We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old post office campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Post Office Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

First ever camping trip to a formal campsite, This is a family run campsite, we had a kind welcome/reception, lovely location, campsite, babbling brook, pub, stone bridge, the campsite is pan handle shaped, we stayed in the handle end on the river side, probably best location is on the road side of the handle. The facilities include separate male and female ablusion blocks, that were spotlessly clean throughout the stay, and the site was fairly busy, and though small,2 lavatories and 2 showers per block. we never had to queue. I would highly recommend this location for a visit, by campers, caravan and campervaners.

Room Tip: Visit wast water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at this site in the Western Lakes. Lovely peaceful site with 40 pitches so even when it was almost full on Friday it still felt peaceful.We pitched by the river & I would recommend this - lovely to go to sleep to the sound of the river. Very clean facilities - 50 p for a hot shower which lasts 10 mins. Close to a pub and a lovely tea room. Only downside for me was that it clearly said dogs should be on leads but a lot were not & I am not a fan of having dogs visit me as I am actually scared of dogs. This rule may be difficult to enforce as the owners dog has free roam of the site.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cate19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Lovely campsite,the owners are very friendly an helpful. Dogs are excepted on the site. Infact the owners have a dog called George,who meets and greets everyone. You will see him wonder round the site making friends. (They also have a kitten called Tipsy,which nearly came home with us,its adorable). The campsite is very clean. We were pitched up next to the river,lovely to sit and watch the world go by in a morning with a cuppa. The shower block is kept very clean,and costs 50p for 10mins. Also the is a laundry room,and several sinks to wash pots up. There is a shed where you can get all the info leaflets about things in the area. Next door is a pub,that does pricey meals. Up the road is a tearoom and gift shop,and a garage and shop at the end of the road. We had a lovely 3 days and would go again,but dont take the hardknott pass to get there,unless you have a car with a big engine. Our car refused to go up.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We used this site during a charity walk as a base and it worked well. Good clean facilities. Showers and toilets clean, and a pub very close. Ideal as a base camp for Wasdale. Overall the site is flat and dry, however we were made aware that in wet periods the plain can flood and be boggy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Arrived sceptical of the site quality due to flooding, but site was dry and suitable for tents and caravans.

Slight mix up with pitches and we all ended up squeezing in as they had double booked so we were pressed up in a corner on a slope, bit muddy when raining but we coped.

Toilet and shower facilities very clean always smelt a bit lemon and bleachy too strong but at least clean, only 2 toilets and 2 showers so can queue.

Pub near enough on site, allows dogs

All In all a good weekend, prob will stick to fisher ground though as they allow fires and here didn't so midge bites are a definite!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsH152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We found this campsite lasy year and were so impressed we are returning over Easter weekend. The river is a magnet for the kids, George the site owners dog is an added bonus.... free entertainment for the kids. Showers lovely never had to queue, toilets clean. pub is a short walk and very nice for eating out. There is a little coffee shop up the road which is again a short walk. Feels like you are in the middle of nowhere because you are.... so stock up at Gosforth on the way there. Loved every minute of our break stargazing on an evening was magical. would recommend to families and couples alike.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We made the decision to buy a tent! This was our first camping trip! We took our 3 boys (9, 10 & 14) and the dog.
Having booked into to a nearby site several weeks before our trip, the night before our trip, we decided to check out the reviews of the site we had booked, probably the best thing we did, they were horrendous! In a panic we searched for another site and stumbled across The Old Post Office, it had good reviews and at 10 'o' clock that night we called to see if they had space, the voice at the end of the phone put us at ease immediately, 'don't worry, we can fit you in, no problem bringing the dog, see you tomorrow'!
On arriving at the site we were met by the owner and the infamous George! We were able to choose from 3 pitches and just left to get on with it.
We pitched up beside the flowing river which the children played in for the 3 days we were there, along with George the site dog and several tennis balls!
The site was peaceful, relaxed, clean and very well kept, all in all it made for a perfect first camping trip, we will definitely be visiting again and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Simbacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
1.7 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
9.5 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
392 reviews
19.2 mi away
Newby Bridge Country Caravan Park
0.8 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Post Office Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Post Office Campsite

Address: Santon Bridge, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Holmrook
Price Range: £17 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Post Office Campsite is a small family run campsite ideally situated on the western edge of the Lake District national park. First established in 1951 it has developed over the years into the perfect place to spend your holiday. Scafell pike is only 5 miles away which makes us one of the closest campsites to explore Wasdale . Eskdale is a short drive and equally beautiful including the incredible hardknott pass!!! Situated in the quiet village of Santon Bridge, the site is bordered on one side by the River Irt - noted for it's salmon, sea and brown trout, daily and weekly rods are available by arrangement with the owners. Short walk across the bridge is the Bridge Inn, serving bar meals and real ale. Also within walking distance is a Woodlands Tea Room and Santon Bridge gift shop and post box. Seascale, on the coast, is only 6 miles away with miles of sandy beaches, shops and childrens play area. For those who wish to travel further along the coast without driving the west coast main line at Seascale provides frequent and speedy travel to all coastal towns in Cumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Old Post Office Campsite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Post Office Campsite Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing