We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, dull town”
Review of Le Dormeur du Val

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Dormeur du Val
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The hotel has a cool, quirky design and is very hi-tech. The staff were pleasant and the buffet breakfast (i think you could also order items to your room if you want) was plentiful and tasty. Our room had a big bathroom and great shower and overlooked the courtyard, which has flowers planted in bathtubs. If I had any complaints, we struggled to get the temperature down to a reasonable level, although the presence of an additional heater suggested this isn't always the case. I'd also say some of the gadgets were there for the sake of it rather than being functional (the swivelling panel of buttons by the bed that allows you to operate the electric blinds seemed unnecessary). The hotel's design is cool enough that it didn't need to be Lastly, one wi-fi login between me and my wife seemed a bit stingy and made checking emails more difficult than it should have been. Is wi-fi really such a premium commodity nowadays?

In short, we really like the hotel, which we used as a base for exploring the surrounding countryside. The town itself though is a bit dull to say the least and has clearly seen better days.

Room Tip: They offered us rooms with or without a window (which costs more). We took one with a window but hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zanovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

Le dormeur Du Val is for sure the best hotel in Charleville and perhaps the best one in Champain County... the service is friendly and welcoming. the stuff is willing to do anything to make your stay pleasent and nice.
The design of the public area is unic, the design of the room is beatiful, relaxing and also pratical! even though the rooms are small you dont feel you are ina small romm at all. there is enough room for everything.
the bathroom is relaxing, the bath big and nice
breakfast is fresh and served in a non attitude way, in the very nice lobby.
and of course..... the location is the best! 2 minutes from the train station, 3 minutes from a big free parking grage and 5 minutes walking fron the city center.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claiton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We came to this hotel to celebrate our birthdays but unfortunately we had forgotten that it coincided with valentine's day celebration in all the restaurants. The lady on reception went out of her way to get us a restaurant and made sure we would not go hungry in Charleville. The room was clean and warm but some of the bathroom fittings need a little attention. The first impression is of a very funky modern hotel, one chair had feathers coming out of it and 2 vespa scooters were incased in the reception desks. The bed was warm and fluffy and the whole family slept like logs. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were lovely friendly and attentive. The three things I look for in a hotel are cleanliness, quiet and nice people, this hotel has all three. The parking is opposite and there is a gated entrance three steps away from the front door

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calmcontented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stéfy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aurélie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Dom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleville-Mezieres
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Charleville Mezieres
Kyriad Charleville Mezieres
#2 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
207 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
#1 of 1 in Villers-Semeuse
298 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chateau Fort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon
2.2 mi away
Campanile Charleville-Mezieres
Campanile Charleville-Mezieres
#10 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Meuse
Hotel de la Meuse
#5 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Dormeur du Val? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dormeur du Val

Address: 32 B rue de la Graviere, 08000, Charleville-Mezieres, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Le Dormeur du Val)
Region: France > Grand Est > Ardennes > Charleville-Mezieres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Charleville-Mezieres
Price Range: £54 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Dormeur du Val 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Dormeur du Val reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing