We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERNITE STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Hotel is warm and friendly with an excellent menu, with quality cooked food served in the restaurant.
Good range of beers and spirits. Bar meals served looked excellent.
Hotel has had exstensive updating and our room was excellent (room 9), with lots of space to move around.
Plenty of car parking space.
Staff very friendly with nothing to much trouble.
Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice.
Dining room is spacious with plenty of room around tables.
Would recommend hotel as a good base for touring around or overnite stays.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 overlook gardens and are quiet. Room 9 has plenty of space and is well furnished wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEVIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and would definitely stay here again. We stayed in Room 10, which is away from the road, so we didn't experience any road noise. The room had recently been refurbished and was very comfortable - the mattress felt expensive and we had the best nights' sleep we'd had in years! We paid £75 a night and were expecting a basic B+B, but it is definitely way above this in terms of what you get for your money. Despite being quite a low-cost hotel, great care had been taken with the decor in the room and the free wifi was much appreciated. Everything was spotlessly clean and well thought out. The room price included a very tasty (and not at all greasy) fried breakfast, in the sunny and pleasant dining room. We also had an evening meal there one evening - the menu looks basic, but the quality and presentation of the food was excellent! During our stay, Elena and Mike went out of their way to provide us with fantastic hospitality, without invading our privacy, so we feel that they got the balance spot on. We used the hotel as a base for walking up Scafell Pike, as this is nearby, and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fizzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed for just one night, but the owners of the Lutwidge Arms made us feel at home. We were traveling through The Lake District with our 13 month old daughter. The Lutwidge made her feel so welcome. They provided a travel cot, but we brought our own so we used that. The room was very clean and had plenty of room for our Pack N Play. They let us use their baby monitor (as we had forgotten ours), so we could dine in the bar area without worrying about our daughter sleeping upstairs. The food was great too! The cost was very reasonable. I can't thank them enough for making our stay so enjoyable and relaxing.

Room Tip: Room 14 was fantastic for a travel cot. It is L-shaped, so the cot fit around the corner, so our da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsoh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

From the warm welcome we received from Mike to the room, food and secure parking for our motorbikes this hotels is wonderful. The room was spacious, nice decor, lovely views, very comfortable bed and a huge bathroom. Breakfast and evening meal were very good. If like us you are looking for a base to explore Cumbria you couldn't do better than this hotel. Our bikes were locked overnight is a secure barn and Mike gave us good tips on ride outs. Would recommend to anyone looking for good value, good food and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capstix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I only stayed for one night as I had business in the area but will certainly return for a longer break.
I was made me feel very welcome and I was delighed to discover they offer free wifi.
My room was glorious, so spacious that it felt like a suite, and a very comfortable bed. My bedroom and bathroom were also immaculate in cleanliness.
I ate in the bar in the evening which has a lovely friendly atmosphere. There were some well kept real ales on tap and my food was very fresh and tasty; the portions are so generous I could only manage toast for breakfast in the morning!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Possibly the worst hotel i have stayed in for some time - on business so only one night and not a huge issue but still they have problems.

The room provided was cold damp and dirty and the staff have no notion of customer service.

Room Tip: If you are put in the annex (a converted building in the car park) change hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GC-4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickychipps, Owner at Lutwidge Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

This "reviewer" stayed at our Hotel a year ago having booked our smallest, least expensive economy-single room.which was next in our programme of refurbishment. This was pointed out at the time and due to the fact all other rooms were taken, we were unable to upgrade this guest. The room in question has since been completely refurbished as planned and we have had only positive feedback regarding it. It is unfortunate that the reviewer waited twelve months to post this review which makes it difficult for us to deal with it accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I've stayed at this hotel many times now whilst travelling on business. It's family atmosphere is very relaxing at night, and you always get a warm welcome. The food is very good - There is a large menu which caters for all tastes and the standard is excellent. I would highly recommend the hotel for business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvshoes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
2.2 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
367 reviews
2.3 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
3.8 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,271 reviews
14.5 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutwidge Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutwidge Arms Hotel

Address: Holmrook | A595, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmrook
Price Range: £70 - £1,006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lutwidge Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lutwidge Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutwidge Arms Hotel Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing