We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going back was so nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Post Office Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Going back was so nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We found this campsite lasy year and were so impressed we are returning over Easter weekend. The river is a magnet for the kids, George the site owners dog is an added bonus.... free entertainment for the kids. Showers lovely never had to queue, toilets clean. pub is a short walk and very nice for eating out. There is a little coffee shop up the road which is again a short walk. Feels like you are in the middle of nowhere because you are.... so stock up at Gosforth on the way there. Loved every minute of our break stargazing on an evening was magical. would recommend to families and couples alike.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    20
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We made the decision to buy a tent! This was our first camping trip! We took our 3 boys (9, 10 & 14) and the dog.
Having booked into to a nearby site several weeks before our trip, the night before our trip, we decided to check out the reviews of the site we had booked, probably the best thing we did, they were horrendous! In a panic we searched for another site and stumbled across The Old Post Office, it had good reviews and at 10 'o' clock that night we called to see if they had space, the voice at the end of the phone put us at ease immediately, 'don't worry, we can fit you in, no problem bringing the dog, see you tomorrow'!
On arriving at the site we were met by the owner and the infamous George! We were able to choose from 3 pitches and just left to get on with it.
We pitched up beside the flowing river which the children played in for the 3 days we were there, along with George the site dog and several tennis balls!
The site was peaceful, relaxed, clean and very well kept, all in all it made for a perfect first camping trip, we will definitely be visiting again and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simbacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The campsite is in an ideal location if you want peace and tranquility-we stayed next to the flowing river....site lovely and clean, owner leaves you alone to get on with your camping .....showers are 50p (10 mins) not £1 as some people say on here........there is a pub two minute walk (sells real ale) dont know what the food is like (beer garden) over looks the campsite, know shops if you run out of food for camping (take your own supplies), pleasant walks either by foot or by car. If your thinking of driving the quick way to Windermere/Ambleside while the views are amazing if your not a confident driver go the long way round as roads are VERY steep. We will definately be staying here again

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gillybean6664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

I really don't do tents!! I want a bed and a shower. Ok so I gave it a go, but for one night only. We arrived at the campsite and met up with friends at about 4pm it was raining. We pitched the tent next to the river that flows along the side of the campsite. We then set off to the pub, that is directly oppisite, The Bridge End. It was full because yes it was still raining. we got a table for 5 and the dog very easily and our food arrived quickly.
Back at the campsite there was a very clean shower and toilet block, I was impressed. also a washing machine and dryer, I'm sure if we had been staying longer I would have needed to use them as the rain didn't stop. Next day (no rain) we went of to Wastwater, which is only 3 miles up the road. Spectacular!! a must if your staying here.
So will I do it again? YES but with a bigger and dryer tent not the £20 special my boyfriend bought!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deatqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Very welcoming campsite at a great price. Lovely spot right next to the river. Lovely pub about 30 seconds walk away serving delicious food and they also offer breakfast. Owner and his dog George were a nice surprise - infact we couldn't get rid of George after we made the mistake of throwing his ball once for him!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswaldtwistle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

This site is lovely and in a very pretty location next to the river. It is well kept and the toilets and showers were very clean. Gareth who manages the site and his dog George were very friendly and welcoming. (Thanks to Gareth's sister and her 2 friends who were visiting for the weekend for keeping me company on Sat night) The only critiscm was the hairdryer in the ladies which was neither use or ornament, and there was nowhere to plug in your own. However it wouldn't put me off staying there again.
We can definately recommend The Woodlands tea room which is about a 5 min walk from the site - the cakes there are delicious!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenH_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

Site pleasant, riverside location, tranquil, although facilties basic, toilet block very basic, no hair drying facility and in need of updating; showers expensive at £1 a go. Miles away from any shops facillties etc. nearest at Gosforth 5 miles away. Good pub next door, excellent food ( regulary local celebrity Eric Robson!!!!)
beware of the goat.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank timbobScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
1.7 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
20.6 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.8 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#2 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Post Office Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Post Office Campsite

Property: Old Post Office Campsite
Address: Santon Bridge, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Holmrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Post Office Campsite is a small family run campsite ideally situated on the western edge of the Lake District national park. First established in 1951 it has developed over the years into the perfect place to spend your holiday. Situated in the quiet village of Santon Bridge, the site is bordered on one side by the River Irt - noted for it's salmon, sea and brown trout, daily and weekly rods are available by arrangement with the owners. Short walk across the bridge is the Bridge Inn, serving bar meals and real ale. Also within walking distance is a Woodlands Tea Room and Santon Bridge gift shop, telephone kiosk and post box. Seascale, on the coast, is only 6 miles away with miles of sandy beaches, shops and childrens play area. For those who wish to travel further along the coast without driving the west coast main line at Seascale provides frequent and speedy travel to all coastal towns in Cumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Old Post Office Campsite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Post Office Campsite Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing