We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great facts and beautiful surroundings.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Menthon-Saint-Bernard

Chateau de Menthon-Saint-Bernard
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great facts and beautiful surroundings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

I went to this chateau with a friend ad some bits were better than others. We did the tour which I think was 8 or 9 euros and had students in period costume acting as the people who lived there and giving information. It was only in French but we were given a leaflet in English but it would have been nice to be able to ask some questions in English. The tour itself was pretty good, although it only showed a fraction of the chateau and would have been nice to see a bit more. The land around it is also really pretty, when driving up through the bush and then being able to see all of the paragliders catching thermals in the hills beside it. It was interesting about how the dogs were bred there and also how apparently Walt Disney got inspiration from there for his Disney castle. So overall I'd say it's well worth the visit :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    61
    22
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Well worth a trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We cycled from Doussard to the chateau starting off on the flat next to Lake Annecy. beautiful! We then had a huge climb for about 4 miles ( a lot of moaning from 2 teenage girls!!) There is the option of going into the chateau or just paying 1 euro each to go around the grounds, which is what we chose to do. The views are spectacular & the sky is full of paragliders which is fabulous to watch. Could do with a cafe though!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank carronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We found the castle very disappointing. It has an interesting history and we had high expectations. However, in each room there is an 'actor' who is dressed up and gives you some of the history of the place (in French).

However, the actors turned out to be teenagers (rather giggly ones in one room) who recited their scripts at high speed as if they'd been told to get the groups of tourists to move on as quickly as possible. Consequently there was little time to look round and the atmosphere was very staged. Never again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Victor_Delta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

This Chateau has been in the same family for over 1000 years. They have opened up 8 rooms for viewing by the public. All are furnished and in excellent condition. This is the family that bred the St. Bernard breed. They have always helped travelers and welcomed visitors. A real treat to see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

An easy 20 minute drive from Annecy. Parking is ample and the free is affordable. At the time of the visit a Lamborghini club was also visiting, so the cars parked inside the gates were fun to look at.

The entry to the castle was a bit confusing. There were only 4 of us on the tour (including us). It was a weekend, so there were kids dressed up in period costuming giving us information (only in French). They did give us a pamphlet in English, but it would have been nice to understand what the guide was saying. The castle was quite beautiful and well decorated.

Worth the visit if you have the time. Great story behind the St. Bernard dog name. :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cvkevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau de Menthon-Saint-Bernard also viewed

 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Chateau de Menthon-Saint-Bernard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing