We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Santon Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Santon Bridge Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Holmrook B&B and Inns
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stopped at the Santon Bridge after a walk with the dogs. No food after 2pm on Sundays. Weak coffee and no cakes, scones or biscuits to have with it. A poor showing on all fronts. Went to the Brook House in Eskdale instead which does food all day and good coffee and cakes. Must do better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeverleyNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEN B, Owner at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for bringing this to our attention, as our serving times on a Sunday for lunch are from 12:00 to 3:00pm
We do not serve scones at the Bridge Inn as we have other desserts available during these times.
Sorry you did not inform a member of staff at the time the coffee was not as strong as you preferred, as a replacement would have been offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    106
    45
    20
    13
See reviews for
59
172
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Whilst staying with friends for the weekend and after a Saturday afternoon visiting the pubs in Eskdale, 6 of us plus a gorgeous black Lab decided to have our tea here. The food and service were all top notch and very reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend a visit here if you are in the area

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEN B, Owner at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had an overnight stay at end of Feb,2014 . Room and bathroom were immaculate. Made to feel very welcome there. Very homely atmosphere, lovely décor , bar area felt more of a "local" than my own local.

Superb base for a walking holiday.

Recommend, and I will certainly be going back there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEN B, Owner at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We took our 3 young girls and Dalmatian dog to Eskdale for February half term. We stayed in a cottage just up the road from the Bridge Inn. The highlight of the week by far were our trips to the Bridge. We visited 4 times, twice for drinks and twice for food. Each time we were given a very warm welcome by Len and his staff. There was an excellent choice of beers and a varied menu. We took the dog twice and he was pampered by everyone, each night there were at least 2 or 3 other dogs in the bar and you could tell they were dog people. Len brought dog biscuits around to keep the mutts happy!

On both evenings we ate, we struggled to get a table but Len went out of his way to reorganise the tables so we could get a seat. The thursday night in particular was very busy when we arrived and Len agreed to open up the restaurant for ourselves and another family both with dogs rather than turn us away. As luck would have it 2 tables became available in the bar so we re-joined the busy bar.

The food was proper pub food with good portion sizes even for the kids. I had to try the black pudding and haggis stack which was great although I was slightly disappointed in the size of the stack, I was expecting a little more!

Overall a great family (and dog) friendly pub that we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEN B, Owner at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckermet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Living locally and having heard the food is good, my partner and I decided to pop in on Sunday lunchtime. We recently moved to Cumbria and are looking for good places to eat to take the numerous visitors we have.

When we arrived at the bar the gentleman who was to serve us could not even raise a smile or a polite 'Good afternoon'. He was curt to the point of being surly and avoided making any eye contact. When my partner asked about the different beers he not be bothered respond. It was other customers at the bar who recommended a bitter. The barman showed a total lack of enthusiasm for the products the pub stocked. This, added to the surliness, was very off putting.

We decided to order starters and would follow with a dessert each. My partner ordered 'Fishcakes' and I ordered the 'Black pudding & haggis stack'. Please note the menu advertised 'Fishcakes'....... plural. What my partner got was a single fishcake with a dribble of sweet chilli sauce, plus a bit of salad and half a very crusty roll. The roll had obviously been heated one too many times and was a very hard crust and no bread inside. It was veined with something orange'ish - We have no idea what as it was tasteless. When my partner asked the frosty waitress why he had been served with a singular fishcake when the menu said 'Fishcakes', she ignored him and walked off.

My own starter, the black pudding and haggis stack was a thin, single slice of haggis sat on top of a single thin'ish slice of black pudding with some kind of sauce, bit of salad and the other half of my partners overly hard roll. In my opinion 2 items one on top of the other does not represent a 'Stack'. Try it yourself .............. Place one piece of paper on top of another piece of paper. Would you call that a stack?

The place seemed clean. I would recommend the staff spend less time wrapping the cutlery in napkins and stickers and more time being friendly to the customers. Considering the things the prices they charge that they had those horrible cheap plastic sachets of sauces was not what was expected.

I will say the fishcake and black pudding & haggis were lovely and with a bit of honesty when writing the menu we might of been happy enough with our choices. However, with the unwelcoming, bad manners from the staff (a smile and a bit of enthusiasm cost nothing) and the misrepresentation of the menu items we chose not to provide them with any more of our money and decided to forgo dessert.

There are numerous very good hostelries and restaurants in the area............ (Gosforth, Nether Wasdale etc) I would advise you to avoid this one. Dining out is supposed to be an enjoyable experience from the moment you enter the premises, obviously something the staff at the Bridge Inn at Santon do not care about.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cerebral C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Had a two night family stay with our two Spaniels. What a lovely welcoming and homely establishment. Even the dogs were made to feel comfortable.
The rooms are well catered and have views. The choice of food and areas to eat is great for a pub hotel. The food is fantastic!
I would recommend to friends and will definately return again.
Very good value for money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEN B, Manager at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thanking you all for your reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I am writing this primarily to thank the staff over the New Year festivities. They were working hard over a busy time and they really couldn't do enough for us.
The location is brilliant ( even in torrential rain). The 2 rooms we occupied 8 and 16 were very clean and the bed in 16 enormous.
The food we had on both nights couldn't have been better and the steak on the 2nd night was cooked to perfection.
Breakfasts on both days were plentiful and it really did mean we could skip lunch. It was obvious everything was cooked from scratch.
The bar had a large number of real ales which was a plus for me and the house wine was good. ( The only comment here would be a request for some wkd, or maybe a few cans of irn brew so we could mix our own with vodka).
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return in the future. Thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daltonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
1.8 mi away
The Strands Hotel
The Strands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nether Wasdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
20.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Santon Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santon Bridge Inn

Property: The Santon Bridge Inn
Address: Santon Bridge, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Holmrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Santon Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Bridge Inn, once a modest mail coach’s halt, is now a fine, well-situated, comfortable country inn offering hospitality to all travelers and visitors being close to Wastwater (Britain’s favourite view) and Scafell. Well behaved dogs are also welcome. The Western Lakes and Fells are spectacular and here in this quiet valley there is still the peace and tranquility that should be Lakeland. There are still more sheep than people!!! Excellent "REAL" food, "REAL" Ales, Log Fires and a "reet good welcome." Standards of accommodation today's travelers expect. "Home from home for the tired business person and the weary fell walker." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Santon Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santon Bridge Hotel Holmrook
The Santon Bridge Inn Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing