Lake District's lakes and mountains, Carleton Green is an ideal base from which to explore this beautiful unspoilt area. The coastal village of Ravenglass is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your Carleton Green Country House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carleton Green Country House B & B Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing