We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Campsite!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Post Office Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
2 reviews
“Fantastic Campsite!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at The Old Post Office Campsite on Saturday 24th May for 3 nights, as soon as we arrived we were greeted by the owner, who was very friendly and welcoming. He showed us our pitch and we set up.
The site is in a lovely location and the surroundings are just beautiful. I have noticed a few people commenting on the fact that it costs 50p for a shower, we found that it didn't matter as the showers were lovely! They are extremely clean and tidy and the water gets VERY hot, which was lovely when it was so cold outside!!!! We found the shower block to be VERY clean and warm! The owner did regular checks of the site, speaking to everyone! He made sure that the sink areas were clean and free of rubbish and dirt. The shower block was cleaned regularly too.
We took 2 dogs on our camping trip and the owners did not bat an eyelid, very dog friendly!
We had a lovely weekend at The Old Post Office Campsite and we would definitely return soon!
Our tent pitch was directly in front of the river, which was beautiful and peaceful! All in all we had a fantastic weekend :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amiedee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    20
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

A lovely small family run site with great facilities. Good access to Wasdale
5 or so miles away. Highly recommended. Local pub is a two minute walk away, great food, wine and local ales. You will also meet George the Labrador!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We have just spent three nights at this campsite.
Very nice, very idilic, with the bonus of having a pub with great food within spitting distance. Highly recommended. The only down side was the kids playing football. There is no play area for kids to play ball games so they tend to play in the middle of the campsite, in amongst the caravans tents and cars, gets a bit tedious having the tranquility shattered with the thump thump of a full size football being kicked about yards from your tent and car. We were paranoid about the ball coming through our very large and expensive tent. The parents weren't bothered as long as it wasn't near their stuff. If I was the owner I would not allow ball games, at all, the site isn't big enough. As I say that was the only down side. Otherwise a lovely site in beautiful scenery.
We will go back.
But please stop the ball games.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogi1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

A lovely family run campsite.

We arrived on a Friday evening in mid October for a 3 night stay and we welcomed in a friendly manor by the owner. We had a choice of pitches all of which were on well kept level pitches.

The river runs alongside the campsite which adds to the tranquil setting.

The site has good clean facilities made up of laundry room, washing up area, ladies and mens toilets with good showers.

There is a pub just over the bridge which serves delicious food and a good pint.

Ideal campsite in an ideal location for walking the fells.

Will certainly be back....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alister_Down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This campsite is great it has all the facilities you'd expect, however take some 50p pieces if you intend using the showers - this is the only draw back I found with this place. I don't recall it being advised on the website that showers were 'extra'. The location is perfect, there's a lovely river running by the edge of the site and a friendly pub over the bridge. I'd recommend this place to everyone and would defo return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Found this site on the internet while looking for somewhere to stay in the lake district, we are so glad we found this campsite its in a wonderful location with excellent hosts. The hosts were so helpful and accommodating we picked a pitch that required a longer electrical hookup and they came to the rescue which meant we could pitch near the water like we hoped we could. they used a splitter for the electricity and gave us a loan of an extension. George the dog was a character and the cat was so cute. The actual location was ideal for us although not avid walkers the views were amazing and plenty of walks for us to enjoy. I would certainly recommend this site to anyone who wishes to tour the lake district. Very family and pet friendly. Kids have a ball. We will definately return soon. Hope you have as good a time as we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed there in a tent for 2 nights in july, and I'd recommend this site to others. Electric hookup available for tents which is a bonus. Nice and quiet and in a great location. Not much else to say really.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
1.7 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
20.6 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.8 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Post Office Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Post Office Campsite

Property: Old Post Office Campsite
Address: Santon Bridge, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Holmrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Post Office Campsite is a small family run campsite ideally situated on the western edge of the Lake District national park. First established in 1951 it has developed over the years into the perfect place to spend your holiday. Situated in the quiet village of Santon Bridge, the site is bordered on one side by the River Irt - noted for it's salmon, sea and brown trout, daily and weekly rods are available by arrangement with the owners. Short walk across the bridge is the Bridge Inn, serving bar meals and real ale. Also within walking distance is a Woodlands Tea Room and Santon Bridge gift shop, telephone kiosk and post box. Seascale, on the coast, is only 6 miles away with miles of sandy beaches, shops and childrens play area. For those who wish to travel further along the coast without driving the west coast main line at Seascale provides frequent and speedy travel to all coastal towns in Cumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Old Post Office Campsite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Post Office Campsite Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing