We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
Nearby Hotels
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$421
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ennerdale Country House Hotel(Cleator)(Great Value!)
US$80
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(St Bees)
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacote Hotel(St Bees)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
191
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadattention to detailb bhome madeon arrivalcakelittle touchesporridgelake districtfudgebreakfast was deliciouswarm welcomelocal pubgreat hostsbooking tablesfresh flowerslong drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I had an absolutely awesome experience at the Old School. Lesley and John were most gracious hosts - friendly, accomodating and great company.

The homemade breakfasts were one of the highlights of our stay and the family-like ambiance was exceptional. The physical accomodation (bedroom, bathroom etc) was spacious and private. Appreciated Lesley's good taste in port (even purchased a bottle of the local brand from her) and her home-cooking.

Will certainly stay again if traveling to the Lake District and would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends and family.

Grannum and Kathleen (Boston, MA, USA)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grannum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is a wonderful place to switch off and let all your troubles float away. Fantastic room and hospitality. We liked the african theme in our room and the views from the windows were beautiful. Lesley and the dog Bruce made us feel very welcome, breakfast was delightful as was the home made brown bread toast . Also a very nice touch was the home made banana bread and a glass of port in the room waiting for us. We could not recommend this place highly enough. Will visit again next time we stay in the west lake area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleden57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley R, Owner at The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am glad you enjoyed my home made bread and cake and the Jennings (our local brewery in Cockermouth) Port, it is gorgeous!!

We hope you will come and visit us again and look forward to it

Lesley xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Totally exquisite experience from arrival to departure. A truly magical weekend when the accommodation and hospitality was only topped by Andy Murray's Wimbledon title! What a fantastic introduction to The Lakes! Lesley, John, Bruce, Lucy and Louis are the ultimate hosts and we can only echo the equally fabulous comments made by other reviewers before us. Thank you all so much. Maybe we'll catch up at Kaya in the not too distant future? Either that or we will definitely be back at The Old School!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Evans60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley R, Owner at The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after you both and chat about Kalkan.

I am glad the weather was kind to you and glad you got to do some of our fabulous walks and admire our wonderful views.

We all look forward to your return visit,.

Lesley x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Fantastic time at the old school. Super friendly, welcomed by both Lesley and Bruce! It made all the difference on our short break away. Lovely atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious and Lesley made every effort to make sure we had everything we needed. We went down the road to the local pub for food which was also excellent. Lesley even offered us a lift! What a host. We will be back! Real luxury!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderandfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley R, Owner at The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We do try to offer a peaceful stay for our guests.

We are so lucky to have had such lovely weather lately, the views from the house are amazing and the fact that you can sit on the patio and enjoy the sun is even better.

Thanks again

Lesley x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My girlfriend and I booked Betty's cottage at the last minute and we were so glad we did. Lesley and John gave us such a warm welcome into their home, all the little touches made the stay extra special. Combine that with the location, you really can't ask for much more in a holiday.
They both made every effort to make sure we had everything we wanted, all this on top of running an excellent B&B.
We would not hesitate to stop there again, whether in Betty's cottage or the old school B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley R, Owner at The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I do try really hard to ensure that anyone who stays enjoys the experience. We live in a wonderful part of the Lake District and the views from the house are fabulous, especially from Betty's. We offer a restful, peaceful adults only venue and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay

Lesley x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews