We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
Ranked #1 of 5 Holmrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

After a very very long journey crawling up the M6, we finally arrived rather late to the B&B. We'd had to cancel our meal out given how late we got to the Lake District but Lesley was a wonderfully welcoming and sympathetic host when we arrived. The little treats and drink were lovely touches and made us feel like our weekend away had finally started.

The location has lovely views across the fields, the room was spacious with personal touches in the decoration. The bed was big and fluffy with soft sheets and the en suite, modern and clean with a good power shower. There was a wide variety of food for breakfast and by making your selection the night before, the food was ready for you in the conservatory to enjoy looking out on the garden.

Homemade cake in the afternoon after a long walk was most welcome and the port before bed ensures a restful night. All in all, we would highly recommend this lovely little place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

WELL....we have just had the most wonderful night (in a fourposter bed)...Lesley and John were SOO welcoming...not at all what we expected..what a wonderful surprise EVERYTHING is top class,from lavender spray to help sleep,to fluffy white towels and a very comfortable and quiet nights sleepy...it was all dreamy,and part of my 70th birthday present!!!!!!!
When we left this morning we were given a sweetie & a drink for our journey...felt we were leaving friends.
The self contained cottage is beautiful..we had a nosey.
A fantastic job is being done at this B & B.

Room Tip: 4 poster bedroom was wonderful,overlooking the beautiful garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We have now stayed in Betty's Cottage twice. Everything about it is wonderful. Lesley gives a lovely warm welcome, and makes you feel you are an old friend. There is always a scrumptious treat and a glass of port on arrival, along with a warm homemade loaf of bread. Everything you may need in the kitchen is in the cupboards - there is nothing that hasn't been thought of. The cottage is immaculate, warm and comfortable, with a stunning view across to Great Gable - providing she graces you with her presence from under the clouds! You look forward to going back there after a long day walking the mountains. Lesley is a mind of information, and can recommend walks and climbs (and pubs!) for novice and advanced adventurers. Her very handsome dog, Bruce, also gives a warm welcome and is happy to help. All in all a home away from home. Excellent. Highly recommend it. We are going back again later this year!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A lovely b&b run by a friendly lady that can't do enough to ensure a more than pleasant stay. High standard of room, facilities and a top notch breakfast. From home baked bread to order to a packed lunch for the following day nothing was too much. The room was large and extremely well furnished, with an excellent bathroom.

The nicest touch was the slab of cake and glass of port awaiting my arrival, what more can you ask for.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank siberiantigerwigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our stay at The Old School Betty's came after an unexpectedly long and tiring drive from London, so by the time we arrived the welcome from Lesley, John and of course the animals, was exactly what we needed! As all of the reviews state, it is the small touches and feeling of a 'lived-in' home which make you feel like you are walking into a friends house who also so happens to be an extraordinary host! The 'breakfast form' given to you to fill out for the next morning is a telling sign of the attention to detail you will expect here. How you like your eggs and your preferred morning fruit are just a few of the options which will create your dream breakfast! And little Easter eggs on our pillow (as we stayed over the Easter weekend) was the icing on the cake for being made to feel extra special.
With the peaks of Scafell Pike and Great Gable on the doorstep, this was the perfect destination for our cutesy stay in the Lake District! Recommend this highly for anyone wanting a homely experience and one-of-a-kind hosting..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor_V_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in the Muncaster suite in Lesley's and John's B&B - Old School for 7 nights. We were made feel very welcomed, the optimism and service was second to none. Lovely, AGA cooked breakfast every day and very clean, big room with character. We could've been in a better place for rest in the countryside. The food served in local pub (The Bridge Inn) and local restaurants (eg.: Irton Hall) was fresh, made with honest, local ingredients and delicious. Lesley recommended it and she was so right! She went above and beyond the normal hospitality with lovely treats in our room every day and great advice about the area.
There are a variety of walks available that you would definitely enjoy. B&B is a short drive from Wast Water, Muncaster Castle and The Ravenglass railway and Scaffel Pike. There is plenty to do if you fancy sightseeing. In a nutshell, we would definitely be recommending The Old School to friends -the best B&B that we have ever been to!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malwina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just returned home after spending two nights at this wonderful b&b. The accommodation, hospitality and location were excellent. Superb food on offer @ breakfast and Lesley goes that extra mile to look after her guests. If you enjoy walking on the fells then this would be a perfect choice.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daffod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
0.8 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#2 of 10 in Eskdale
598 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Carleton Green Country House B & B
1.5 mi away
Old Post Office Campsite
0 mi away
Irt Valley View B&B
Irt Valley View B&B
#4 of 5 in Holmrook
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage

Address: The Old School | Irton, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1YH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Holmrook
Price Range: £79 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old School bed and breakfast and Betty's Cottage is surrounded by open farmland with stunning views to the Wasdale and Muncaster fells. An Adults Only b and b offering two beautiful en-suite bedrooms and a self contained one bedrooms annexe, ideal for that perfect getaway and for walking the fells. A small dog is welcome in Betty's cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School Bed And Breakfast And Betty's Cottage Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing