We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Hautes Bruyeres
Ranked #4 of 6 Ecully B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“second stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Exactly one year ago I stayed with other family members in this fine small excellent hotel.
Last weekend I again went there for 2 nights and it was even better.
I can advise anyone to go there and stay in this unique hide away in the woods close to the centre of Lyon in France.
You wont regret it,
kind regards,
Lucas Asjes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita188633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    12
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
35
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We booked this B&B after the owner told us it was very suitable for us and our young children (2 and 3) When we arrived it was just sooo quiet and not a place for little children at all. the other, -mostly old and grey- guests gave us 'the look' Which was very understandable because it was a very quiet B&B. We decided not to bother the other guests, and ourselves, and left after one night. The owner was not very nice...She let us pay for the full 3 nights stay ( 580 euro!)
So if you have children and want to go there: DONT!

A young family from Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank familieamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karine L, Propriétaire at Les Hautes Bruyeres, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Google Translation
Je suis vraiment désolée, mais nous accueillons depuis bientôt 6 ans des familles dans la Suite que vous aviez réservée.
Jusqu'à ce jour, ni les enfants ni les parents se sont plaints de la qualité de leur séjour.
Il est dommage que vous soyez tombés dans une période de mauvais temps, N'ayant pas pu profiter du jardin ni de la piscine.
Comme vous me l'avez indiqué vous souhaitiez modifier votre séjour en france et partir en direction de Paris.
Concernant le règlement total de votre séjour initial, Il est prévu dans les conditions générales d'annulations que vous sembliez connaître lors de votre annulation.
Je suis sincèrement triste de votre mécontentement.
Bien à vous
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We had a stop- over in this beautiful place on our way to the south of France. Driving through the gateway after a 8 hour trip felt like entering a quiet haven. Much better than a city hotel! Beautiful house and gardens, very kind reception by two very kind ladies and dogs and funny chickens.
We drove 30 minutes to Lyon city during peak hour, had a good meal and came back at night to a quiet place for a good sleep.
Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bienM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I planned to arrive in Lyon from Paris, to attend an opera in Lyon Opera House, and I chose this hotel due to its supposedly quiet location and relative proximity to the city center. While the former exceeded all expectations, the latter was not exactly the case.

I stayed in Les Hautes Bruyères at the end of April 2012, and overall was very pleased with it, although I found the place a bit expensive for what it provides. Next time in Lyon, I would stay in a hotel more close to the center. Yet again, the gardens of the place are so marvelous that one can image Louise Labé , a renaissance poetess from Lyon, could have a villa there where she would write her amorous poetry, inspired by the birds singing and luxurious tree leaves whispering. I offer here my prose regarding this wonderful place. My observations will start with good things about it:

Marvels:

1) The room La Pigeonnière was quite beautiful, styled in a country theme but very tastefully. The room was filled with pleasant decorative accessories like an old suitcase and a bird cage. The furniture was also very stylish, although not incredibly practical – there was no proper desk to put a computer and simply to write.
2) The bed was truly excellent, very comfortable, with a down blanket. It had a little canopy, which was a nice touch.
3) The heating in the room from the radiators was also excellent, and especially marvelous it was in the bathroom, where due to that warmth one can relax very well. I truly appreciated this very valuable touch of comfort.
4) The shower was great, and the toiletries were of the highest quality. I liked the bath robe, too.
5) The garden was absolutely splendid, the birds were singing, and there were some cute chicken of an interesting breed walking as pets. The hotel is located in a very exclusive neighborhood of private villas and castles, covered with lush greenery and flowers. It has a private gate with a code which lets your car in, the parking lot is private inside the garden but far enough not to hear much car noise in the house itself.
6) There was excellent WiFi connection in the room, both my Android phone and computer worked very well with it.
7) The personnel was friendly, they helped me with my bag. I also like the late check-out time (noon).

Disappointments:

1) My only serious disappointment was with the ventilation in bathroom which was always working and could not be turned off at all. The noise was very annoying; even with the door shut the humming was heard in the room. The whole idea of staying in a place away from the city and in its own garden was to get quiet atmosphere in the room, but due to that noise it was not really totally quiet.
2) The hotel turned out to be further away from Lyon center by time than I originally thought – it took 45 min in rush hour; but only 15 min at night when roads were empty. Normally, although the distance is only 10 km to the center, it would still take considerable time because the roads are scarce and the traffic is quite heavy, which made this hotel not as ideal to see Lyon as I imagined.
3) The room was not soundproof and noise from inside the building can be heard – staff and guests coming, going, talking. The hotel is really a big manor with rooms, so you hear a lot of the others. I was alone, so it did not bother me much, but for a romantic couple the noise from other people could be distracting.
4) Breakfast was too expensive, in my opinion, considering the room cost. It was a nice gesture of the hostess to offer me a cup of coffee in the morning for free.
5) There was no little fridge/minibar in the room. I would think for that rate and being a country side hotel it would really be very valuable to have the minibar. There was also no coffee maker, while it would be nice to have a cup of tea in the evening in your room.
6) There is no elevator, although in a manor like this one would not expect it.

Overall the hotel is a marvelous place, but unfortunately it is too far from the city center. I fell in love with Lyon after Paris, however – the weather is infinitely better, no grey rain anymore, much warmer, with streets in Le Vieux Lyon filled with people having their lunch outside in numerous cafes and restaurants.

The whole medieval quarter St-Jean is exceedingly wonderful, I was elated to discover such an original place. Le Presqu'îlewas also an amazingly elegant district to see. Perhaps one would need more than one day stay in Les Hautes Bruyères to see Lyon center in all its glorious details.

All in all, I recommend the hotel as a comfortable and hospitable auberge, and Lyon as a city as an extremely safe and welcoming place, too. Everything practical ran perfect – the TGV from Paris, the car rental, the underground parking in Vieux Lyon, the funiculaire, and of course…the AMAZING boulangeries where absolutely excellent cakes could be tasted. Add to these its rich history ascending to Roman times, great museums, and it makes Lugdunum,a.k.a Lyon in modern language, a place to return for continuous exploration.

Room Tip: The hotel has only 5 rooms, each one highly individual. My room La Pigeonnière was very good for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Les Hautes Bruyères. The owner also upgraded our room to a suite (namely, a 2-level room), as these were available.
An excellent alternative to downtown Lyon stays, not cheaper, but clearly more pleasant.

Room Tip: The 1st floor suites are larger and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is a secret which I rather not tell you as it is so beautifull, quiet, "rustique" but at the same time completely renovated where everything works and still you believe you are out of this world. Very special is the personal attention, advice of the very kind hostess/owner. The rooms are each one different and well equiped, the pool is just great and breakfast outside as well drinks in the evening in this wooded enclave make you feel extraterrestial. Excellent price/quality/joie de vivre combination. D'ont tell anyone else, Lucas.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita188633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

A lovely charming place to stay with the family. The rooms are beautifully done, the garden is practical and peacefull. Breakfast was delicous with good coffee and French pastries. There are fabulous tennis courts nearby and the town centre is just a few minutes away.

The owner is a delightful lady with wonderful taste and a great sense of humour! We can't wait to go back there again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkLadytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecully
0.8 mi away
Maison d'Anthouard
Maison d'Anthouard
#1 of 3 in Ecully
233 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fourviere Hotel
Fourviere Hotel
#19 of 194 in Lyon
322 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Florentine
Villa Florentine
#7 of 194 in Lyon
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cour des Loges
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,246 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Maison de Karen Chocolat
0.4 mi away
Les Communs du Manoir
Les Communs du Manoir
#1 of 6 in Ecully
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Hautes Bruyeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Hautes Bruyeres

Property: Les Hautes Bruyeres
Address: 5 Chemin des Hautes Bruyeres, 69130 Ecully, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Ecully
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ecully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Hautes Bruyeres 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A deux pas du centre de LYON, cette demeure du XIXe est idéalement située dans un écrin de verdure.une piscine chauffée est à votre disposition.Le calme, l'authenticité, et l'élégance peuvent qualifier ce lieux plein d'histoire. Chacune des chambres et suites sonttournées vers le Jardin, et possèdent son propre univers. Toutes disposent du cable, d'écrans plats, et de connexionwifi gratuite.Un grand parking privée gratuit est à votre disposition.Cet établissement de charme est situé 8km du golf de la Tour de Salvagny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Hautes Bruyeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing