We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly family-run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmrook
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very friendly family-run hotel”
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Excellent food, freshly cooked, wide choice of menu and at a reasonable price.
A good selection of locally brewed ales, there were four on offer during our stay and again at reasonable prices.
The owners we found caring and attentive, nothing was too much trouble.
The accommodation was spotless and of a good standard.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderers65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    46
    2
    8
    6
See reviews for
25
60
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed here one night to attend the local Thomas the Tank Engine event at Ravenglass. For the money we paid we were expecting more and we left wanting more. It does feel more like a B&B than a hotel and based on the location and the facilities, believe it should be priced a touch lower for the bed & breakfast rate.
Room is very spacious and the free wi-fi a real positive in the UK. Breakfast perfect. Only real negative is the noise from the speedy commuters from 0530 onwards (this was a Monday morn so perhaps wends are quieter).
Overall, average hotel and if we were to return to the area we would be keen to try another hotel to experience somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Travelled from Birmingham to the Ludwidge arms, broke down on the motorway and eventually arrived at 2.30 am. Mike the owner and a local John waited up to greet us and make sure we have a great stay in this hotel. John went out of his way and took us up Scafell Pike the following day. The dinner menu and local ales are exactly what is required after a long mountain climb and the beds and rooms comfy, spacious and reasonably priced.

5 of us went there and not one of us has stopped talking about how friendly the owners and guests were and how much of a good time we had. I will recommend The Ludwidge Arms to anyone who is going to be in this area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelNCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbury
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We have just returned from 4 wonderful nights at the Lutwidge Arms. We were made so welcome by Michael and Elena and the local people especially John. They were very informative about the local area and we had some wonderful trips out to the sea and Eskdale and Ennerdale in particular.
We were looked after very well and nothing was too much trouble ( even asking for mountains of milk for our tea!!)
The room was very comfortable and kept spotless.
The food was wonderful and lots of it. I enjoyed the chocolate cake especially.
Clive was very impressed by the range of beer on tap and how well it was kept.
Charlie was a sweetheart and even shared her chocolate buttons with me!!!
We would go again tomorrow and look forward to our next visit
Clive and Sue Leech xxx

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleech53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

stayed here 1 night and would never stay here again even if it was a free stay. the husband of the polish owner is a snoop and goes in to your room when out and stands outside the bedroom door using a lame excuse that he was doing the rounds, which i find a bit strange as there were only 4 rooms booked out of the 15 rooms, he accused us of smoking in the room and said he could smell it out in the corridor but we were not the only room being used in that corridor as there were a couple facing us. i held my hands up 2 smoking 1 cigarette out the bathroom window late that night as it was raining and we couldnt go outside. it would of been impossible for him to have smelt any smoke in the room when he went up to check it when i was leaving the key in the next morning. he totally exagerated the situation and when we got home he took a lump sum out of my partners account without any authorisation. we paid the hotel on arrival a very over priced 75.00 as they said they were not able to take a deposit out of the debit card 4 some reason but were able to take money out of it 4 a so called room cleaning charge. we were also accused of stealing items from the room but he didnt say what these items were meant to be as we did not even take a towel. the proprioters are very rude and espicialy him. the hotel is over priced and sells it by saying there are lots of wild life near by but in all honesty your lucky if you see a common bird. breakfast was a joke if you like a half cooked cumberland sausage and not even a yougart , just a choice of 2 cereals. my advice is steer clear of this expensive excuse of a 3 star AA hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cameron38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickychipps, Owner at Lutwidge Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
We have a "no smoking in the rooms" policy at our hotel which is clearly displayed throughout the premises. During the usual final nightly check where we lock up and turn off unwanted lights, it was apparent that the guests concerned had obviously been smoking inside their room. There was a strong presence of cigarette smoke in the passage directly outside their door. However, due to the late hour and the absence of noise or lights from the room it was considered appropriate to deal with the matter in the morning. I raised the matter the next morning with the female guest who initially denied anyone had smoked in the room. I asked her to accompany me to the room whereupon she then stated that they had each smoked one cigarette. On later examination the room had a strong residue of cigarettes which meant the room needed a total bedding and linen change and the curtains would require sanitising. We do not expect subsequent guests to tolerate the odours of cigarettes from previous guests in rooms that are meant to be "no smoking" . When this occurs, we take the necessary steps to return the room to it's original state, the unavoidable cost of which we pass on to the appropriate guest. In this case, the female guest was informed that we would be making a charge to clean the room. She merely stated that she didn't think it was that important and that we were over-reacting. She then left with her partner. Readers of this review might wish to question the validity of the ridiculous claims made in it in the light of these circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

just stayed for 4 nights at the lutwidge and really enjoyed my stay, the owners were very friendly and helpful and their daughter (charlie) is a little princess, the food was very good and so was the beer, pity the bar doesn`t open till 6pm though

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2010

After completing the nail biteing journey up the Hard Knott pass the Lutwidge arms was like a bright light, we stayed one night and had a fantastic night in the pub for dinner and crawled up the stairs to our extremely comfortable room. Breakfast was beautiful and am looking forward to another stay there in 2011.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
20.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
351 reviews
22.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
20.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutwidge Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutwidge Arms Hotel

Property: Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Address: Holmrook | A595, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lutwidge Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Lutwidge Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutwidge Arms Hotel Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing