We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2011

I stayed at The Lut, as the locals call it, for one night on a business trip. The landlady warned me before I booked that they were undergoing some maintenance work. I was travelling by train and the landlord was good enough to collect me from the local station and return me the following day after my meeting. The room had a little fresh plaster around the new sash windows, but apart from that was comfortable, as was the bed. In the bar the locals were friendly and the real ale was very good, with a good selection. The menu was huge, so when I enquired with the landlord as to his recommendation he made the choice even more difficult by offering T bone that had not yet been added to the menu!. I decided on the T bone and when it arrived it was huge, superbly cooked and with chips, mushrooms, onion rings and fresh salad. The homemade dessert was also delicious. The breakfast was also very good, with a good choice. I will definitely be returning for a walking trip soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taffy567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

We've just back what a lovely place. The bar was very relaxing and friendly, the beer and food was of top quality. The room we had was very clean and well appointed with a flat screen tv to top it off. All the staff were most helpful and the end value for money was great. Would we stay again, most certainly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peggary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Excellent food, freshly cooked, wide choice of menu and at a reasonable price.
A good selection of locally brewed ales, there were four on offer during our stay and again at reasonable prices.
The owners we found caring and attentive, nothing was too much trouble.
The accommodation was spotless and of a good standard.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderers65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed here one night to attend the local Thomas the Tank Engine event at Ravenglass. For the money we paid we were expecting more and we left wanting more. It does feel more like a B&B than a hotel and based on the location and the facilities, believe it should be priced a touch lower for the bed & breakfast rate.
Room is very spacious and the free wi-fi a real positive in the UK. Breakfast perfect. Only real negative is the noise from the speedy commuters from 0530 onwards (this was a Monday morn so perhaps wends are quieter).
Overall, average hotel and if we were to return to the area we would be keen to try another hotel to experience somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Travelled from Birmingham to the Ludwidge arms, broke down on the motorway and eventually arrived at 2.30 am. Mike the owner and a local John waited up to greet us and make sure we have a great stay in this hotel. John went out of his way and took us up Scafell Pike the following day. The dinner menu and local ales are exactly what is required after a long mountain climb and the beds and rooms comfy, spacious and reasonably priced.

5 of us went there and not one of us has stopped talking about how friendly the owners and guests were and how much of a good time we had. I will recommend The Ludwidge Arms to anyone who is going to be in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelNCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We have just returned from 4 wonderful nights at the Lutwidge Arms. We were made so welcome by Michael and Elena and the local people especially John. They were very informative about the local area and we had some wonderful trips out to the sea and Eskdale and Ennerdale in particular.
We were looked after very well and nothing was too much trouble ( even asking for mountains of milk for our tea!!)
The room was very comfortable and kept spotless.
The food was wonderful and lots of it. I enjoyed the chocolate cake especially.
Clive was very impressed by the range of beer on tap and how well it was kept.
Charlie was a sweetheart and even shared her chocolate buttons with me!!!
We would go again tomorrow and look forward to our next visit
Clive and Sue Leech xxx

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleech53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

stayed here 1 night and would never stay here again even if it was a free stay. the husband of the polish owner is a snoop and goes in to your room when out and stands outside the bedroom door using a lame excuse that he was doing the rounds, which i find a bit strange as there were only 4 rooms booked out of the 15 rooms, he accused us of smoking in the room and said he could smell it out in the corridor but we were not the only room being used in that corridor as there were a couple facing us. i held my hands up 2 smoking 1 cigarette out the bathroom window late that night as it was raining and we couldnt go outside. it would of been impossible for him to have smelt any smoke in the room when he went up to check it when i was leaving the key in the next morning. he totally exagerated the situation and when we got home he took a lump sum out of my partners account without any authorisation. we paid the hotel on arrival a very over priced 75.00 as they said they were not able to take a deposit out of the debit card 4 some reason but were able to take money out of it 4 a so called room cleaning charge. we were also accused of stealing items from the room but he didnt say what these items were meant to be as we did not even take a towel. the proprioters are very rude and espicialy him. the hotel is over priced and sells it by saying there are lots of wild life near by but in all honesty your lucky if you see a common bird. breakfast was a joke if you like a half cooked cumberland sausage and not even a yougart , just a choice of 2 cereals. my advice is steer clear of this expensive excuse of a 3 star AA hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cameron38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickychipps, Owner at Lutwidge Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2010

We have a "no smoking in the rooms" policy at our hotel which is clearly displayed throughout the premises. During the usual final nightly check where we lock up and turn off unwanted lights, it was apparent that the guests concerned had obviously been smoking inside their room. There was a strong presence of cigarette smoke in the passage directly outside their door. However, due to the late hour and the absence of noise or lights from the room it was considered appropriate to deal with the matter in the morning. I raised the matter the next morning with the female guest who initially denied anyone had smoked in the room. I asked her to accompany me to the room whereupon she then stated that they had each smoked one cigarette. On later examination the room had a strong residue of cigarettes which meant the room needed a total bedding and linen change and the curtains would require sanitising. We do not expect subsequent guests to tolerate the odours of cigarettes from previous guests in rooms that are meant to be "no smoking" . When this occurs, we take the necessary steps to return the room to it's original state, the unavoidable cost of which we pass on to the appropriate guest. In this case, the female guest was informed that we would be making a charge to clean the room. She merely stated that she didn't think it was that important and that we were over-reacting. She then left with her partner. Readers of this review might wish to question the validity of the ridiculous claims made in it in the light of these circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
2.3 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
367 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
20.2 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
526 reviews
14.5 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutwidge Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutwidge Arms Hotel

Address: Holmrook | A595, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmrook
Price Range: £74 - £1,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lutwidge Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lutwidge Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutwidge Arms Hotel Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing