We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable,old fashioned,wonderful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Palace de Menthon
Phuket, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“comfortable,old fashioned,wonderful views”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

A very dated but comfortable hotel, with excellent breakfast and stunning position on the Lake Annecy shore
Good facilities,indoor pool, lovely gardens, but, the summer restaurant was a bit of a joke; in a tent by the water's edge, but food mediocre to awful.
We ate at Talloires second night.
Next to no service ,although reception staff were polite and efficient.
An enormous turn of the century building seemingly out of place in it's setting.
didn't really seem French!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedjspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    233
    133
    56
    24
See reviews for
105
326
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed there August 6-9, 2011. Great hotel. The staff was fine for what I needed. Food was great, no complaints. Rooms were clean and the housekeeping was fantastic as well. The view overlooking the lake was fabulous. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drosen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Undoubtedly a grand hotel in its day, but now needs some overhauling ! Quite a way from town, but suitable for those who want to get away from the bustle of cities or if having a corporate meeting.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IskandarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Most rooms are at the front with beautiful lake views in this picture perfect hotel. Our room (207) was on the 2nd floor with a balcony had a lovely bathroom with over bath shower, hot water was excellent. The bed was a very comfortable double with nice white cotton sheets/duvet and good pillows (not always the case in France). We had a desk & chair as well as an armchair with tv with CNN available. There was a walk in wardrobe with fridge (soft drinks complimentary). There is also a seperate toilet. The room was a bit tired at the edges but the view just eclipses everything else and the furnishings are top class. We had really good nights sleep. The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially as we speak virtually no french.

Expensive breakfast at 15 euros each but it was nice: fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, yogurt, various croissants, boiled eggs, bagettes, jam, honey - help yourself and machine for coffee. We did not use the pool but it looked good. The bar is nice and has a lovely balcony overlooking the grounds and lake. The grounds are amazing with sweeping staircases up to the entrance. Private front to the lake and a bandstand in the grounds from which you can get straight into the lake to swim.

There is a restaurant inside the hotel which we did not use and a restaurant in the grounds inside a large marquee fitted out as a bedoin tent all red and gold with sofas etc. The food there was very good and we felt reasonably priced at 40 euros for 3 courses (July 2011). We were in the hotel for 2 nights and ate in this restaurant both nights although we could easily have gone to other restaurants.

We loved the hotel and would certainly go again, subject to the cost, which for us was a luxury 2 nights during a 17 night holiday at more modest accomodation. We paid 170 euros a night in July 2011.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony on 1,2 or 3 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Spent one evening here on the beginning of a weekend break, and it was a great start to the weekend. Lovely staff, rooms adequate, if a little on teh small side however. But bathroom was modern with all "mod cons" . Would recommend taking a lake view room however as the views from this hotel are truly stunning!!! it was a shame that the main restaurant was closed during our stay, and it appeared for the summer, but the beach restaurant as they called it (lake side is more correct) served truly excellent food at a very favourable price. Great atmosphere and very friendly service. I would certainly reccomend this hotel and its lovely grounds. Also has a lovely interior heated pool on the lake side which is a great size and well looked after.

Room Tip: Take the Lake view rooms slightly more in price (as usual) but worth it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Our 3 day stay at Palace De Menthon was everything we could have wished for - stunning location, very comfortable rooms with great lakeside view, pretty gardens and quiet neighborhood. We found nothing wrong with the quality of the hotel or the rooms and I wouldn’t agree with some members who have written about fading décor or lack of space in the rooms. In fact we were pleasantly surprised that our standard room was very roomy, had such a fantastic lakeside view from the balcony and a closet as well. Our family of 4 fit in perfectly and enjoyed the hotel ambience to the fullest!
The façade of the hotel is really grand ..just like a palace and the property with its pretty gardens offer several beautiful vistas of the lake, mountains and elegant neighborhood villas. There’s an indoor pool so we made most use of the warm waters when the temperatures outside dipped to 15s. Agreed that the staff is not overly friendly or going out of their way to make you comfortable…but there’s nothing that we lacked for. One must be prepared for ‘self-service’ kind of attitude over here….so you won’t have porters carrying your bags or any concierge advising you about restaurants in the area or day-trips around the area. But that’s fine since we walked around and discovered good restaurants just 1 km away and also at Veyrier Du Lac. We already had researched about the area and were planning to visit Chamonix , Geneva etc, so had taken directions to these places from the Net. We didn’t eat any meals here as we discovered a superb restaurant at Veyrier Du Lac facing the lake. I would say the staff is competent enough as our checkin/checkout was handled speedily without any hassles; our rooms were always clean courtesy housekeeping and we could constantly see their staff tending to the gardens, lawns, cleaning the hotel etc. So it certainly didn’t look like a place which needed any more upkeep or maintenance.
This is a very reasonably priced hotel, considering the comfortable rooms, superb views and grand hotel décor…so perhaps the fact that the place is not buzzing with warm and helpful staff is to be overlooked. Anywhere else in France I guess the price would be much much more for a similarly picturesque looking hotel. The location of the hotel in the unassuming village of Menthon St Bernard was perfect for us…as we got our peace and quiet…as well as the more modern town of Annecy was just a 15 min drive away, for those who would prefer a more ‘happening’ neighborhood.
Don’t forget to try Paragliding at Doussrad which is just 10 mins away…and it is an experience not to be missed! We would certainly recommend Hotel Palace Menthon to everyone and also recommend a stay in the Annecy region as an excellent base to Chamonix, Geneva, Lake Annecy to enjoy the lakes, glaciers, mountains all within easy reach.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Absolutely lovely hotel located about 8 km outside Annecy. From the outside the hotel is lovely - located up a mountain with a lovely view - very idyllic. Inside the hotel is of typical 3 star standard, even though the grandour of the place do give a great impression.

The problem with the Menthon is the staff mentality. Apart from only speaking French and not wanting to want to communicate (which I have tried before and can be worked through) they treat you like you are unwanted and with utter contempt. And this is throughout - from the person at the lobby to room service. The worst service I have ever experienced.

Due to this I can not recommend the Menthon to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menthon-Saint-Bernard
4.0 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,052 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#5 of 9 in Talloires
411 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#4 of 9 in Talloires
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Yoann Conte
Hotel Restaurant de Yoann Conte
#1 of 3 in Veyrier-Du-Lac
140 reviews
4.4 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
715 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#8 of 9 in Talloires
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palace de Menthon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palace de Menthon

Property: Le Palace de Menthon
Address: 665 route des Bains | 665 Route des Bains, 74290 Menthon-Saint-Bernard, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Menthon-Saint-Bernard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Palace de Menthon 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vast private park, with a unique view and a rare beauty, found on the shores of Lake Annecy, the Palace de Menthon continues its success story which began at the beginning of the last century. A mecca for visitors, it is refocusing its efforts on what it does best - combining tradition and modernity. Situated in Menthon Saint-Bernard, 10 km from Annecy and 40 km from Geneva , on the shores of the lake, the Palace de Menthon is accessible by car and also by boat, thanks to a small private port. The view is impressionable. From the gardens to the restaurants, from the bedrooms to the indoor swimming pool, one is left to indulge in the surrounding beauty all year round. Sheltered from the noise by both the mountains and the lake, Le Palace de Menthon is positioned high above a park which descends gently towards the sides of the lake. Ideal for recharging ones batteries for a day, a weekend or several days, Le Palace de Menthon has created a unique sense of welcoming its guests with warmth and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Palace de Menthon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palace De Menthon Hotel Menthon-Saint-Bernard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing