We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcoming, friendly site!”
Review of Shepherds View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shepherds View
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming, friendly site!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at shepherds views holidays site on an electric camping pitch. We were greeted by Julie and Steve even though we arrived later than expected they were waiting and were more than helpful. Given plenty information about nearby places, then showed to our pitch. Pitches are well spaced out so don't feel cramped together.. And they provide fire pits free!! You just need to buy a bag of wood from reception. Shower blocks are spacious and clean always hot water. The washing up area always had hot water too(you don't always get this at some sites). Shops aren't too far away by car. The site is kept very clean and well presented. Everyone was so friendly and the views are beautiful!! Will definitely be visiting again! Vicky & Vinny x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed in the larger of the 3 cottages, "The Farmhouse", for 3 nights at the end of February. It's a bit of a drive to get to as it is on the other side of the Lake District but the views are stunning. You have the best of both worlds here... fantastic beaches such as St. Bee's within 15 minutes drive, and fantastic mountains which were topped with snow during our stay. The cottage itself is lovely. The living room is spacious and comfy with a fantastic fireplace, and the kitchen is well equipped with a dishwasher and washing machine. The bedrooms were also spacious and the beds were great. The little touches such as towel robes, soaps/shampoo/conditioner, sachets of tea/coffee/sugar, and the basket of logs were all unexpected but appreciated. The biggest selling point of this place though has to be the hot tub! The first night, it was a clear night and the stars were just magical! We didn't see that much of the owners, but whenever we did, they were very friendly. We had a fantastic time and will hopefully be back at some point soon. Thanks for a fab time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elanesse85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Found this hidden gem as a last minute booking for my partners birthday we had the old bakehouse which was plenty big enough for two very clean and ticked all the boxes for a romantic break... Wood burner hot tub very comfy bed.. great hosts Stephen and Julie were perfect!! Brill original features couldn't fault it at all for the price,,,, recommended the Victoria hotel down the road for food didn't disappoint was excellent!! Will be back next year cheers for a great weekend w&b

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Swithyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were very happy with our stay here. We were in the Old Farmhouse (I think!) which was one of 3 cottages attached to each other and the biggest of the three sleeping 8 people. There is a shared hot tub with the 3 cottages but certainly for our coldish October half term break there was never a problem accessing it. Hot tub was excellent and probably could have fitted all 8 of us.

Cottage was also very spacious, clean and had all the amenities you could want including a log fire which we loved. Only one shower but seemed to work out OK- perhaps if 8 of you have been climbing mountains during the day it might be more of an issue but there was always hot water. Kitchen large and well equipped. Although we barely saw the owners they were very nice and helpful.

The area is relatively isolated which can be a good or a bad thing but would be a 15 minute drive to the nearest village to get provisions. 15 minutes from the steam railway which also has a normal train service (Ravenglass).

We had nothing to complain about and the price was fabulous especially considering it was a half term week.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach_and_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwest uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I just could not fault this site if your plan is to do Scafell pike or visit Wasdale Head etc then this is ideally situated around 35 mins away, although do not discount the surrounding areas as there is plenty to do if bad weather puts your high hill walk plans on the back burner (as it did mine).

Seascale is walkable around 15 mins or 2 min drive and it has a well stocked reasonably priced shop (not sure why a reviewer said there were no nearby shops?).or you can turn right out the campsite then take a left down a public bridleway over the dunes to the beach then turn right (a much nicer way to the shop).

Facilities are immaculate and i'm glad the 'poor' reviewer stated no noise after 11pm was enforced, nothing worse than drunken loud talkers and thanks to them i will definitely 110% be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campingsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

my wife and i spent a week in cottage adapted for two people. it was fully equipped and cosy for us to enjoy. its location was superb for visiting all attractions in the lake district. it was very quiet and comfortable. the price was very reasonable that we decided to try again in near future. we tried the luxurious hot tub to ease our aching joints after a good day of visiting attractions around the lakes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damianschofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

For those of you who love simple but well equipped camping and caravan sites, Shepherds View is perfect. Well spaced hard standings for caravans or motor homes sit alongside level camping fields and both are supported by modern well maintained facilities.
The site is perfect for exploring the Wasdale/Eskdale side of the lakes, as well as the cumbrian coast line. The nearby beach at Drigg is stunning and, as the site is off the main road, cycling is an option whatever your fitness level. If you prefer, a 25 minute stroll will take you to the mainline train station.
If you need bars, swimming pools and onsite entertainment this is not the site for you; if beauty and tranquility appeal, look no further.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
2.2 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
146 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Calder House Hotel
Calder House Hotel
#3 of 11 in Seascale
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bailey Ground Hotel
Bailey Ground Hotel
#5 of 11 in Seascale
107 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
2.7 mi away
Carleton Green Country House B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherds View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherds View

Property: Shepherds View
Address: Drigg, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Holmrook
Hotel Class:4 star — Shepherds View 4*
Also Known As:
Shepherds View Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing