We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location to die for, still struggling with its 4th star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Palace de Menthon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Palace de Menthon
Bucks. UK
Level Contributor
392 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Location to die for, still struggling with its 4th star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a 3rd floor room with magnificent views, 3 windows, spacious and bright. Newly refurbished bathroom and walk in wardrobe. But we only had 6 hangers - for 2 people for 4 days - and despite asking for more they never arrived.

The carpet was a bit stained – would have benefitted from a quick steam clean – and the furniture a bit damaged, but coffee machine provided (some rooms did some didn’t, no obvious reason why). But did not detract from lovely light room and comfortable bed.

Staff generally very friendly and helpful, except at breakfast when there seemed to be no attempt to replenish until guests asked. It is not acceptable to run out of eggs, hot milk, hot water, plates and bowls at 9.00 when breakfast goes on till 10. When I told the waitress there were no plates or bowls she said “there is one plate” when there were 4 people waiting. The egg boiler was very low and full of scum from egg white, she lifted the lid and said "it's OK". Very odd and to be honest not typical of the hotel.

The food was absolutely superb for all our meals and the service for our group meals was impeccable.

I would recommend without hesitation but I think they have a little work to do to charge the rack rate of 295€.

There is a fantastic swimming pool, almost always to ourselves, lovely gardens, views to die for.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a lake view, be careful if you need a walk in shower as most are over the bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    214
    130
    51
    20
See reviews for
98
299
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Amazing location, amazing staff and very good quality food. Swimming pool was also a good size. Rooms are perhaps a little dated, but very clean. Beds were very good (I usually have back ache with a new bed, but not these). Location very quiet and relaxing. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

we have visited for business meetings. It is very nice, clean area at the edge of beautiful lake. Organization was good, rooms clean, little bit small, meal was great. But there is no live place for fun in the evening

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rychtar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

A gorgeous lake (Annecy), surrounded by beautiful French Alps and countryside. This place is what dreams are made of. Palace de Menthon is a boutique property with great lake facing rooms, open spaces, indoor swimming pool (that is if you would even consider it over the massive lake Annecy at your disposal). Good food and wine (can't expect anything less, you are in France) and courteous staff (now this was a pleasant surprise after Paris).

This is a perfect place to relax and rejuvenate. The only let down was the room size, but who cares, this is not a place to spend your time indoors.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mukool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culemborg
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We visit this Hotel in September 2013 with 8 persons during our Tour des Amis; a yearly tour through France.
This is a very nice hotel with nice rooms with a beautiful view over Lake Annecy.
Nice staff and we discussed a nice diner with the chef before we came over.

This was the second time we visited the hotel and for the second time there was a wedding with a lot of people.
But, nevertheless we slept very good and the weddings were very good seperated from the rest of the visiters.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have lake view, this is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
230 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Let me preface by saying it is a nice hotel. The staff is polite, the view is spectacular, the location charming.

However, it is not a palace by any means, at least from the inside. The staff is relaxed and not really up to par with the declared 4 star rating. The rooms have a tired and used look, the best part of the room is the bathroom. The balconies are miniscule. If you consider the price you pay for the room, there is a definite need for improvement. I do not care how amazing pool facilities are if I need to walk outside to get to them in winter/early spring, which defies the purpose of relaxing and getting warm in the sauna.

Stay for the view. Or drive by and stay elsewhere, more comfortable.;-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NATinCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas V, Responsable relations clients at Le Palace de Menthon, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,

Merci d’avoir pris le temps de rédiger un commentaire sur votre séjour au Palace de Menthon.
Sachez que le Palace de Menthon est le nom de l’hôtel et non sa catégorie et qu en
effet, comme vous l’écrivez si justement, il s’agit d’un hôtel 4 étoile set non d’un Palace.

L’espace détente qui comprend entre autre la piscine chauffée toute l’année à 30°C, le sauna, le Jacuzzi et le Hammam se trouvent dans l’hôtel mais avec un accès par l’extérieur. C’est ainsi que cela est décrit sur notre site et nos partenaires.

Cette zone de détente est entièrement gratuite à disposition de nos clients.

Certaines chambres ont un petit balcon ce qui est un plus pour profite de la vue, en aucun cas les descriptifs ne mentionnent autre chose.

En espérant que vous garderez un bon souvenir de votre séjour, je vous souhaite une excellente journée.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our Family spent Four nights at this Palace. This is more of a Palace than a Hôtel. Great Place, the best Location One Imagines. We came at the first night quite late and were accommodated in an internally connected rooms. The location of the first floor as well as the accommodation was not very good so the morning after I have approached the reception desk and received a very warm approach, moved to a great and lovely junior suite. I highly recommend the junior suite for families. We all loved it, even more of much more luxurious hotels. The location is a winner. You are located in this small hotel, in a corner suite, full of great French windows, enjoying the fres air and the Devine view.
The hotel is highly decorated, very easy to park the car in a lot kept for the guests for free.
The surroundings are terrific, you are located on the shore and enjoy a small but private area. Absolutely great.
My kids and us enjoyed the swimming pool, too. The water are warm, so you can really swim and enjoy, this is unique, especially when comparing to other hotels we stayed in.
The breakfast - whether the weather is nice, sit outside in the balcony and have breakfast. It feels like heaven.
Absolutely a great place, the best location, we came with a rented car so we could drop by to Annecy quite easily, but you can also use the ship shuttle that is stopping in a few places.
I have already recommended the place to most of my dear colleagues.
I am thinking of visiting again, though I like to try new places, this is a must come back a hotel.
shappo

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gilkalderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menthon-Saint-Bernard
4.0 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#4 of 10 in Talloires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Cottage Bise
Le Cottage Bise
#2 of 10 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Yoann Conte
Hotel Restaurant de Yoann Conte
#1 of 3 in Veyrier-Du-Lac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#3 of 10 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palace de Menthon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palace de Menthon

Property: Le Palace de Menthon
Address: 665 route des Bains, 74290 Menthon-Saint-Bernard, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Menthon-Saint-Bernard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Palace de Menthon 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Le Palace de Menthon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palace De Menthon Hotel Menthon-Saint-Bernard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing