We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and fantastic service in the nicest part of the lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
Ranked #1 of 5 Holmrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had booked the double room for the weekend and when we arrived we were greeted by Lesley at the front door. She told us that as no one was using betty's (the cottage) that we could have the use of that. This gave us a lovely lounge, big kitchen and a lovely bedroom all to ourselves.

From the moment we got there Lesley could not have been more helpful. We hadn't been to this part of the Lake District before and she was able to suggest excellent places for us to eat in the evening, as well as booking a table and offering us a lift or to pick up the car in the morning.

Her cooked breakfasts are lovely and huge, we never needed to have lunch all weekend!

Lesley asked what we had planned each morning and was able to suggest lots of things to do even though the weather wasn't the best during our stay.

Lesley's attention to detail, customer service and knowledge of the area really made for an excellent weekend away and we can highly recommend the old school.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Cleanliness
Thank grmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed at The Old School for three nights while on a business trip. Lesley and John are incredibly welcoming and friendly. The location is a delight and the breakfast superb. I would definitely return and would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HP_Flashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Old School and as usual it could not have been more perfect. The hosts Lesley and John make you feel so at home in their hidden paradise. Nothing is too much trouble and the finer details of home made cake, strawberry chocolate and port in our room, coupled with the lovely cumbria breakfast make it a place that you want to visit time and time again. Thanks for a wonderful time. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruskinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed for two nights early July to attend a wedding and wished it was for longer. A real home from home. Lesley works very hard and cant do enough, John is a real gentleman and Bruce the Labrador is a special dog. (The British Blue and Cream Cats too)

Breakfast delicious, countryside beautiful, what more can I say? We loved it and want to go back.

I travel a lot in my work and usually find it very difficult to chill out. Not here though, We walked in and chilled!

The best B&B we have ever stayed in.

Rev Bernard and Elaine Cocker Lancashire UK

Room Tip: Both are good but one is quite a bit bigger
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RevBernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A secret paradise in the Lake District.This part of Western Lake District is a true winner. About 15mins drive to Wast Water Lake. Away from the crowds of the major tourist towns like Windermere. You find this remote UBER-Service B&B that can compete with the best 5 Star Hotels, but makes you feel you just came home to your parents. The B&B lives through the love of their owners Lesley & John. You get all the little extras and more. We were 2 couples staying for 3 nights. From the moment of Welcome to 'Good Bye' we got pampered with food and little extras (e.g.we got our tailor made walk plus lunch box and a recommended car tour) . There are many nice restaurants to choose from in the area to enjoy. We went to the Wild Olive in Gosforth. A car is a must to get there, but you can walk the fields and fells or rent a bike to go places. Ravenglass is a 10min drive from the B&B and gives you a good starting point to explore this fantastic area. We will come back and would recommend it to our dearest friends.

Room Tip: Superior Room is worth the money
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We've just come back from a family weekend away (me, my boyfriend and dog) at the loveliest cottage with such great B&B owners (and Bruce the dog) in a gorgeous setting. When we first arrived they made us feel at home straight away with big smiles and hugs and we had a glass of port waiting for us with little heart shaped cakes. She'd thought of everything from milk in the fridge to essentials in the bathroom in case we'd forgotten anything to giving us directions to some great places. We stayed in the cottage which was spacious with a kitchen to cook your own food if you wanted. We weren't there long so ate out. Lesley did show me the rooms in the B&B and they were stunning. There are pubs within a 10 minute drive and a lovely little Italian restaurant about 15 minutes drive which we would definitely recommend! Lesley even offered to drop us off and pick us up but we're not big drinkers so drove ourselves. Lovely of her to offer though! Every time we went out and came back there was another little treat waiting for us. The chocolate covered strawberries were amazing! Breakfast in the morning was so tasty and fresh with everything cooked on the arga. Nothing was greasy and filled us up nicely for the day of walking ahead. If you think you're going to be out all day they offer a packed lunch for around £6 with a selection of sandwiches which I think is a great idea and saves you having to find somewhere to eat. There's a lot to do in the area, I just wish we'd had more time! We will definitely be making it a yearly thing and going for longer next time. Thank you so much John and Lesley for such a great weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Having planned a couple of days' walking in Wasdale, we booked an overnight at The Old School. We chose well! The welcome from Lesley was so friendly, the room was beautiful and the whole atmosphere at The Old School was very comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast was a real treat - well cooked, well presented and very tasty. Thank you John & Lesley for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Keswick-dweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
3.1 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
0.8 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
152 reviews
2.5 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
574 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage

Address: The Old School | Irton, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1YH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Holmrook
Price Range: £82 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old School bed and breakfast and Betty's Cottage is surrounded by open farmland with stunning views to the Wasdale and Muncaster fells. An Adults Only b and b offering two beautiful en-suite bedrooms and a self contained one bedrooms annexe, ideal for that perfect getaway and for walking the fells. A small dog is welcome in Betty's cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School Bed And Breakfast And Betty's Cottage Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing