We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic and lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carleton Green Country House B & B
Ranked #3 of 5 Holmrook B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Romantic and lovely place!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was there last weekend of june with my boyfriend and we couldn't be much better. Allan and Allison were totally nice with us. The house is decorated with the most care taste ever. Everything clean and with a lot of light. Breakfast awesome and also the cake in the room every morning. The towels and the robes were really soft and nice. House and area really quiet in the night.

We will be back to enjoy Lake District again. To have some dinner, we recommend Irton Hall (5 minutes from the House) or The Ratty arms in Ravenglass (8 minutes also from the House).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    4
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
349 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just returned from a couple of nights here, I cannot find any negative comments regarding this B and B. the hosts were very friendly and helpful, the bedroom was spotless and comfy, with a lovely view. The breakfast was lovely. Would love to return some time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our first time in the lakes was amazing and staying at carleton green made it so much more special,Alison and Alan were so so welcoming and warm towards us and made us feel completely at home really couldn't have asked for more..they recommended some fantastic places to visit and places to dine out just genuinely nice helpful people...I thoroughly enjoyed the daily cakes I got extra as my partner isn't a cake lover hehe :-) and the full English breakfast was so yummy really did set you up for a day trip out.
Thankyou guys for making our 15yr anniversary an extra special one and keep up the good work, you have such a beautiful house and are both lovely.

Much love Sarah and Gareth xxxx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We wanted somewhere comfortable and convenient to stay so that we could visit the Eskdale Show, Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway, Wastwater and Muncaster Castle. Having initially planned to stay elsewhere I came across the reviews of Carleton Green and swiftly changed our plans. We couldn't have chosen a nicer place to stay, great location and a beautiful house which is very easy to find. We can confirm that Alison and Alan are great hosts and quite rightly proud of their lovely establishment.
Fabulous breakfast with home made yoghurt, fresh fruit, decent juice and the best full English ever! Great quality ingredients and enough to keep you going all day.
The weather was fantastic but the B&B would make an excellent retreat even on the coldest and wettest of weekends, in fact sitting in the guests lounge in front of a roaring fire would be very appealing.
Highly recommended and so much to do and see in the area means that we will be back soon.

Room Tip: If you have trouble stepping into or out of a deep bath choose a room with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our third visit to Carleton Green and this time we took 10 friends and family to walk our last .wainwright. Alan and Alison made us all so welcome with so much tea and cake , sloe gin and fabulous cooked breakfasts. It really felt like our own home for the weekend nothing was too much trouble. We'll be back again but strongly recommend Carleton Green if you fancy a family or group gathering in this gorgeous part of the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms great ,we know we took them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and I are just back from a lovely little stay at Carleton Green B&B. It occupies a very scenic spot. The B&B itself is a large Georgian house with an interesting history.
Alan and Alison are a super couple who went out of their way to be helpful and obliging. Our room, with its four poster bed, was immaculate. And the bathroom was gorgeous! Much nicer than most hotel bathrooms, with a stand alone slipper bath and big fluffy towels. We had robes too, and home made cake awaiting our arrival... It really did feel like a sweet little boutique hotel.
Breakfast was yummy, we are vegi but Alan made sure we had a hearty meal that set us up for the full day.
As for evening meals, there isn't really anywhere near enough to walk to, but there is a local taxi service. Check out the a Wild Olive in Gosforth a few miles up the road - really delicious. And the next night we went to Nether Wasdale, there are a couple of pubs there that do food, surrounded by marvellous scenery.
Would definitely recommend Carleton Green, can't imagine finding a better spot for such great value. Thank you, Alan and Alison, for such a nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackBirdBench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

If you want a stunning hotel in a stunning location, for a romantic weekend away, I completely recommend the Carleton Green Hotel. It is a little hard to spot from the road but once you're there it is just the best. You have the beautiful Lakes, with all their walks, and the fantastic nearby pubs. I'm looking forward to going back again!

Room Tip: The room with the four poster bed and ensuite bathroom is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimimonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
0.9 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.9 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#2 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carleton Green Country House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carleton Green Country House B & B

Property: Carleton Green Country House B & B
Address: Carleton, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1YX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Holmrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1749, this elegant, Grade II Listed Georgian house is situated in the Lake District village of Holmrook, less than 10 miles from Eskdale and Wasdale valleys. It offers period features, mature gardens and elegant rooms with views over Muncaster Fell. Rooms at Carleton Green also come with a flat-screen TV and luxury Egyptian linens. The bathrooms have fluffy bathrobes and towels, and all rooms feature tea/coffee with homemade cakes or biscuits. Breakfast is served each morning in the airy dining room. Food is homemade and sourced locally, and made from high-quality Fairtrade products. Situated only minutes from the Irish Sea and the Western Lake District's lakes and mountains, Carleton Green is an ideal base from which to explore this beautiful unspoilt area. The coastal village of Ravenglass is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Carleton Green Country House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carleton Green Country House B & B Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing