We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Santon Bridge Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Holmrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

stayed in this pub after deciding we needed to get away after a long week at work. It looked nice on the pictures and the rate for a saturday was very reasonable. Was not disappointed. We had a lovely meal in the bar with a nice beer and a walk along the river.

My wife recommends the signature salad dish, it was pretty impressive.

Breakfast was very good and we followed that with a hair-raising journey over the steepest road in Britain.

Only criticism was the wait to check out but when the receptionist came she was so nice, it didn't matter any more.

The dysfunctional family with screaming brats camping behind the pub could not be blamed on anyone except satellite television and 'broken Britain'.

Room Tip: use the express check out service at the bar the evening before you leave to avoid a 20 minute wait...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for The Santon Bridge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend, the room was very clean, food lovely, clearly local produce (even saw to my tiny stomach - portions generous) food is served after 2.00pm on a Sunday!!

They have a fab reading room, great bar with a roaring fire and a beautiful breakfast room.

The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful.

We will be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stopped at the Santon Bridge after a walk with the dogs. No food after 2pm on Sundays. Weak coffee and no cakes, scones or biscuits to have with it. A poor showing on all fronts. Went to the Brook House in Eskdale instead which does food all day and good coffee and cakes. Must do better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank BeverleyNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEN B, Owner at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, as our serving times on a Sunday for lunch are from 12:00 to 3:00pm
We do not serve scones at the Bridge Inn as we have other desserts available during these times.
Sorry you did not inform a member of staff at the time the coffee was not as strong as you preferred, as a replacement would have been offered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Whilst staying with friends for the weekend and after a Saturday afternoon visiting the pubs in Eskdale, 6 of us plus a gorgeous black Lab decided to have our tea here. The food and service were all top notch and very reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend a visit here if you are in the area

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEN B, Owner at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had an overnight stay at end of Feb,2014 . Room and bathroom were immaculate. Made to feel very welcome there. Very homely atmosphere, lovely décor , bar area felt more of a "local" than my own local.

Superb base for a walking holiday.

Recommend, and I will certainly be going back there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEN B, Owner at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We took our 3 young girls and Dalmatian dog to Eskdale for February half term. We stayed in a cottage just up the road from the Bridge Inn. The highlight of the week by far were our trips to the Bridge. We visited 4 times, twice for drinks and twice for food. Each time we were given a very warm welcome by Len and his staff. There was an excellent choice of beers and a varied menu. We took the dog twice and he was pampered by everyone, each night there were at least 2 or 3 other dogs in the bar and you could tell they were dog people. Len brought dog biscuits around to keep the mutts happy!

On both evenings we ate, we struggled to get a table but Len went out of his way to reorganise the tables so we could get a seat. The thursday night in particular was very busy when we arrived and Len agreed to open up the restaurant for ourselves and another family both with dogs rather than turn us away. As luck would have it 2 tables became available in the bar so we re-joined the busy bar.

The food was proper pub food with good portion sizes even for the kids. I had to try the black pudding and haggis stack which was great although I was slightly disappointed in the size of the stack, I was expecting a little more!

Overall a great family (and dog) friendly pub that we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEN B, Owner at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Living locally and having heard the food is good, my partner and I decided to pop in on Sunday lunchtime. We recently moved to Cumbria and are looking for good places to eat to take the numerous visitors we have.

When we arrived at the bar the gentleman who was to serve us could not even raise a smile or a polite 'Good afternoon'. He was curt to the point of being surly and avoided making any eye contact. When my partner asked about the different beers he not be bothered respond. It was other customers at the bar who recommended a bitter. The barman showed a total lack of enthusiasm for the products the pub stocked. This, added to the surliness, was very off putting.

We decided to order starters and would follow with a dessert each. My partner ordered 'Fishcakes' and I ordered the 'Black pudding & haggis stack'. Please note the menu advertised 'Fishcakes'....... plural. What my partner got was a single fishcake with a dribble of sweet chilli sauce, plus a bit of salad and half a very crusty roll. The roll had obviously been heated one too many times and was a very hard crust and no bread inside. It was veined with something orange'ish - We have no idea what as it was tasteless. When my partner asked the frosty waitress why he had been served with a singular fishcake when the menu said 'Fishcakes', she ignored him and walked off.

My own starter, the black pudding and haggis stack was a thin, single slice of haggis sat on top of a single thin'ish slice of black pudding with some kind of sauce, bit of salad and the other half of my partners overly hard roll. In my opinion 2 items one on top of the other does not represent a 'Stack'. Try it yourself .............. Place one piece of paper on top of another piece of paper. Would you call that a stack?

The place seemed clean. I would recommend the staff spend less time wrapping the cutlery in napkins and stickers and more time being friendly to the customers. Considering the things the prices they charge that they had those horrible cheap plastic sachets of sauces was not what was expected.

I will say the fishcake and black pudding & haggis were lovely and with a bit of honesty when writing the menu we might of been happy enough with our choices. However, with the unwelcoming, bad manners from the staff (a smile and a bit of enthusiasm cost nothing) and the misrepresentation of the menu items we chose not to provide them with any more of our money and decided to forgo dessert.

There are numerous very good hostelries and restaurants in the area............ (Gosforth, Nether Wasdale etc) I would advise you to avoid this one. Dining out is supposed to be an enjoyable experience from the moment you enter the premises, obviously something the staff at the Bridge Inn at Santon do not care about.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cerebral C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
1.7 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
2.1 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
152 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
572 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#4 of 10 in Eskdale
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Santon Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santon Bridge Inn

Address: Santon Bridge, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Holmrook
Price Range: £73 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Santon Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Bridge Inn, once a modest mail coach’s halt, is now a fine, well-situated, comfortable country inn offering hospitality to all travelers and visitors being close to Wastwater (Britain’s favourite view) and Scafell. Well behaved dogs are also welcome. The Western Lakes and Fells are spectacular and here in this quiet valley there is still the peace and tranquility that should be Lakeland. There are still more sheep than people!!! Excellent "REAL" food, "REAL" Ales, Log Fires and a "reet good welcome." Standards of accommodation today's travelers expect. "Home from home for the tired business person and the weary fell walker." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Santon Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santon Bridge Hotel Holmrook
The Santon Bridge Inn Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing