We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Santon Bridge Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Holmrook B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food Poor”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After staying at The Old Post Office Campsite across the road (nice campsite). Myself and a friend decided to eat at the Stanton Bridge Inn. We both ordered fish, chips and mushy peas. (£9.50, not a cheap meal). It arrived but not to our expectations, the fish was literally swimming in grease (the fish could not have been freshly made, re-fried) the chips had been re-cooked and the mushy peas had a crust over them. I spoke to the gentleman in charge of the food and he apologised and asked if we wanted a refund.
I have read some of the reviews for this Inn and the overall reviews are good, just a pity we couldn't say the same.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank jww1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEN B, Owner at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thanks for the review. Yes, we did have an issue and I did try to recify it for you. That evening we sold over a dozen fish and chips and yours was the only complaint! We regard any issues with our food as serious and deal with them as they are raised, but if we find out after the food has been consumed then we cant do a lot other than ensuring it does not happen again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    109
    46
    20
    14
See reviews for
59
175
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake District
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have found the staff courteous and helpful and food to the highest standard. I would have no problem recommend it. An excellent country pub and hotel, the location is excellent for visiting the Western Lakes and the Sunday Carvery is delicious with generous portions. Keep it up The Bridge Inn

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Bridge Inn and, whilst it would be a to stretch recommend it as one of the Lakes' finest, overall it served us well (and is infinitely to be preferred to it's externally more attractive but failing neighbour, the Bower House Inn).

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and professional. Food at dinner was generous and perfectly decent. The make a point of serving 'real chips', and they were indeed a cut above most soggy pub fries, though puddings (eg the cheesecake) were more hit-and-miss. Breakfast was good - the quality of a 'full English' is so often a reliable measure of of an establishment's attitude to its food and customers.

Decorwise, parts of the inn could do with a bit of a spruce-up, but the pleasantly cosy bar, where most people dined, has a nicely relaxed feel, and boasts an admirable range of beers, so it is a particular shame, considering the excellence of so much beer in Cumbria, that they choose to serve them under CO2 blanket pressure, as this dulls the flavour noticably and is a really out-dated bad practice. A pint at the Wasdale Head Inn, by comparison, will leave you in no doubt about this.

A solid, well-run place, the Bridge Inn's strongest asset is its location, a very good base for exploring Wasdale and Eskdale.

Note to walkers/climbers: they helpfully do packed lunches (although the rather complicated individual ordering cards seemed to've confused the staff even more than us, as we swapped over various crisps and biscuits high up a mountain)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radcliffe, Manchester
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay over the bank holiday weekend and cannot rate this establishment enough. The staff were welcoming, the beds were comfy, the food great and the beers enjoyable. We took our 2 children and our 4 year old very timid Jack Russell Terrier, it was a fantastic weekend and we would recommend the Bridge Inn and its fare to anyone. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here 2 years and visited here Sunday 25th August for lunch after not being able to get a room this time round

The accomodation is excellent and the food 1st class. Friendly welcoming staff who remembered us from 2 years ago!

We will always go back when in the Lakes, it's simply unbeatable

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband, 11 year old daughter and dog (a very timid & quiet Staffordshire Bull Terrier) have just spent a lovely long weekend staying at the Santon Bridge Inn. Each day we had breakfast and also our evening meal. Food was lovely & very generous portions - also a good childrens' menu. An excellent location for exploring Wasdale/Eskdale area of the lakes. We did a few different walks but also visited Muncaster Castle and the Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway - both of which I would highly recommend. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callaghans23GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Bridge Inn has recently changed hands. My wife and I called in for a meal and drink on 24th August 2013, so this is possibly the most recent review. This premises is basically a pub ,all be it in a nice location , with rooms. It is situated next to a rural campsite in the Lake District.
The food prices were slightly higher than the average for the area, which are already priced with tourists in mind.
The attitude displayed by the staff was complete contempt towards the customers. No doubt this reflected the views of the owners. In my opinion the attitude came from the fact that a 'captive 'group of campers in the area would frequent the place despite poor service.
I ordered a meal for two and drinks but despite this was charged an ridiculous amount for a soda water from the bar tap. Upon challenging the charge a man, ,who seemed to be a customer but transpired to be recent owner, rudely butted into my conversation with the bar man. It is rare for me to make a review of a pub but this premises is taking 'rip off britain' to extreems

Room Tip: Do not go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raylain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEN B, Owner at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Sorry it has taken s long to reply. Thanks for the review, we like to get feedback from customers to help us improve what we provide. However some customers seem to feel that what we do should be free! That is not the case and we pride ourselves on whar we do and what our staff do for us. As for the comments there are a few misconceptions in it. First we have been running the Bridge Inn for over twelve months, secondly the person who spoke to you was one of thew previous owners. my staff are not rude to our customers as they can not afford to be. As you will recognise we are not a city type establishment and jobs as well as business in this part of the world have to be earned, that fact and the length of service of the staff at the Bridge Inn go a long way to ensuring not just good service but excelent.
Sorry you had the poor experience, but we do have to cover the costs of providing that service.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
1.7 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
2.7 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#2 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#3 of 7 in Eskdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Santon Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santon Bridge Inn

Property: The Santon Bridge Inn
Address: Santon Bridge, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Holmrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Santon Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Bridge Inn, once a modest mail coach’s halt, is now a fine, well-situated, comfortable country inn offering hospitality to all travelers and visitors being close to Wastwater (Britain’s favourite view) and Scafell. Well behaved dogs are also welcome. The Western Lakes and Fells are spectacular and here in this quiet valley there is still the peace and tranquility that should be Lakeland. There are still more sheep than people!!! Excellent "REAL" food, "REAL" Ales, Log Fires and a "reet good welcome." Standards of accommodation today's travelers expect. "Home from home for the tired business person and the weary fell walker." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Santon Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santon Bridge Hotel Holmrook
The Santon Bridge Inn Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing