We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Post Office Campsite
Nearby Hotels
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ennerdale Country House Hotel(Cleator)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(St Bees)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacote Hotel(St Bees)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
69
24
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
24
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverthe ownerlovely sitethe pubcamping tripsmall sitelovely walkflat pitchesbridge innwell behavedwashing machine and dryerperfect spotelectric hook upsown deviceslovely locationshort walkbeautiful area
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Found this site on the internet while looking for somewhere to stay in the lake district, we are so glad we found this campsite its in a wonderful location with excellent hosts. The hosts were so helpful and accommodating we picked a pitch that required a longer electrical hookup and they came to the rescue which meant we could pitch near the water like we hoped we could. they used a splitter for the electricity and gave us a loan of an extension. George the dog was a character and the cat was so cute. The actual location was ideal for us although not avid walkers the views were amazing and plenty of walks for us to enjoy. I would certainly recommend this site to anyone who wishes to tour the lake district. Very family and pet friendly. Kids have a ball. We will definately return soon. Hope you have as good a time as we did.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed there in a tent for 2 nights in july, and I'd recommend this site to others. Electric hookup available for tents which is a bonus. Nice and quiet and in a great location. Not much else to say really.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We turned up on spec and although mostly booked up, the very friendly people found us a beautiful corner spot for our tent. Everything you need is provided whilst retaining a low key and rural feel. The pub is a stone's throw serving local ale and good food.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank KLM123411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Well located quiet little site(aprox 40 pitches, 20 with EHP) with good facilities and dog friendly, which is family run.

Arrived to a warm welcome on the friday and given the choice of pitches, the pitches are well spaced and the central point off the field kept clear to allow kids to play to the full when not at capacity. We pitched near the river, which was great to fall asleep to the sound of.

The facilities are great for a camp site. Theres 2 undercover washing up points each with 2 sinks and drinking water taps. I was amazed at always having decent hot water which is often not there when camping. The toilets and showers were kept spotless (showers are 50p for 10mins & very sufficient power showers so as hot as you like). The site also has a laundry which if staying for a week or more is ideal along with 2 free freezers to refreeze your cool blocks.

The site is very dog friendly and the owners dog is often mooching about to entertain the kids or just for a cuddle.

Ideally placed for the ravens glass & eskdale railway. Having seen the Fisherground site from the rail it was not our cup of tea and looked very busy and regimented. The old post office is the far better choice, will defiantly be back possibly for a week next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Just come back from a lovely 4 days camping on this lovely little campsite. We found it in April on a walking weekend with friends, we were camping on the horrendous military run " fisherground" a few miles away, and we got a nice feeling about the campsite, we booked it for our 31st wedding anniversary on 27 th July, we arrived to lovely weather too!!! . The campsite is set in gorgeous surroundings and is very quiet and layed back, the showers and toilets are MINT, and always hot water to wash up etc, everybody is friendly and helpfully if needed. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Debandreawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews